We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivers Street Rooms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rivers Street Rooms to your Saves list
Rivers Street Rooms
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   39 Rivers Street, Bath BA1 2QA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dream Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My friend I visited Bath for an overnight trip while staying in London. We had come for the Jane Austen Festival and couldn't have been happier with the central location of this B&B to the city center. We took the train from London to Bath and it was a quick and easy walk from the train station to this lovely B&B. The owners were so gracious and welcoming, letting us check in early and giving us plenty of suggestions of things to check out and restaurants to try. My friend and I loved the City View room with its gorgeous overlook of the city. Breakfast was delicious and homemade. Our room and bathroom were very clean. I would definitely stay again and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If you want a splendid high overview of the city, stay in the City View room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    21
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I were in Bath for a few days in September. This was an excellent location. Just a few minutes walk to the center of Bath tourist area. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts delicious. Bit of a steep climb to the attic rooms, but clean and cosy when you get there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I had our first City break with our 6 week old daughter. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The kitchen/living area was perfect for us to relax in, there was coffee, tea and juices available and every morning a breakfast was delivered hot to our apartment. Overall we were very happy with the service. Also - we got the apartment for half price as it's off season which was great. Bath is a wonderful city - probably the prettiest in UK. The shops are very good. There are plenty of great places to eat and drink too. In particular - The Chequers (Gastropub over the road) serves fantastic food and the service is great too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Rivers Street Rooms last weekend on our first trip to Bath. It was just perfect.......friendly, beautifully decorated and our hosts bent over backwards to ensure that we were comfortable and looked after throughout our stay.
Sean is a wealth of information and guided us in the direction of a lovely Italian bistro 5 mins away on foot. Sharons breakfast is to die for, freshly baked pastries, mini bacon and sausage rolls..a perfect way to start the day! I own a cleaning business and the first thing I do anywhere is inspect the cleanliness when I stay somewhere. .......I couldn't find a single thing that I would comment on regards cleaning. Under the free standing bath was spotless, mirrors sparkled and our bedroom in the city view room had been thoroughly cleaned. I would employ the cleaner!! Thoroughly recommend this place to stay.

Room Tip: Lovely views across Bath in the City view room and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My mum was recently visiting from Scotland and I decided to take her for a two night stay in Bath. Upon searching for an appropriate hotel/B&B, I came across the River Streets B&B Apartment. I loved the look and location of it from the outset and it was ideal for us as there were two separate bedrooms. The cost was £280 for the two of us for the two nights, much cheaper than the other hotels/B&Bs I had looked at.

Upon arrival we were both very impressed with the apartment and the décor. The place was lovely and clean and there was plenty of space (and towels!) for the two of us. It was like home from home! The fridge had been fully stocked with milk, butter, crumpets, fruit juice and there was a loaf of bread, cereal and tea and coffee!! This was on top the lovely fresh homemade breakfast items that were delivered to us at the agreed time on both days!

The location was perfect for us. Around 10 mins to centre of town and very close to the Sightseeing bus stops (very handy after a long day of shopping!) There was also a lovely pub directly over the road and local shops on the street running parallel.

Sharon and Sean were very helpful and welcoming. Sharon was very informative and friendly and they allowed us to use the B&B over the road to drop our suitcases off on the last day. Nothing was too much trouble!

I will definitely be back to stay and would highly recommend this (and have done already to my friends and colleagues!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here on our first visit to Bath. The rooms are within the attic of the owners' home and are accessed via a steep stair so not suitable for the unfirm. The house is stylishly decorated and the owners were friendly and helpful. The house is within walking distance of all the tourist sights of Bath. Parking is quarter mile away as Rivers Street is permitted. Breakfast was quirky - a range of home baking perhaps more suited to elevenses than breakfast. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the apartment for £400 when we arrived we noticed that the apartment could be cleaner than it was.... Kettle covered with lime scale, hairs in bath and floor, taps and sink needed a good scrub etc. I contacted the owner about this and I was told she would come over the next day with the cleaner to make sure everything was sorted. We went out for day and returned at 4.00 to find nothing had changed? So once again I contacted owner who said cleaner had spent 1 hour there but nothing had been done? Not even kitchen bin had been emptied or anything that I had mention the day before! I got an e mail saying we could stay for free off one of the owners then the other owner came over with fresh towels to say he would reduce bill at check out the following morning? At check out the bill was reduced by £100 but while I was there the cleaner then confronted me to ask what wasn't clean!! So I had to explain again. So all in all not a good experience... No one addressed the problems while we stayed there and was made to feel like it was being unreasonable not worth £300 and very unprofessional to bring the cleaner into the discussion

