We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for.......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lamp Post Villa B&B

Lamp Post Villa B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lamp Post Villa B&B to your Saves list
Lamp Post Villa B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Towcester
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Lamppost Villa is extremely convenient, a 6 minute walk to the centre, with a bus stop outside.

This Victorian house is no oil painting and reminded me of a small seaside B&B in Blackpool. Our twin room was compact, with pretty basic furnishing, with NVQ level 1 decor. OK beds, heating and hot water. Breakfast was fine, with cereals, eggs, sausage and bacon and unlimited toast. No complaints from me. But no yoghurt, which perplexed some German visitors. (whom David tried to help get to Bristol by bus, as it was much cheaper than by the train they were planning).


Over 4 days we had no problems. David seemed pretty willing, replacing a couple of light bulbs when asked and producing marmalade on request....but shouldn't it have been on the table in the first place?

Nice touch was the use of a hotel parking permit, valid for the local area, so one could park pretty close to the centre, assuming you could find a resident's slot.

Reading TA, it must be murder trying to keep guests satisfied, especially if they expect 5 star accomodation at 3 star prices. Having said that, owner/managers might do worse that walk around their property and see it from a visitor's perspective. After all, following the breakfast rush, there should be time until the afternoon check in.......

Lampost Villa took us for 4 nights at short notice, moving guests so we didn't have to.

Doubtless, there are better appointed B&B's, and more expesive,but we didn't have time to search for one !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are, as you said a three star B&B offering convenient accommodation close to the city centre. We have just completed an upgrade of bathrooms to a five star standard. The beds are clean with orthopaedic matresses, very comfortable, with the breakfast of premium quality. As you have correctly stated, the management are very helpful and accommodating. Yes there are much more expensive four and five star establishments, which on average cost twice as much. Thank you for your objectivity and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    17
    21
    36
See reviews for
23
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

