We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Halcyon Bar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Halcyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Halcyon to your Saves list
The Halcyon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 / 3 South Parade, Bath BA2 4AA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
CALL US FOR THE BEST DEAL
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Wilts UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Halcyon Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I visited the cocktail bar at The Halcyon and had a great time! We were looked after by the lovely cocktail barman Ross, who made us fabulous cocktails! Definitely worth a visit for pre dinner drinks!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    255
    70
    24
    14
See reviews for
98
470
42
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here with some friends for a small weekend break and have to say what a lovely place it is . our friends had stayed before so it came highly recommended ! Location was everything for us and this place was perfect in every way . Shops on its door step and wonderful restaurants close by as well . The down stairs bar is very well equipped with a lovely atmosphere for all to enjoy of all ages . We will be coming back to stay again due to the excellent service from Emily and Malika on reception . Many thanks for a great time

Room Tip: You may want to stay on one of the first or second floors as the stairs are a bit of a job after man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We recently went to Bath to stay 2 nights and didn't want the usual 'TravelLodge' or 'Premier Inn' and wanted something a bit more special. We booked The Halcyon and were not disappointed. The staff were extreamly friendly and helpful and did not at any point make you feel like you were an inconvenience.

The room we had was not large, but had everything we needed and was laid out thoughtfully with an amazing shower. The hotel openly says that the standard rooms are small which is refreshing to see a hotel honestly let their guests know what to expect.

The breakfast was nicely done, we both had the continental and there was a good selection of cereals, breads, croissants and fruit juices. You are offered tea of coffee as well when you sit down and they do have a selection of teas.

You also get a voucher for 10% off in the bar downstairs which I would defiantly recommend. Don't be put off by a bar downstairs, we did not hear a thing. The location of this hotel is great, a 5 minute walk from the train station and the same again into the centre of town.

Overall, a great hotel and would defiantly go back

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We recently got married in Bath and wanted to exclusively book out a hotel so all our guests could stay in the same place. We chose the Halcyon due to it's location and the price, and the fact the decor really suited our taste. We cannot rate this place highly enough!! The staff were brilliant from start to finish, especially Katrine who helped me with the booking and payments for 20 other couples, and all the hotel staff on the day could not have been more friendly and helpful. All of our friends and family had a lovely time, and have said they will stay at the Halcyon again if they go back to Bath. Thank you so much Halcyon - you made our wedding even better! We can't wait to come back for our anniversary...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Despite reading some of the negative reviews, we decided to stay a the Halcyon for a Night whilst taking a trip out of London to Bath. It was honestly one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The staff were extremely friendly and chatty, the room was so clean, and the location was perfect! Not to mention the breakfast of fresh fruit, breads (even gluten free was on offer for my friend who has intolerances!) and cereals - one of the best ive had in the UK. The people who have written the lengthy negative reviews I think are the type who would never be satisfied, even if they were staying in the penthouse of the ritz. I would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend that you do also! Could not fault it in any way!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I visited the Halcyon for one night (Sunday) with a friend recently. We had booked a twin room. When we arrived the room had a double bed. We informed reception and they immediately said that they would changing the - link - bed, into two singles. No Fuss. Reception and breakfast staff were lovely, helpful and efficient.
The room was just great, with a kitchenette, seating area and very comfortable beds. Spotlessly clean and welcoming all round. Continental breakfast was just right.
Who could want for more? Will book again next time I visit Bath. Well done The Halcyon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We decided to stay here for three nights over the New Year after reading lots of positive reviews. At the time of booking we thought the price was a little steep but we were happy to pay as we were looking for something a bit special. We were sorely disappointed.

The only good points were the location and that we quite liked the decor. Now on to the bad points (of which there are many!):

* Unprofessional staff - we've stayed in a lot of hotels and have never experienced such unprofessionism from the front of house staff. On arrival we were welcomed by an extremely insincere/smarmy young man. But when checking out and settling the bill, the receptionist barely made eye contact and said little more than 'insert your card here', not even asking if we had enjoyed our stay. It felt more like being at a youth hostel than a posh hotel and we've had much friendler/professional staff at premier inns for a fraction of the price!

Terrible complaint handing - in the early hours of New Years day, we were woken by the couple in the room next door having a very loud drunken row which continued for several hours with a lot of door slamming and shouting. After at least an hour of listening to this, we tried to phone the reception to complain but there seemed to be no direct line to the reception and there were no instructions. So at 4am (by this time they had been arguing for a good 2 hours) I went down to reception only to find the desk unattended. I waited for more than 10 minutes until somebody appeared and even then I had to ask if they were a member of staff because they didn't say anything. When I explained the situation he went to find the manager but neither of them came back so I got fed up of waitning and went back to bed feeling very grumpy. In the morning, we pursued the issue again with the smarmy receptionist, who told us he would speak to the manager and find us at breakfast to update us but he didn't. The next day we saw him and asked again what came of our complaint and their idea of a resoltion was to reduce the rate of our room for that night to £99. There was no apology and the manager didn't show his/her face. We later found out that other guests only paid £75 for the same type of room on the same night! We were thoroughly ripped off.

* On one of the days we came back to our room after being out all day to find the door had been left open by a cleaner.

* I found somebody elses hair in the bed which isn't very suprising as they pile the clean towels and bed linen on the floor in the corridoors every morning and guests have to walk past them on the way to breakfast. Pretty gross.

* There was no guest information/welcome pack in the room when we arrived, so we were not aware of the hotel facilities, location of the breakfast room etc. We had to eat out every night as the hotel restaurant was never open and the staff never seemed to know if it would be open or closed. We enjoyed breakfast and there was a good selection of pastries and cereals on offer. Eggs were available raw so that you could cook them to your preference in the hot water bath provided. A printed instruction sheet was displayed giving timings for soft or hard boiled and a number of egg timers were available. However the timers didn't work, or were just impossible to fathom. Time and time again we heard fellow guests having problems with unsuccessfully cooked eggs, at no point did the staff offer to help so the eggs just kept going to waste.

Overerall it was a really disappointing experience and we won't be staying here again. They really didn't deliver the kind of service you expect for the prices they charge.

Room Tip: We had a standard double room on the top floor - it was quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Halcyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon

Address: 2 / 3 South Parade, Bath BA2 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Halcyon 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath – England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café, where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Halcyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halcyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.