We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great aside from the noise....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Halcyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Halcyon to your Saves list
The Halcyon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 / 3 South Parade, Bath BA2 4AA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£99 Pre-christmas offer
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great aside from the noise....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Important to note upfront that this was our fourth annual visit to The Halcyon and we have never had a complaint - the staff are superb, the rooms have been first rate (yes, the sizes do differ but they are all of the highest quality e.g. extremely comfortable beds, monsoon power showers, very clean), and it is in the best location. However, this year we were in room 1.1 and were kept awake until 3am by the nightclub in the basement. Although the staff did do everything they could to remedy the situation the next morning - moved us to a room at the back of the hotel, discounted our first night etc, you may want to mention when you book with them, that you wish to be away from the noise. Clearly this won't be possible for everyone, but maybe the hotel should have considered that before they opened a nightclub directly below where their main clientele is trying to sleep? That said, if you can cope with the noise/ wear earplugs, everything else is as great as it could get.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    254
    70
    24
    12
See reviews for
98
465
42
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location - a minutes walk from the heart of Bath. The room was small and a little warm - but that's par for the course in that sort of location. Dont get hung up in that. The service at this hotel is first rate and it is tastefully appointed too. A nice little bonus is that in the basement is one of Baths best cocktail bars - the Circo, where the staff are also excellent. Thanks to Katrina and Rosser in particular for really looking after us.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great location and room is OK. Very young staff who do their best BUT.... Broken hair dryer, broken bulb, if you want a coffee in their small lounge don't expect to get served! YOU have to go downstairs to the bar to get it and bring it back. Oh, and you can't out the cost on your room - cash only! No coffee machine so filter only..Waited around 40 minutes for croissant to arrive at breakfast. Only continental available By the way. So all in all I'd rather stay at the new Premier Inn which has just opened....

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at the Halcyon in November 2013 and were so disappointed with the experience, especially after reading all the positive reviews.

We were put in room G3 and told we had been upgraded! This was rubbish and we later had to endure the experience of a room being above the late night bar below (open until 3am!). We had to put up with LOUD music from the bar until 3am and as result had no sleep. When we asked for our room to be changed we were told that noise would not be a problem as the bar was not open late. So they were obviously aware of the issue of noise particularly with room G3.
Thankfully we were moved to another room which was so much larger and quieter. Only problem is the door was too small for the doorframe so you heard everything in the hallway. But after the first night it was bearable.
Breakfast - they did not have enough food for the guests staying. Very simple selection of breads and crumpets, cereal ran out by 8.30am. The second day we found mouldy bread and when we asked for more bread we were told that they were defrosting some bread and would bring it out when it was ready. So the food is obviously not fresh and they do not observe kitchen hygiene by serving mouldy bread.
Location was central and perfect for the train station, but we will not be staying there again and would not recommend it to others. Bath is such a beautiful city, don't waste the visit by staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in room G3 and lie by saying it is an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonBath, Manager at The Halcyon, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hi Jojo,

Thanks for reviewing the Halcyon, it is such a shame you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and I agree, there were circumstances which shouldn’t have been the case or come to the attention of any of our guests.

You had been upgraded to a larger room from our standard double. We don’t usually get noise complaints from the room and I was surprised when you mentioned this to me in the morning. Of course we moved you to a quieter room for your next night and reduced your room rate for the inconvenience for each night of your stay. I have made the bar team aware of your comments so that they can monitor the noise levels in the bar on a busy evening.

I understand there were issues with breakfast. Our breads are delivered from a local bakery on a daily basis and there has been the odd occasion where our delivery has run late. As a result we have to resort to our backup supply, This situation is not a usual position we find ourselves in and I am sorry this has cast a bad light on your experience.

Once again I am sorry and disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. There was error after error during your stay. I agree with your comments and will do everything I can to rectify them for future guests.

Kind regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here with friends as visiting Bath spa. Traditional hotel decorated in very modern way. Great rooms, clean with great facilities. Our room was a little small, we stayed in room just behind reception. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast lots of variety, served downstairs in room which the previous night had been a club/bar- not that you would have been able to tell that in the morning- total transformation! Great central location, close to everything in Bath. Parking easy- pay and display right opposite. Not too expensive. As a result of its central location it was fairly noisy. We could hear the noise of the bar underneath but didn't stop me sleeping. What did stop me sleeping was the man who complained very loudly to the receptionist after midnight about the noise. He spoilt my night away with his swearing and shouting about how he couldn't sleep! Mr, you were the one who stopped me sleeping. How rude! It's a city hotel, not a quiet, rural retreat! Staff dealt with him well, felt sorry for them!

Room Tip: Ask for room above ground floor level (away fro bar/club in basement) and if you don't want to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Halcyon was situated perfectly in the centre of Bath and makes a great hotel for any occasion. The room wasn't huge, but was perfectly formed. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was perfect! I would stay here again without hesitation and explore the cocktails in the basement next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Bath's not a cheap place but worth the treat, it is quite unique. We enjoyed the hotel but the Studio Room was a hotel room with plastic chairs for a sitting area, although the website did clearly show that. Apart from that all boxes were ticked and we'd stay again, situation is very good, everything is walkable and while there's no car park, that's Bath for you, there's parking across the road at £12.50 for 24 hours, pay at machine. The Therma Spa and Pump Room Afternoon Teas are things that memories are made of.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Halcyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon

Address: 2 / 3 South Parade, Bath BA2 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Halcyon 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath – England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café, where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Halcyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halcyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.