We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abbey Heights Apartments at Three Abbey Green - Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Three Abbey Green to your Saves list
Three Abbey Green
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£10 off room rate
Ranked #15 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Abbey Heights Apartments at Three Abbey Green - Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

We stayed three days at the end of March at one of the satellite properties owned by the folks at Three Abbey Green B&B (found under the tab "High Quality Apartments" on their website) because we were a family of 4 with two teenagers (16 and 18), and we have found the cost of two hotel rooms to be too high these days. We are not B&B people so I was interested in their offering for apartments. We stayed in "The Penthouse" which is located on the top floor of a building just steps from the Abbey, the Roman Baths and tons of restaurants and shopps. In a word, it was perfect. Modern, brand-new Bosch appliances and stove,dishwasher, refrigerator, freezer, washer dryer, ironing board and iron, nice living room with a breakfast table, two nice sized bedrooms (one with an ensuite bath), a second bath with shower (both have heated towell racks), and clean, neat furnishings throughout. It also has nice views from the windows. Entry to the bulding is via secure keypad access (they give you the code ahead of time so you can go directly to the unit). It has a nice new good sized (maybe 42 inches?) LCD TV, and free wi-fi access. There is a Car Park directly across the street (which charges a fee from 8-8pm, but it is literally right across the street. There is a cool grocery/department store right around the corner (Marks and Spencer) where you can buy food items from their extensive grocery. The cost is very reasonable, and far better than what you would pay for a hotel. Do be aware that there is no elevator, so you do need to walk up several flights of stairs, but we didn't mind this. If you have any issues, you can just walk over to the Three Abbey Green B&B (50-60 yards around the corner) and ask the good folks there for assistance (including restaurant and shopping recommendations). Highly recommded and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    69
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
228
355
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

We booked on the basis of previous reviewers enthusiasm, For £115 we were expecting a level of perfection that wasn't achieved. The breakfast was basic, especially the cold starters, eg no yogurts or prepared fruit which one expects in 4 star guest accommodation, the cooked fare was satisfactory though. The kitchen seemed to be the staff meeting room and the noise that prevailed from here into the dining room was an intrusion.
The room was spacious enough but the beds were uncomfortably firm, and noise from other rooms door closures and footsteps overhead was particularly encroaching.
We have stayed in Bath several times over the years, it is a lovely city and 3 Abbey Green was the perfect location to do so from, we knew the parking would be expensive and add this to the priciest B and B's in the land it is an expensive holiday!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed here during our trip to Bath and couldn't have found a better location! This inn is run very efficiently. The proprietors were very friendly and welcoming to our children as well! The room was spacious and clean for our family of 5 , the food was fresh and it was very cozy. We would stay here again or one of their other properties without a doubt! We're actually recommending Three Abbey Green to a friend who plans on visiting Bath next month.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

Three Abbey Green B&B was a delight. In every way, the visit here was incredible. Rooms are very pleasant and spacious. Breakfast was perfect. The family owners are wonderfully friendly and very helpful. The location cannot be beat either. You are literally on the doorstep of the incredible Abbey!

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Girl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

I recently stayed in the Abbey View apartment with my niece and nephew and would highly recommend it to anyone. The owners are helpful, kind, always available to answer every question and provide information on everything from places to eat to the location of the local cinema and help in hiring a car to get to Heathrow. The apartment is clean, roomy and you could not ask for a better location - you literally have a great view of the abbey!

Bath is a wonderful city with so much to offer. On our last night - a Saturday - we were able to attend one of the Abbey concerts (Bach, piano) which was excellent and just a few hundred feet from our apartment.

I'm already envisioning my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. The owners were friendly and extremely accomodating. They offered tips for the area attractions too.The included breakfast was tasty and set in a very cheerful dining room. Our room was spacious. The shower was hot. The location could not have been better. We were a stones throw from the center of things and still walking distance from the coach station. Overall, it was a great start to our fantastic trip. LOVED IT

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stayed in the first floor Georgian apartment opposite the B&B, on a quiet narrow street a stone's throw from the Abbey. It overlooks Georgian houses and a tearoom. The building was well appointed and close to all the tourist attractions. The apartment consists of a large bedroom with a very comfortable extra large king bed, the lounge is beautifully proportioned. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you need to cater for yourself. Unlike other serviced flats Abbey View had plenty of cleaning materials, dishwasher tablets etc. We just used it for breakfast and to pop back for lunch as it is so convenient to do so. The toilet and shower room is small but well decorated and perfectly adequate. All furnishings and equipment is of a very high standard.
Sue, who owns the apartment and 3 Abbey Green was very helpful and allowed us to arrive an hour early. She offered to carry our bags and to book restaurants in Bath for us.
I found staying here a great alternative to staying in a B&B or hotel. We had the space and freedom to enjoy Bath to the full.
I would recommend going to Paxton and Whitfield (on the corner of Quiet Street and St. John's) to buy some of their lovely cheeses and coming back to the apartment for a great lunch. We popped into Marks and Spencers to pick up some great bread and other treats! It too is just a stone's throw from the Green. I would also recommended a trip to the award winning Raven Pub on Queen Street for their wonderful real ales and excellent atmosphere.
I would recommend this apartment to anyone as I am sure they would not be disappointed. The owners recommend that you use public transport to get to Bath and I would agree. Unfortunately my husband had to go to use his car on Saturday. Parking in Bath costs an arm and a leg so I would recommend you follow Sue's advice. The only suggestion I would make would be a later check out time of perhaps 11 am - 10 am is very early especially on Sunday.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Abbey Green
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Abbey Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.