We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay-” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Devonshire House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Devonshire House to your Saves list
Devonshire House
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   143 Wellsway, Bath BA2 4RZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great stay-”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed in the cottage in the grounds of Devonshire House.
It was very clean, and well equipped, easy walk in to Bath, but after a day of walking and exploring the sights, we did get a cab back as walk back is quite steep.
Very friendly and helpful owners.
It was great to have few cookery books if needed and coffee/ tea available on arrival, but it would of been even better to have a small milk as well, so we could have had a cup straight away.
We would definately stay again and recommend to others

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    43
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
62
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

My wife and I found Devonshire House through tripadvisor and stayed there on our second night in the UK. Chris was a very gracious host and pointed us in all the right directions in terms of seeing and experiencing the wonderful city of Bath. He recommended the walking tour, Thermae Spa, and scenic walk down to the city center - each of which were enjoyable and solid recommendations.

We stayed in a room on the first (ground) floor, which felt a little small, but did not detract from the stay. The size of the room could actually be considered standard for a B&B (particularly in Europe). I did not expect to have a TV or coffee and tea in the room, which we did and we appreciated. Breakfast was tasty and sufficient (we opted for the continental option as opposed to the full English breakfast for a supplement). Devonshire House offers private parking, but we were able to find a spot on the street and we left our rental car there for a night without problem.

The location is convenient to the city center, although as I seem to remember others writing, the walk back up the hill in the evening might be less than desirable and indeed we took the bus back up after a long day in town. We had planned on grabbing a late bite to eat at the pub next door, but there was a private party going on that night for a 60th birthday party, so we just crashed early (had some jet lag anyway as it was the second night after coming from the central time zone of the states).

So, all in all, Devonshire House is a solid option for a place to stay in Bath. Chris was a great host - he will steer you in the right direction and feed you well in the morning. The place is not right in the center of downtown, which can be a positive or negative depending on what you're looking for, but it is pretty accessible by foot, bus, and taxi in any case. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Just back from a lovely stay at the Devonshire House in Bath.
Recently refurbished, the room we stayed in was fantastic. The room had a comfortable king size bed and ensuite shower room/toilet but was still spacious.
The hosts Louise and Chris were really friendly. They combine running the B&B with family life brilliantly. Because of this they are not around all the time but if you need them are happy for you to call on them. For us this was just perfect, as we could come and go as we pleased.
The B&B is about a 15 minute walk out of town. Downhill on the way there and obviously uphill on way back. We did the walk both days we were there (twice on the 2nd day) and found it absolutely fine.
We had the continental breakfast included in the price. The selection was great, cereal, fresh croissants, bread and fruit. They will also do a english breakfast on request for a supplement.
We really enjoyed our stay and would definately go back to the Devonshire House again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Very welcoming owners with an excellent standard of breakfast. The room (5) we stayed in was large with a nice large bathroom but being at the front opening windows meant a lot of road noise. With double glazing plus a secondary sliding window it kept the room quiet enough when closed. About 10-15mins walk downhill into the centre of Bath and the pub next door, The Devonshire Arms, looked welcoming but we didn't get a chance to go there so you wouldn't have far to go for a drink and something to eat.

Great value for money and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

A very nice guest house. Would stay there again if in Bath. Did the option of the B & B with Spa. Get to the spa early, dont book a late entrance, as they queue like mad. Worth doing at 2hour at the Spa. The B & B is welcoming especially with the nice bottle of wine waiting for us on arrival, and there is a nice pub next door. Bear pub further down the road is worth a visit and does nice food. Also, little Indian restaurant round the corner from the Bear, Basic and take you own booze as no licence, but one of the best indian meals we have had. Walked in to the city only take 15-20 mins down a hill. Got the no 13 bus back up. Went for a Thia meal on our second night in the town, once again lovely meal at 'Mia Thai', served to us by a he-she girl. Restuarant round the corner from Pratts & Heylcon Hotels. Good menu and lots of Set meals if you want them.
We did not bother paying the extra for the full english as the serve yourself continental breakfast was ample.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Booked on the strength of the Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Room small but comfortable and breakfast excellent. An easy walk into the centre of Bath, but would recommend getting the number 13 bus back as it's a tiring walk back up-hill. This runs from the bus station every 20 mins.
There are plenty of good restaurants in Bath, but if you want to eat nearby, the Devonshire Arms next door offers reasonable food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Chris & Louise are friendly and welcoming hosts. Devonshire House is conveniently situated at the top of a hill, near shops and a Pub. Free parking is available at the front and back. Comfortable en-suite room with all necessities. Plenty of choice for breakfast including a full English on request. To be recommended and certainly hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devonshire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House

Address: 143 Wellsway, Bath BA2 4RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonshire House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run B&B used to be a Victorian Grocers shop, but now offers individually furnished, ensuite bedrooms, including a family room, twin bedded and double rooms. Thirty years of combined hospitality experience ensure the service and standards are both professional and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Devonshire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devonshire House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.