We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic clean modern apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bath House Apartments

Save Saved
You added The Bath House Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bath House Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   17 / 18 James Street West, Bath BA1 2BT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty lodging in Bath
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fantastic clean modern apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

my wife booked us in for a family weekend trip to bath. She had struggled tio find a b and b or hotel with a family room. We were delighted with this modern two bedroom apartment in the centre of bath, with the benefit of a nearby parking space.
We enjoyed our stay very much and went to Longleat house for the full day on the saturday.
I had a slight accident with the washing up on the saturday morning when a plate slipped out of my hand and broke in the bowl. My son thought the reason being there is a dishwasher in the apartment . We live in barnsley yorkshire and so have no dealings with these machines. My son said that all the crockery had a waxy film on due to dishwashing , so beware if like us you are hand washers!
Only other slight problem was the noise from the demented seagulls. For some strange reason the birds were active through the night and at times they are screeched like banshees in unison. The apartment has noise shutters on its windows , but my wife is a fresh air fan. On our first night the mad birds defeated her and she had to close the window, but on our last night she left it open all night. It seems odd that these birds make so much noise through the dark hours.
Other than that issue, which is beyond the aprtments owners control, everything was wonderfull and as described. Would recommend the apartments to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
65
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I took my wife for a weekend in Bath to celebrate our anniversary and came across these apartments on Tripadvisor. I booked on the strength of the reviews and wasn't disappointed. The apartment was more like a hotel suite, with a bedroom (massive, comfortable bed) a living area and a bathroom. We felt like we had total privacy and could completely relax. The place was really clean and had a sofa we didn't want to get off of, it was so relaxing. Everything we visited was in about a 10 minute walk, so we didn't use our car once. The free parking space was just across the road and we were very grateful for it as the traffic in Bath seemed pretty bad and there were queues for the car park every time we walked past it. We had breakfast provided which was a nice touch and saw us through until dinner time. We had some great meals out, including the Circus restuartant and Hole and Woodhouse both of which we would recommend. All in all a great stay in a great City.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is our second visit to this apartment and it was just as good as our last visit. This time we had our new daughter with us, and the apartment provided a cot and bedding free of charge. It was perfect to have so much more space than a hotel room and everything we needed for feeds, like the microwave and fridge. There is a Sainsburys supermarket on the next street which is open until 10pm, so perfect for getting groceries after our day in town. Bath is only a 5 minute walk and the apartment even left a list of child friendly things to do which was very helpful. Would wholeheartedly recommend this apartment and will be back again ourselves one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in the 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment for one night as a family of 4 and it was a great choice for this kind of stay. There is a large sainsbury's across the road and about 10 minutes walk away is the main centre of Bath. There is also a small shopping centre with a cinema and nandos on the way into town. The apartment itself was very clean and well kept, with plenty of towels and a breakfast tray was helpfully left for us. There is a tv in the living room and also each bedroom so it felt more like a combination of a hotel and an apartment and this was the best of both worlds.
The parking area is quite tight to get in and out of, as mentioned by other reviewers and this is due to other cars being parked near the entrance/exit road during the day.
We had booked with myuk.travel website and it gave us a strange address in the booking confirmation email. We eventually found it after driving around for awhile and the gentleman I spoke to on the phone for directions was very helfpul.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Carlow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed in the 2-bed apartment, and found it an ideal base for an evening out in Bath. It is very central - 10 minutes walk from the town centre. Everything was spotless, and furnishings of a high standard. Two bathrooms, 3 tvs, dvd, washing machine, dishwasher etc. - luxury after a two week camping trip! Nice touches included milk, biscuits, tea, coffee and breakfast essentials provided, free parking and lots of information about Bath attractions. The apartment is not cheap, but is spacious, well-equipped and very comfortable - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We needed to temporarily vacate our home in Bath due to rennovations being carried out, and required a 'home-from-home' environment. We certainly found the ideal place at The Bath House Luxury Apartments. We stayed in the 1-bed apartment. I must say it was ' absolutely perfect!'. The apt was extremely well kitted in all areas, it had everything we could possibly want or need for our 4 day stay. The living room/kitchen and dining area was fabulously set-out and fully functional - you name it, and this apt had it! Our bed, which was king-size (fab!), was so very comfortable, I really slept well. The apartment was very clean, in fact so very clean that I did not once feel the urge to have to clean anything before using it! We would not ordinarily find ourselves having to stay in any hotels in Bath, so on this very exceptional occassion we were extremely lucky to have chosen this establishment. We shall definitely recommened to all our relatives/friends (that's if we can't put them up!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Our 'apartment' which we stayed in was number 17. I'm not sure if other people who've reviewed stayed in this apartment but I would actually describe it as 'bit bigger than a bedsit'. The standard of the apartment is good not luxury. It may have been when originally developed but is now showing signs of wear . The water doesn't flow from the bath after having a shower, so by the time I'd finished showering I also had a substantial bath - added to the fact that the shower isn't very powerful. My husband would have to wait over an hour for enough water to drain to be able to shower without flooding the bathroom ! Also the flush is not affixed to the toilet properly so pops out every time we flushed. These are signs of a property not being maintained - east to fix but also irritating as it isn't what I'd expect from a 'luxury apartment'. Cleaners would be very aware of these problems so they should be
repaired.
Generally the standard was average although clean. The dining table had to be dragged away from the wall to enable our daughter to sit at the same time as us because it's so cramped and right outside the bathroom door! Needless to say we wouldn't return to this property as it's just not what we expected and too small.
Although I should add Bath is fantastic and I've been visiting for 15 years as I can't get
enough of it!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Criticaltourists, Owner at The Bath House Apartments, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
We're always perplexed when a review is left with specific points (like the toilet being difficult to flush, and the bath water slow to drain away) and we find the guest hasn't informed us during their stay. This gives us no chance to put it right.
We are 100 yards away, in our B&B if needed, and leave two telephone numbers for contact.
Had we been told you were having difficulty with the push-down flush, we could have come and mended it for you. Surely that would have made for a happier stay?
Incidentally you didn't even leave a note informing us of the problems. We leave a notebook in the apartment specifically for that purpose, as we endevour to ensure any problem is dealt with before the next check-in.
Rather than informing us during, or after your stay, you choose to tell us via Tripadvisor.
For others' information, the apartment is a one bedroom apartment, with a 6ft wide (superking bed), TV and ipod dock in the bedroom. The lounge/kitchen/dining area has an expensive John Lewis brown leather sofa, 32 inch flat-screen TV, ipod dock, DVD player and fully equipped kitchen, with all consumables provided. There is also a glass dining table with four chairs, which doesn't need to be 'dragged' anywhere, but can be moved if needed.
We also provide free parking, which in central Bath, is a luxury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bath House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath House Apartments

Address: 17 / 18 James Street West, Bath BA1 2BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bath House Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one and two bedroom apartments are located two minutes from Bath's center. They provide everything you would expect from top-class hotel accommodation, with the added luxury of a relaxing lounge area and a fully equipped kitchen if you want to dine-in. lounge and bedrooms have digital TVs, we provide free wifi, iPod dock, CD and DVD players, hairdryers, alarm clocks and umbrellas. Ideal for couples, families, corporate bookings or small groups. Available for single nights or longer stays, the apartments offer space, flexibility, privacy and excellent value for money. A welcome pack of fresh milk, tea, fresh coffee and biscuits will make you feel right at home. FREE first breakfast of croissants and cereals and FREE parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bath House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bath House Apartments Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bath House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.