We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but only for early birds.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bath Star Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bath Star Apartments
17 Belvedere, Lansdown Rd, Bath BA1 5ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty lodging in Bath
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice, but only for early birds.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The apartment is nicely decorated (albeit a little dark, it's the basement of the owner's house) and they provide the basic things to prepare a breakfast: tea, coffee, milk, fruit, as well as salt, oil and vinegar.
Bath is very small, but this apartment, in spite of being walking distance from the centre, is a bit distant from the station and the tourist attractions, and also at the end of a steep street.
What I really disliked is that the check out is at ten o'clock, which I think is very early for a Sunday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathstar, Owner at Bath Star Apartments, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are very sorry that this guest was unhappy with his stay. We do agree with the comment that 10 am is an early check-out and consequently we have changed our policy. Check-out is now 11 am. We are not at all "distant from the tourist attractions"; yes we are on the opposite side of town from the station (a 15-minute walk according to Google Maps, I would say 20 minutes), but we are a 3-minute walk to the Assembly Rooms, the Museum of Costume and the Circus, a 7-minute walk to the Royal Crescent, the Jane Austen Centre and Queen Square, and a 10-minute walk to the Roman Baths and Bath Abbey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great little apartment 5 - 10 minutes walk from Bath city centre. Everything I needed was there, communication with the owner was excellent.

Grappa bar - recommended for great Pizza. Curry Mahal just opposite was highly recommended by a colleague but didn't try it out.

Parking was a bit of an issue (but then it is in any big city) - make use of the parking permit - saves a fortune. You may have to watch out for a space for half our or so but you will get one.

Overall highly recommended - will definately stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a Friday and Saturday. We arrived late at night but that was no problem. The apartment was spotlessly clean and has everything you'd want or need. It actually looks even nicer in person than it does in the photos! On friday night when it was raining and we didnt fancy eating out - we vegged out on the sofa with a movie and ordered in from the Curry Mahal restaurant across the road based on the recommendation in the welcome pack - bliss! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northerner in the South
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at the Bath Star Apartments from Tuesday to Friday, just after the Bank Holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I had booked it off the back of reading previous reviews which appear faultless and I was not disappointed. The location is perfect, it really is a short walk into the town centre and there are pubs and restaurants just down the road ( I would recommend The Chequers which is just around the corner - the food there is near Michelin Star quality). The apartment itself is very clean and modern and and was a perfect choice over a hotel for me given that it allowed my partner to sleep away whilst I could watch some trashy morning television before we set off to check out the sights. Alexandra was very helpful on our arrival in informing us of where the local amenities were and we were able to leave our cases on check out on our last day to enable us to enjoy our last day sightseeing. I could not fault our stay and would highly recommend the BSA to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We went to Bath to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary which coincided with The Queens Jubilee and had a brilliant weekend made more enjoyable by staying at The Bath Star Apartments.We booked in Feb and so glad we picked here,.Ideal location 5 mins from centre of Bath..Quality accommodation everything you could wish for and so clean.We would highly recommend this as the place to stay if you are visiting Bath.Beats staying in a Hotel hands down.Will book again when next having a break and pass on details to family and friends.Thanks again for making our weekend complete Alexandra.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Went to Bath for 2 nights (big birthday celebration). Customer service from the point of booking onwards was excellent. Apartment was beautiful, excellent location and spotlessly clean. Everything you could possibly need, including a lovely little welcome hamper with milk, tea, coffee, sugar, fruit, chocolate and small bottle of wine (essentials!). Comprehensive info folder with useful tips. Couldn't fault it and would definitely stay again. Many thanks

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I wanted to find somewhere special to stay for our first wedding anniverary. After reading the reviews I was really keen to book up. Ever so pleased we did! Absolutely perfect in every way. The apartment was modern, clean, new bathroom was gorgeous. We even made use of the little patio area outside - perfect place for sharing a glass or two of champagne with your lovely husband! Alexandra likes to go that little extra mile too, leaving a bottle of wine, some chocolate and a fruit bowl, even a pint of milk in the fridge for when you arrive. Loved the Champneys products in the bathroom (i'm a girl who likes her little luxuries!) Location is spot on. We parked our car and it didn't move for the whole weekend. 5 - 10 minute walk and you will find shops, restaurants (Sotto Sotto fabulous italian, amazing staff, was the best, must visit but make sure you book in advance!) and loads of lovely bars/pubs. If you are looking for a romantic weekend in Bath book with the Bath Star, you will not disappointed! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bath Star Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Star Apartments

Address: 17 Belvedere, Lansdown Rd, Bath BA1 5ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classy Apartment bang in the City Centre of Georgian Bath. Only minutes from the historic Assembly Rooms, Jamie Olivers and the new spa. Shops, restaurants and history in abundance. Don’t miss the music and film festival plus the Christmas Market. Bath Star offers space and comfort with a touch of luxury – perfect for that two day break or weekend away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bath Star Apartments Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bath Star Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bath Star Apartments to your Saves list