We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Restaurant

The Bear Restaurant
6-10 Wellsway | c/o The Bear Hotel, Bath, England
01225 425795
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #257 of 436 restaurants in Bath
Price range: $9 - $51
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Now under management as of 2014 and newly revamped as a stylish hotel, bar & restaurant, The Bear has a new lease of life as a spacious, relaxed and welcoming venue for locals and visitors alike. Enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner 7 days a week in our restaurant with a monthly-changing menu of freshly prepared modern British dishes, spend the night in the lap of luxury in one of our newly renovated boutique hotel rooms or simply pop in for a drink with friends in our bar lounging area. The Bear can cater for large parties and events with buffet and set menus and special bar arrangements to help make your occasion extra special. We are pleased to allow dogs in our side bar and happy to welcome families with children of all ages.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife of one year and myself had booked The Bear for our first anniversary party. Ninety people, buffet and Prosecco on arrival. It went off brilliantly, Natalia the manager did a great job, initially by sitting us down and going through the options then by allowing us to customise the area that had been set aside for us, we had extra flowers, some fairy lights and balloons, nothing was too much trouble. The buffet was pretty fine, plentiful and set up nicely, staff were all very attentive, friendly and profession. My lovely new(ish) wife and I were both delighted with the outcome, I'd say that all of out guests had a great time too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    37
    53
    24
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
JAYv2
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I popped into this pub for a quick bite to eat whilst away on Business.

The pub itself seemed very large, with a restaurant area tucked away to the side. The menu was quite standard with a few interesting choices, but nothing hugely inspiring, however all reasonably priced, neither expensive or cheap.

I ordered the Jamaican Jerk Chicken, which sounded delicious on the menu, but was not really how I envisaged when it arrived. It was almost a little too sweet, served with rice and a rum gravy, just didn't seem to go terribly well together as a dish. Perhaps a bad decision on my part. I ordered the cheese for dessert, which had locally sourced cheese on what seemed to be a home made chutney.

My meal was fairly average overall, the dining area seemed a bit odd and separate to the rest of the venue and felt that perhaps could be something brilliant. The chairs seems very odd for a dining area and the layout was a bit regimented.

My overall experience was a little confused, was this a drinking pub or an eating pub?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pricey for a very standard pub restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The build up in leaflet was g8 but who wrote it? Chairs like school classroom-hard, uncomfortable. Starter took 30 mins to appear apparently due to till fault. When it came Pakora was burnt in main, tasty tho where not burnt. Mains was filling & tasty but very overpriced. Fish batter not cooked enough. Need more waiting staff & lower prices. Very disappointing. Won't be returning.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quick snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We popped in for a quick bite of lunch with little time to spare when round the corner for an event. Menu looked to have a good range, and though we were momentarily tempted by steak sandwiches, we picked the home-made potted shrimps from the starters section and were very pleasantly surprised. It was a nice generous portion (be warned if ordering as a starter!) with two different sorts of very tasty bread, and was indeed home-made. The shrimp were not the very tiny brown, but slightly larger, but well flavoured. It was presented quite nicely on a wooden board.
The lady who served us was aware we were just dashing in and out and we were served very promptly (it was fairly quiet); service was courteous and pleasant. The accompanying wine spritzer and coffee were fine and the whole bill was around £15, which we thought was quite reasonable.
I was able to pay using my card of choice, which is also a positive and not always the case.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good all rounder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I just don't know what some of the critics of this place want. The Bear is a down to earth all round base for local people to get fed and watered. Yes it can be noisy when full - they really should do something about softening the place to counter it - but it works as a local social hub where you can have breakfast, coffee, lunch, tea or dinner, or a pint and a read. And we find the staff unfailingly courteous and cheerful. Reviewers who find them wanting might reflect on their own behaviour

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Bear Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.