We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amuse buche, don't mind if I do...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chequers

The Chequers
50 Rivers Street, Bath BA1 2QA, England
01225 360017
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chequers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $25 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A landmark dining destination in the historic town of Bath, The Chequers is a beautifully restored gastropub on Rivers Street that has been serving customers since 1776. Offering a slice of local living to visitors from out of town, The Chequers is an elegant escape from the city’s bustling boutiques and is only a short walk from the Circus and the Royal Crescent. Serving a menu of home cooked, local & seasonal food alongside a premium selection of wines, local ciders and real ales, this is a fantastic place to spend an evening over a bottle or two with friends and family. On the menu you’ll find gastropub fare unrivalled in Bath with old pub favourites including their award winning Sunday lunch given a classy makeover. The Chequers restaurant also caters for business meetings and private parties.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amuse buche, don't mind if I do...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Grown up approach to dining in the private dining room upstairs. Great meal, with surprise appearance of the amuse buche and a palate cleansing sorbet. Bring back the £5 lunchtime specials please :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    130
    31
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lawford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fab food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Near to our accommodation. Small and lovely atmosphere
Food was excellent, some unusual touches
Reasonable prices for very good cuisine

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We ate here for my boyfriend's birthday on a monday night and it was fabulous. We just wanted to say thank you very much for a lovely evening and delicious food. The chef is clearly skilled and the front of house staff are knowledgeable, friendly and helpfully attentive without always asking do you want anything else etc etc.
We couldn't fault you, not that we would want to, delicious and a lovely place - we will be back and recommending you to everyone we know.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Average Sunday lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Like very many other gastropubs, this has been renovated in a pleasant enough 'scrubbed pine style', probably a few years ago now. The tables for two are in a row rather close to each other. My friend chose roast rib of beef; the beef looked more like slices of topside to us, and was overcooked whereas it should have been pink, juicy and full of flavour. The vegetables were nice but the portions certainly not over-generous. My hake with a white bean stew was pretty good and I was given helpful advice about wine to accompany it. Our puds were Sticky toffee pudding, which looked fine, and a pannacotta with roasted plums and candied walnuts. The plums were undercooked and lacked flavour and the pannacotta was 'overset' (made with too much gelatine), so the dish didn't work for me. The coffee was good and the staff friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

As revamped pubs go this one stands out if you want some character and a decent meal. Excellent desserts by somebody who really knows their stuff. Long may that last. Strangely the staff would not allow burgers to be cooked and served less than 'medium rare'!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers also viewed

 

Been to The Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chequers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.