We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shaad

Shaad
High Street | Weston, Bath, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #257 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bideford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Went there whilst visiting the campsite nearby to get a take away. The staff were completely ignorant and it was a real effort to even speak let alone take my order. The food had hardly any taste and I wouldn't bother going there again. It was a Sunday night over a bank holiday weekend and the place was empty ........ perhaps while the staff had time on their hands, they could have read the 'Improve your manners and be courteous to the people who pay your wages and keep you in a reasonable lifestyle' manual !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Still great after 6 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Our whole family have been going to the shaad since it opened 6 years ago. The food has always been excellent, very resonable and the staff always nice. We as a family have visited many Indian restaurants in bath but by far shaad is the best. Highly recommended and don't forget to book and take your own beer!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

*********************** I love it here,this was my local Indian, and it still is even though I do not live in the area any more. The food is good and great value for money.*******************************

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Excellent tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

With so many good places to eat in Bath it is sometimes difficult to decide which restaurant to visit. When it comes to Indian restaurants the Shaad is definitely one of the best. The external appearance may not be as appealing as other restaurants in the centre, but the food is of high quality and very good value for money. On my latest visit, a quiet Sunday lunchtime, five of us selected different starters and main courses, but all of the food was of the highest quality and very tasty. The service was also very friendly. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants high quality food with the additional advantage of easy parking.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good local Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've dined in the Shaad twice now; in Nov & Dec. Both times the quality of the food and service were good. I was surprised to read the recent review where the reviewer found it poor. There weren't many tables filled when we were in there.

The menu offers plenty of choice with many different Nan breads I haven't seen on other menus.
Pricewise it is pretty standard.
Its bring your own with free corkage which is great.
Completing the scores out of 5 below I realised I don't remember them playing any music in there, which may have helped towards the atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaad also viewed

Bath, Somerset
 

Been to Shaad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.