We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro La Barrique

Bistro La Barrique
31 Barton Street, Bath BA1 1HG , England
01225 463861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Tapas, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A reliable restaurant we always use when we visit Bath. Good menu choice, excellent food, friendly staff and good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    159
    41
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Relaxed Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Bistro La Barrique is an unusual restaurant: they serve small dishes ("Petit Plats") so that it is a like tapas with French food. We liked this very much, giving the opportunity to try several different things. About two dishes per person plus a couple of sides, or three dishes without sides, is about right. The food came very quickly and was excellent. Having been on holiday to France earlier in the summer our standard for French food was high, but we were impressed. And the restaurant has a very relaxed, casual atmosphere -- not ideal for special occasions for this reason, but ideal for families with older children or for an informal meal with friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Went there as a result of Trip Advisor reviews and it measured up in every way. The owner is charming and helpful, the petit plats concept is like a french tapas with bigger portions so 5 are enough for 2 people, the wine selection and prices are good and the central location easy to get to. No hesitation in recommending this bistro.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Authentic French food served like tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The dishes include many French classics but instead of one large meal you order three or four small dishes. Delicious desserts too. Wide choice of wine slightly on the expensive side. It's not cheap but very much value for money

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“Four Americans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This restaurant is wonderful! On one of the hotest days in England we found this quaint restaurant my husband, my sister's and I sat for hours eating and drinking in the outdoor patio. The Owner Michele came over to our table and was most gracious. Michele spoke with us about the history of his restaurant and the food he prepares. We liked it so much we went back the next night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro La Barrique also viewed

 

Been to Bistro La Barrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro La Barrique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.