We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 55a North Road B&B and Self Catering

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
55a North Road B&B and Self Catering
Save
You added 55a North Road B&B and Self Catering to your Saves list
55a North Road, Combe Down, Bath BA2 5DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for three nights with my sister-in-law for a birthday treat. It felt like every detail we could want of need had been thought of and put in place. Breakfast choice the best I've had, delivered to our room, with a friendly host who offered help, but left us privacy of our own door for easy access. Already planning a return visit with husband and dog - the ground floor room is dog friendly. I can't think of anything to improve this perfect place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
94
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My best friend and I had a truly lovely stay at 55a north road. Natalie was very welcoming and greeted us with tea and cake, the perfect start. Breakfast choice was great, delicious and we eat like kings for 2 days. We stayed in the twin room, it was spotless, bed was so comfortable and we woke to the singing birds. Nothing was any trouble, Natalie and Guy wanted us to have a great time in Bath and we did. The distance from town is no problem, Natalie and Guy dropped us a few times, we used the bus and also walked. Don't let this put you off in any way, as the place is lovely. They were also very kind and met us at the train station on our final day with our bags. As my kids would say "Top Banana"!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I came here on my own and felt very welcome, safe and happy. The room is stylish & immaculate, cleaner than my own home and I am an obsessive cleaner. I loved the own entrance and key aspect, so I was free to come and go without disturbing anyone - sleep late, come back late etc. The sheets were of excellent quality and the bed very comfortable, as value for money goes you simply could not beat it. Not normally a bus person, used the local bus service and found it really easy and cheap to get in and out of central Bath. The little garden at the back was a god send, I sipped my gin and tonic (bought in can from the nearby Co-op) with ice provided in the room and sun bathed - it was just heaven. Thank you Natalie.

Room Tip: I would say all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I took my daughter to Bath for the weekend of her birthday and stayed two nights at 55a in the twin room. Fantastic room, lovely hosts with overwhelming hospitality. Everything was very clean , fresh , bright , light and airy.The breakfasts were amazing with everything you could possibly ask for and Natalie's attention to detail admiirable. We were given a lift into Bath on the Saturday morning and shown the local market to set us of for the day.
We loved Bath, my first visit, and we're lucky to have a beautiful day so there were lots of street artists plying their trade. Would love to return soon and will definitely be staying at Natalie and Guy ' s place again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin which had a small courtyard with table chairs and a bench to sit and soak up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at 55a for two nights and were made to feel extremely welcome the moment we arrived. Natalie and Guy are such lovely hosts that it's easy not to miss the stuffiness and strict air of a hotel! Hidden down a small lane, the building is modern, yet inviting on approach. The gardens and drive way are kept immaculate, the building looks brand new and the rooms are so clean and cosy it was home from home.

DVD's, Books, Magazines were just a few of the things available in each room, and with its own 'kitchen' add on we had everything we needed. The room we stayed in was on the first floor and was absolutely spotless with the comfiest bed we have ever stayed in!

Natalie welcomed us with tea and cake along with the orders of telling her exactly what we wanted for breakfast the next day! It was so lovely to be asked, and we can happily say that the breakfasts did not disappoint! There was so much to choose from and it was delicious! Lovely secluded garden around the back by your 'front door', which was lovely in the sunshine.

Guy gave us a lift into town the next day which was super and very unexpected! They gave us directions, advice on where to go, advice on where to park, and even recommended nice places to eat.

Overall, 55a is definitely worth a visit. Spotlessly clean, welcoming, cosy, friendly, and helpful. What more could you ask for?!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. Natalie and Guy were the perfect hosts, and went out of their way to ensure that we had a relaxing and memorable visit to Bath.

We stayed in the double room upstairs, and upon arrival Natalie greeted us with tea and cake. She was kind enough to run through our itinerary with us, and made suggestions.

The room is clean, the bed is comfy and the shower is powerful. The surrounding area is very peaceful.

Whilst the property is situated outside of Bath they were happy to run us into the city centre in the mornings; although, if the weather is pleasant, we would recommend you make your way down the hill through the picturesque Prior Park. Guy also dropped us off in town for our dinner reservation. It is about 10 minutes to the centre by car.

Natalie's famous breakfasts are delicious and hearty. We sampled the fruit salad, pain au chocolat, pancakes with bacon and maple syrup, full English, and salmon with scrambled eggs (all in just two days!)

On the day of checkout, our train was booked for late afternoon- not a problem, as Natalie offered to keep hold of our luggage, and meet us at the train station 20 minutes before departure, which was very handy.

We would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Bath.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I would like to say that from the moment myself and my wife arrived at Bath Spa station we fell in love with the place...Quiet, beautiful, historic, interesting to say the least. I would like to say that above all, the accomodation and hospitality we recieved from the owners of 55a North Road, B & B was wonderful; not only were we picked up at the station (NOT a standard service) by the lovely 'Natalie' but were dropped into town when we required'.The house is beautiful with gorgeous grounds and surrounding buildings/houses...the rooms were like home from home; very clean, contemporary, and quiet with all the things you'd need for a snug night in if so desired. The breakfast served at a time you'd like was so filling I could barely eat till late afternoon!! I would recommend this B & B to anyone who wants good service with beautiful, relaxing, surroundings. Finally, what makes the whole package is the wondeful hosts...Natalie and Guy Woods. Thanks guys, we will be back....Paul & Sandra.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 55a North Road B&B and Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 55a North Road B&B and Self Catering

Address: 55a North Road, Combe Down, Bath BA2 5DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55a offers visitors an uncluttered and chic base in Bath. We have a choice of double or twin rooms, each of which is completely self contained with its own entrance, a small kitchen, and an en suite shower room and loo. Guests may choose to stay on either a bed & breakfast or self catering basis. There is lots of parking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 55a North Road B&B and Self Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.