We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro La Barrique

Bistro La Barrique
31 Barton Street, Bath BA1 1HG , England
01225 463861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 465 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Tapas, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Food looked lovely, but we found it mediocre & unusually for French food, under seasoned. Ok if you like lots & lots of cheese. Restaurant pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    174
    46
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm welcome and attentive staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had a lovely evening, tapas with a difference, very good food and a very welcoming atmosphere. will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Interesting Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely meal in this bijou French restaurant. Good atmosphere, good food and friendly staff. The food is small plates or tapas style. As a couple we ordered 4 plates and some bread and oil as a starter. After ordering it all arrived fairly quickly and so the meal was all over in under the hour. It would have been better to have the plates arriving periodically over a longer period. This was on offer but we didn't realise how it would be.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A class act”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Delicious food and attentive staff. The lunchtime petit plats and side dish proved more than ample at this inviting restaurant, which we hit on by chance the last time we were in Bath. Another visit soon is on the cards.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really good dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Had a delicious and really well-priced lunch. Lunch menu was excellent, with six equally delicious dishes shared between my wife and myself. Staff were very friendly, had a nice chat with the owner as we were the last out before closing after lunch (and not rushed out at all).

Really glad we stumbled upon this place. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro La Barrique also viewed

 

Been to Bistro La Barrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro La Barrique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.