We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Heavenly" is not!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Halcyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Halcyon to your Saves list
The Halcyon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 / 3 South Parade, Bath BA2 4AA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East Midlands
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“"Heavenly" is not!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I appreciate that I am in the very small minority of hotel guests rating this hotel as poor which is a surprise to me as that is what it is. The definition of Halcyon is calm, peaceful, quiet, heavenly and even untroubled and this hotel is the complete opposite to this. Our room was the noisiest, smallest and stuffy box costing £145 in Bath. The room was so small that you had to wait for one person to move before the other person could. It was incredibly dark as the bed had no natural light on it at all - nor did the darkest corner have any functioning electric light. There was a window in the room which may have offered natural light until clothes were hung up on the clothing rail. The worst aspect to the room was the incessant noise from the industrial air vent placed right outside the single glazed window which rumbled all day and all night preventing any decent sleep quality. because of this the window did not open so it was really stuffy. It is a hotel that was favoured by large groups so expect the noise levels to rise in the early hours of the morning when the nightclubs and bars are shutting.
Breakfast was as expected. What wasn't nice was the fact that we sat next to a bar full of dirty glasses that had been left from the night before waiting for "Clem" to wash. Most reports suggest that the staff were friendly and they were except on departure the officiousness of the girl at reception was a bit overbearing. This review may have been tempered a little if a polite "How was your stay?" was proferred. My advice is even if this is the only hotel in town with a room avoid it. It really does not live upto its reputation.

Room Tip: If you insist on staying there ask for a room in which the window opens and is away from the industr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalcyonBath, General Manager at The Halcyon, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Recently the whole team here have been delighted with so many fantastic reviews we have received and rightly so, as everyone works incredibly hard to offer the best service we can. As so many reviews testify, our offering in the hotel and bar is very highly rated, so I have to admit, we're all very disappointed that this reviewer apparently did not have a good stay with us.

We are indeed a small townhouse hotel and as such, our rooms are small but perfectly formed - we do try to make this clear on our website, even including the square footage of the room types.

We are in the centre of town, so there can be noise from late night revellers at the front of the hotel over weekends but as the room this reviewer stayed in is at the back of the hotel, I'm not sure how that noise would have caused a disturbance - perhaps some potential issues may have been pointed out, rather than only those that were relevant to her stay?

Whenever a reviewer has not enjoyed their stay(thankfully very few and far between!) our team here discusses how we could have gone about recognising and dealing with any issues that have arisen. Having spoken to our extremely efficient and caring(but by no means officious) Operations Manager who was indeed on the front desk at check out, I am happy that we did everything we could to find out how their stay had been. Had the issues been brought to our attention at the time, rather than through a review, we would have certainly done our best to try to make up for any shortcomings the reviewer thought they had experienced.

I'm pleased that as least the reviewer found our staff to be friendly. We are in this job because we enjoy looking after our guests and do genuinely believe we deserve our fantastic reputation.

I will of course be getting in touch with the guest as we always do, to address their issues and I would also encourage any future guests to give us a call and we can discuss their upcoming stay with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    288
    80
    27
    14
See reviews for
111
530
47
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was the second time we have stopped here and it was as good the second time round as the first. The rooms have everything one needs for a short stay, they are very well fitted and maintained and spotless.
Continental breakfast is provided in the cellar bar and there is a more than an adequate selection of cereals, cheese/salami, fruits, breads, etc. By lunchtime, this has changed into Circo bar serving a huge choice of cocktails, spirits and lagers, a great place for a breather and liquid refreshment!
it is the location which is the star attraction, however. 2 minutes walk from Bath Abbey in the very heart of Bath with a car park directly opposite, a major plus compared to the many hotels & guesthouses on the fringe of the city. Traffic into the city centre is not easy at any time but once you reach the Halcyon, you can walk virtually everywhere.
We are booked to return in a month's time and looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A two night stay in this amazing city, made even more enjoyable at the fabulous Halcyon Hotel, and their helpful, polite staff. On arrival manager "Hector" sat with us five lovely ladies, and talked us through places to go, things to do and see so we could get the most out of our short stay. As it was lunchtime he personally walked us round to a lovely, very popular Italian Restaurant "Sotto Sotto" and got us a table! The hotel was clean and fresh,bedrooms had a a fab power shower rooms were of a generous size,very comfy beds! The breakfast was great with a variety of food and fresh fruit. The bar staff were so polite and friendly, and made a mean "Caipirinha" cocktail,at a very reasonable price. The whole Halcyon experience was just perfect for us all, mainly due to all staff giving a hugh amount of attention to their guests and a genuine concern about their guests needs. Thank you Hector and staff at the Halcyon, and to owner Giles, who has got a gem of a hotel. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a larger room suite with a small kitchen and seating area, which was handy and not that much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This handy little gem is located right in the heart of Bath. Very nicely renovated rooms in a boutique hotel offering great comfort and ambience. Super friendly staff went out of their way to help - thanks Hector, Sammy and Simon. Tapas and cocktails in the bar lounge at night. Allover, a really personal and enjoyable experience.
Thanks to Jane from Ovation travel in Manly, Sydney, for knowing and organising this hotel.

Room Tip: We thought our first floor room was well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

On Monday May 27, I stayed at The Halycon for just one night at the end of a two week visit to southwest England. I called with only a day to spare for the end of the bank holiday weekend. In taking my phone reservation for a standard room for one person, Frank assured me that it was both close to the rail station and walking distance to Bath's primary historical sites. He was accurate on both counts. I enjoyed the hotel's and my room's modern approach with hall lights going on and off eco-automatically. I would encourage anyone to check out their website which shows red accented bedding on a large comfortable bed as well as a very modern bathroom with excellent shower pressure and hot water. Most needed after a long crowded trainride. My weekday rate included a continental breakfast, but it was really Continental ++ with fresh grapefruit, melon, and kiwi slices in addition an array of toast options including crumpet, bagel, English muffins. There was also a snappy egg boiler to cook hard or soft boiled eggs, and also a plate of salami and cheese slices. Altogether creating a filling alternative to the weekend's cooked offering. The bar/restaurant room was so attractive that I regretted not checking it out for dinner the evening before versus the disappointing dinner I'd had at a nearby restaurant described in a well know travel guide. In sum, I would enthusiastically stay at The Halycon again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Lovely hotel, very central, good car park in the square. Staff very helpful and lively. Our room was compact but provided all amenities. Good continental breakfast. Light lunch very good. So close for Roman Baths that we were able to visit before the crowds and get back to the hotel still in time for breakfast. Only stayed one night but would love to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed on a fabulous hen weekend and had the most amazing time. The staff were very welcoming, the rooms lovely, the location really handy for bus and train station as well as centre of town. The hotel do so much that you can take part in, we did the high tea and the cocktail course. The high tea was fabulous with the best lemon drizzle cake I have ever tasted. The cocktail course was great and Liam a brilliant bar tender (not a mixologist apparently).
The breakfasts were excellent. Being a veggie I am used to drawing the short straw with food but the veggie breakfast was superb.
Only negative point the Saturday night was very noisy with bar goers downstairs. Ask for a quiet room. I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Halcyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon

Address: 2 / 3 South Parade, Bath BA2 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Halcyon 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath – England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café, where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Halcyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halcyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.