We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Beeches B&B

Save Saved
You added High Beeches B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Beeches B&B
156 Midford Rd | Combe Down, Bath BA2 5SE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #28 of 187 Bath B&B and Inns
Mount Gambier
1 review
“Quintessential B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Thank you Ian and Ali for making this part of a long trip just perfect. Spacious, beautifully decorated rooms in a quiet location on the outskirts of Bath. Walikng distance to local typical English pub. 5 minutes and you're in the middle of Bath but still away from the hustle and bustle. Nothing was too much trouble for Ian and Ali and they provided us with great tips to maximise our time in the area - even using the cricket club car park to park our car clsoe to centre of town. There is nothing to not like about High Beeches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    104
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
79
333
31
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My sister and I spent one night at High Beeches after five nights in a London youth hostel -- talk about a contrast! Although the hostel was just fine, High Beeches was like going to heaven. The room was lovely, the bathroom perfect and the stairs unusually wide and easy to get suitcases up and down. Emma was on duty in the owners' absence, and she did them proud -- welcoming, helpful and friendly. Rufus the golden retriever was just enough dog -- friendly and pattable, but not barky or sheddy. Dinner at the Cross Keys was fine, although we were perhaps just too tired by then to do it justice, and the portions (even those advertised as small) were enormous. After a long and somewhat fraught day on the road, we slept like the dead. The location, while not in easy walking distance from the town centre, was actually better, I think -- quieter and more spacious. The breakfast room was beautifully decorated and laid out, and the quality of the food lived up to the surroundings. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Emma was taking care of the house while we were there. The house is in the beautiful English countryside, and Emma makes a great breakfast. Our room was so cute and the best was the most comfortable of the entire trip. Despite needing a cab/bus ride, this B&B is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The house is amazing, our room was great, breakfast was plentiful, and even the dog was friendly! Ian and Ali were very accomodating, with good suggestions for parking just outside of Bath (bring lots of coins -- 10 hours of parking at the cricket club cost about 13 pounds!), as well as restaurants and sightseeing. Our room was spacious compared to many other UK B&Bs we visited, with a very comfortable bed and a good shower. Bath was a wonderful place to visit and our stay at High Beeches made it even better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was there for the Bank holiday weekend. Charming place - the bedroom was comfortable, the breakfast was good, and it would have been a pleasent stay but for one factor:
The house is not new, and I believe the flooring is wooden. So, unless you trend softly, the sound carries through the house. I did not know this, having been in England just a few days. So, when I was up at 7, I apparently woke up the owner as well. He mentioned it to me when we met, and I apologised. However, following that, each person he met, he insisted on repeating the fact that he was having a rough time because I woke him up. If the owner values his sleep and comfort so highly, he shouldn't be renting his place out.
The lady of the house (Ali) was very pleasent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coin, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have stayed with Ian and Ali before but this was our first visit to High Beeches and, once again, we were made very welcome. The house has a lovely family atmosphere, all the rooms are a good size, clean and beautifully furnished. We were a family group visiting Bath for a family wedding and we all had extremely comfortable beds with luxurious bedlinen. Breakfast was also very good and served in a very friendly and homely manner - not at all starchy or brisk like some B&B's. Over and above all the comfort we experienced, it was the welcome of the hosts, Ali and Ian, who made our visit very special. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We will highly recommend High Beeches B&B to anyone visiting Bath. Although it is located 5 minutes away from city centre, but with a driving direction given by the owner, it was easy for us to find the address. Shortly after we met the owner, Ian, and have seen the bedroom, we regret for not staying more than one night. Ian is very friendly and welcoming, and we were charmed by our beautifully decorated room, not to mentioned the stunning view. We love that the bathroom is remarkably clean and the breakfast was very nicely prepared. Will definitely stay there again the next time we are in Bath!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Beeches B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Beeches B&B

Address: 156 Midford Rd | Combe Down, Bath BA2 5SE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Beeches offers: ETC Quality in Tourism Four Star Guest Accommodation Genuine hospitality in a great location Three extremely well equipped Triple/ double/single rooms with super king/twin and king size beds all with en-suite shower rooms Deliciously cooked traditional English breakfast or continental if prefered Private off-street parking and garaging (if available) Courtesy pick up/drop off from Railway & Bus station (Please arrange in advance) Free Internet access via Wi-Fi for guests with their own computers or access via High Beeches PC High Beeches is situated on the Southern edge of Bath surrounded by glorious countryside, in an area of outstanding natural beauty but only a short distance from the centre of Bath with the rolling countryside and village of Southstoke behind us. We are located between the main campuses of the University of Bath and Bath Spa University with the MOD Foxhill offices, Bath Clinic, Wessex Water, Prior Park and Monkton Combe School all very close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your High Beeches B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Beeches Hotel Bath
High Beeches Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Beeches B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.