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversStreetRooms, Owner at Rivers Street Rooms, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Many thanks for the review and comments. Of course, we have been expecting some comments from you despite our efforts to address your issues.

It is such a shame that you failed to mention how much you said you loved the flat on arrival and how much you also said you loved coming back to it each night. Also, the fact that we gave you a 10.30am check-in in the morning, and the use of our home until 5pm on the day of check-out (which was a actually a family day off for us, with the B&B closed). So we gave you a day and a half extra time for the money. We try to be noticeably generous with our guests, and we offered these extras to you freely in advance, as you had odd flight times and two young children in tow.

You did tell us that you found a few things that weren’t to your liking: the underside of the bathroom tap and the kettle had limescale, and that the top of the hob also showed signs of wear, but you were unable to say what else you actually found unclean. We have now addressed these limescale issues, so many thanks for these pointers. The only other thing that you complained about was that after less than 24 hours you did not have a full set of clean towels (you had already had four large, clean towels upon arrival). We pointed out that for environmental reasons we do not change towels as a matter of course after one day, but of course we are happy to do so on request, which is why we brought them over in the evening.

I did talk to my cleaner in the morning about the issue of cleanliness, especially the issue of a hair in the bath, as hairs are something that we always mention to cleaners as it is so easy for one to fall off of a cloth during cleaning. She was extremely upset and surprised to hear that you found it unclean, as she had spent three hours cleaning it, including backs of beds, etc. She simply asked you for feedback so that she could improve her cleaning, and since you were quite obviously angling for a discount, I do not think it unreasonable that she would ask for this feedback. Unfortunately, you were also unable to tell her what you found to be unclean and were quite defensive in the process.

We offered you a £100 discount to address your complaints about limescale on the kettle and underside of the taps and any hairs you saw, plus we offered you the early check-in and late check-out, so it is surprising and upsetting that you would want to write such a review, but we are also saddened that you did not enjoy your stay. We hope that next time you visit Bath you find accommodation that suits your needs.

We take cleanliness very seriously, and as you can see from all of the other reviews that have been written, our guests are always extremely happy with how clean their rooms are and the value we offer for the money in the centre of Bath. There will always be areas where we can make improvements, and mistakes can happen, so we will continue to act on feedback from our guests. Again, thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivers Street Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivers Street Rooms

Address: 39 Rivers Street, Bath BA1 2QA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivers Street Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We aim to offer our guests a true b&b experience by inviting you to stay with us in our family home. We are a friendly couple with three, mostly well behaved children, and two very friendly cats (please note if you suffer allergies). We only employ one member of staff so it will be us that takes your call, greets you at the door and serves you breakfast in the morning. We want you to enjoy your stay and will do all that we can to make that happen : providing local knowledge and advice and bringing you the things that you need to make your stay fun packed, comfortable, relaxing. Our home is on a quiet residential road that is only a few minutes walk from the centre of town and just around the corner from the famous Circus, Crescent and Assembly rooms. The house typifies Bath architecture, a five storey town house which we recently renovated with an aim to make it modern but with a sympathy to it's original style. There is also a lovely gastro pub at the end of the road that serves delicious food and local ales. Free on-road parking is located within a very short drive and only a five to ten minute walk. This is typically available at all but the busiest times. Otherwise, we recommend Charlotte Street Car Park or the Park and Ride. Check-in time is after 4pm. We can sometimes accommodate earlier check-ins so please call us if you require an earlier time. Unfortunately Monday - Friday we are unable to accommodate check-ins between 2.45 and 3.45 as we are collecting children from school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rivers Street Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Street Rooms Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivers Street Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.