There are a lot of Bed and Breakfasts on this road and the location is great. Having experienced the competition in a neighbouring B&B recently (which was sadly full this time) we were alarmed at how little effort is exerted in trying to meet the needs of the guest in this bed and breakfast considering the very hot competition only a few doors away.
The only direct contact we had with the owner was on arrival when we were asked to pay up front.(Alarm bells should have started ringing then!) The room was small but, on the good side, the bed was comfy and the pillows suited us. The room was a good temperature and there was little noise. The ensuite shower was spacious and there was adequate hot water. However, the shower flow was a bit weak, there was no plug in the sink, the towels - although smelling nice and clean - had marks on them. The spare blanket was stained, the hairdryer didn't work, the satin throw on the bed was stained and the furniture was cheap and dated. Worryingly there was no guest pack with information about local GP, fire procedure, breakfast times, places to visit, wifi key etc. The breakfast room was in the basement and was dull and, as another reviewer has said, looked like a cafe. There was a bit of a problem with the language barrier with the woman serving and I gave up trying to ask for porridge in the end. There was no opportunity for guests to make specific breakfast requests. You just got a full English cooked breakfast plonked in front of you even if you didn't want it! Shortly after we sat down to breakfast, several other guests came in but there were not enough tables for them so they had to wait out in the corridor until others finished. At no point during the breakfast did the owner (who was doing the cooking in the open plan kitchen) bother to greet guests when they came in/left the room or apologize for the wait and seemed to avoid any contact at all with his guests.
There was clearly no effort made to make the stay special or create a positive memorable experience which is so disappointing as Bath is such a wonderful City. This owner is only interested in getting your money and not at all interested in the quality of your stay. You're better off spending your money somewhere else and there's plenty of choice right along the street!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
I am sorry wherever you stayed was certainly not Lamppostvilla! I am the owner and do not cook breakfast but have a competent breakfast chef and waitresses to take care of guests and attend to there every need. I also have a manager who takes care of visitors. As the owner I am able to greet guests and hopefully enhance their stay. Please do come and try the newly refurbished and welcoming Lamppostvilla sometime and we will do our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just back from a weekend in Bath and cant understand some of the negative reviews, as we had 4 double rooms and although there were some minor issues (ie water pressure not great on the shower in my room) overall we were very happy with our stay.
David was very friendly and welcoming, and was happy to share his local knowledge and make us feel at home.
Location was great for us, as only 15minutes walk to the very centre of Bath and bus stop nearby to pick up the City Tour Bus which was well worth doing.
Breakfast room was a bit cramped, but breakfast itself was freshly made and very tasty and gave us a good start to the day.
If you want a good value B&B, you could do a lot worse than to give this a try and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 7 which overlooked the rear of the property so no noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind and objective review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you again.Yes, David my manager is a genuine and friendly helpful person, thank you for saying so, We have just completed a bathroom upgrade to make things even more enjoyable.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Avoid!! there are so many better places to stay!!! This is the worst place on Crescent Gardens.
We stayed here in September because there was no availability left anywhere in Bath, now I know why they had empty rooms!!
Upon arrival I knew things looked bad because the first thing you're greeted with is the toilet over flow pouring on anyone who tries to walk up to the front door, it's obviously been pouring for ages and ages because the wall and steps are green with mould!! My boyfriends a plumber and couldn't believe the state of it, All the other guest we spoke to agreed how disgusting this was!!
The rooms are basic and miserable, no money appears to have been spent on this property in decades, everything is tired and needs fixing. Breakfast a joke!! Described as the best in Bath and locally sourced, I saw the the staff opening cash & carry bacon and sausages!!
The place is run by someone who obviously cares more about ripping people off than he does about offering any sort of quality.
Avoid, it'll just ruin your visit to a lovely City.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
we are very sorry you were unhappy with your stay but never let us know to enable us to do something about it although you said you had an enjoyable stay upon departure, The manager apologised and explained that we had an overflow problem and that we were awaiting a response from a British Gas plumber. The overflow was fixed the following day. All rooms have been refurbished and updated since your stay, but were perfectly clean and comfortable to a 3 star standard as awarded by Visit Britain. All breakfast ingredients are of premium quality and locally sourced. We always welcome objective and honest reviews and hope you are able to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted outside on the step by David the manager. We severely over packed for our two week tour of the U.K. and David was kind enough to help us carry our luggage up to our room. It was very hot when we arrived and there is no fan or AC in the room. But once the sun set the room cooled off nicely and we slept great. I really can't comment on the breakfast as I only eat toast and fruit. But there was plenty of anything you wanted.

Room Tip: Room #8 on the first floor overlooks the street with some traffic noise with Windows open. But we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in mid July; it was hot and busy. The room was clean and perfectly appointed. Breakfast was okay, you can order whatever you like as a cooked breakfast but as the breakfast room was busy we had to wait a while to be served our tea, although there were drinks available to help yourself to.
The location is great, a very easy walk to the centre of town, or if you walk up the hill you are at Royal Crescent. I would recommend it as a place to sty for a short visit. But be warned, the walls are thin and we could hear our neighbours snoring!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your positive response we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a well run commercial B&B converted house a 5 minute walk from the centre of Bath. "David" the manager (owner) of the B&B is the best part of this typical Victorian "semi-detached" house located on a main road into Bath. Our room was clean and tidy, comfortable bed, typical cramped ensuite bathroom (toilet flushing was a bit finicky). Breakfast was well made and promptly served by David. The building, somewhat typical of this type of B&B with a front door with a few old and tired paper notes detracts from the well run and clean tidy operation

Room Tip: View the room before accepting it, try the toilet flushing just in case you don't have the knack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamp Post Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Post Villa B&B

Address: 3 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Post Villa B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamp Post Villa is an elegant Victorian Townhouse offering quality en-suite B&B accommodation with car parking in the center of Bath. Located just a few minutes walk from the city center, we cater for tourists and business people alike and aim to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The friendliest B&B in Bath. Just ten minutes walk from the bus station and likewise ten minutes from Bath Spa train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lamp Post Villa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Post Villa Bed And Breakfast
Lamp Post Villa Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamp Post Villa B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.