We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in a wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Abbey Green

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Abbey Green
Save
You added Three Abbey Green to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely stay in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I and our two daughters stayed here for three nights last week and we found Three Abbey Green fantastic. Staff were extremely accomodating when we had to make a last minute change to our online booking. We had two nights in the family room - an excellent room with a little separate bedroom for one of our daughters. The ceilings are lovely and high, rooms spacious and airey. Everything crisp white linen and big, modern bathrooms. Our last night was in the Lady Hamilton room on the ground floor, which the owners went out of their way to make comfortable for all four of us. It was great - and everybody slept well. The breakfasts were excellent and the owners were always on hand to help with restaurant recommendations, tips for queuing for the Roman Baths etc. Very attentive. The location of Three Abbey Green is superb.....right next to the Abbey and two minutes away from the Roman baths. It is in a beautiful Georgian square with an amazingly old tree in the centre. Off the square are tea rooms and restaurants galore. We ate at a fabulous Moroccan restaurant very close by, and a little local pizza place which was lively and good fun. For afternoon teas we headed to Bea's vintage tea rooms, by the Assembly rooms, and also very much enjoyed the cafe at The Loft on our last day. It was a great little trip all round made all the more enjoyable by staying at Three Abbey Green. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are always happy to accommodate last minute changes - travelling is seldom as straightforward as it ought to be! That final night must have been a bit of a squeeze, so I'm glad to hear you were all as comfortable in Lady Hamilton as you were in the Asher Suite. It was a pleasure to meet you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    67
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
219
340
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed with my wife for a single night in early Feb taking advantage of a reduced offer. Its in a lovely location is a small square with a large plane tree at is centre. The staff are genuinely warm and very welcoming offering. On arrival we given information on where to visit and restaurants to eat in. We were provided with a key to the front door and room so we could come and go as we wanted, on the key fob is small card that gets money off at participating places when presented.

The rooms have character and very comfortable. We stayed in the Lilliput Court room, quite bijou but very pleasant . Coffee, tea, chocolate making facilities were in the room and the en suite was very clean.

We parked in the Southbank car park leaving our car there for 24hrs. The walk to Abbey Green takes just a few mins. I used goolemaps street view to locate the underground carpark, (which requires a sharp left turn at the entrance) to plot the route to Abbey Gardens.

The location is excellent within a minute of the Roman Baths and the Abbey. We choose to have lunch in the pub the Crystal Palace across the square, friendly staff and great food. Visited the roman baths (used the money off card here), returned to the B&B, then went to a concert in the Abbey followed by an atmospheric dinner in a Moroccan restaurant ‘Café du Globe’ just round the corner. Perfect day!

The breakfast is freshly cooked to order, I asked for a combination that wasn’t on the menu (smoked salmon and mushrooms) and this was kindly provided.

The owners really want guests to enjoy their visit, we did. I highly recommend this lovely place to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm and detailed review, it's great to read the story of your visit! We love looking after our guests and recommending our favourite places to go, and it's even better to hear that guests have enjoyed them as much as we have. With such treasures right on our doorstep, you never need to go far to get a good meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just back from an overnight stay in Bath - cannot sing the praises of Three Abbey Green more highly! Sue (owner) and her staff were extremely obliging and friendly. The Emma Dashwood apartment was immaculate - bright, fresh, well equipped and lovely and snug (in late February).The location of this B & B is perfect for exploring the city of Bath - everything you would want see and visit is within walking distance. Breakfast was of a very high standard - well prepared, cooked and presented using excellent quality produce. Enjoyed everything about our visit. R & P Middleton

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, thank you for your review. We're really quite proud of the Jane Austen Wing; Elinor Dashwood, Elizabeth Bennet and the newly-finished Emma Woodhouse make a wonderful addition to Three Abbey Green, bringing our total number of rooms up to ten. So you'll be spoiled for choice next time you come to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Amazing place with amazing staff. Spent our honeymoon here, just returned from wedding anniversary and already booked for next year. Best B&B I've ever been to. Close to all historic dites. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: We stay in the Lord Nelson room, four poster bed stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for your review - short and sweet, just like your visit! It's lovely to have guests come back to see us year on year, it's like catching up with old friends. It will be lovely to see you for a bit longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesham kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed from Sun 26th Jan through until the Tuesday morning, birthday and Xmas presents combined from the kids. We had a great time, Sue, Nici and Derek plus all of their staff made us very welcome. The room Old Plane Tree was very nice and very neat and tidy. At the front of the building so we did hear the odd bit of early delivery traffic as mentioned below, but the breakfast more than made up for it. Freshly cooked and local produce where possible. All of the advice in the booking information is spot on, we parked in the Southgate car park which is a 5 min walk to the B&B. Cost was about £12 per night which is not bad for secure parking in a city. The B&B is very well located for the Abbey and both baths. We had a relaxing afternoon in the Thermae spa followed by dinner and then a couple of drinks on the way back to the B&B. Found plenty to do in Bath including the walking tour which was free, as the guides are volunteers who are very passionate about their city. We saw more of the city and learnt more of its history in these 2 hours than we would of on our own in a whole day. Plenty of good places to eat including Sotto Sotto, would recommend booking in advance for this as its very popular.
Barry and Sue

Room Tip: All rooms looked to be of the same standard, very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it sounds like you had a very relaxing time. We aim to give the most helpful advice and information we can, to be sure you get to see the best bits of Bath - without running yourselves ragged! Thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

A great place to stay, very clean and well presented. The owners were attentive, staff were friendly, nothing seemed to be too much trouble and the breakfasts were very tasty. My only criticism was the bed in the 'Sycamore' was a bit firm although a good size, pillows were rather small and the towels in the bathroom were again quite small and perhaps not to the quality we’d expected.

A point beyond the control of the owners was the early Monday morning deliveries to the surrounding premises. At about half 5 the local cake shop (I assume) received a delivery and you could hear the plastic pallets being dragged across the cobbles, after the van delivering had reversed with its beeping warning alarm. After which the pub opposite took delivery of numerous metal barrels of beer, clanking from the lorry and then rolled to the pub. Finally, the weekly bottle bank collection from a nearby pub or restaurant was the finale to the early morning pallet, beeping, barrel, bottle bank concerto. I then understood why the room came with earplugs!

Bath is a city that attracts a huge amount of tourists, so it’s no surprise that such early morning noise exists, although it’s shame that no steps have been taken to dampen it’s affect including preserving the originality of the building..

Three Abbey Green is a great place to stay, centrally located, with a wonderful view and my criticism regarding the bed, pillows and towels, is my opinion based on places I’ve stayed before for a similar rate. Would I stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such an in-depth review. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us – it’s always lovely to hear that we have done a good job!

We value all feedback from our guests and strive to incorporate suggestions wherever possible. I’m sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the quality of the towels provided; I have made a note of your feedback and we will raise this with the company from whom we hire our linens.

Please accept our apologies for the noise disturbance from early morning deliveries. This is an ongoing issue and we are in discussion with the neighbouring businesses to find a solution. Our central location offers great access to Bath’s many sights and attractions, but with the inevitable downside of noise being a factor. We are always open about this and provide earplugs to mitigate the intrusion as much as possible.

Three Abbey Green is a Grade 2 Listed building; maintaining the integrity of its period features is an abiding concern for us, which is why we do not have secondary glazing or other noise-reducing features typically added to city-centre properties. We feel that to compromise the beautiful Georgian architecture of the house would have a significant impact upon the character and charm that bring so many guests back to stay at Three Abbey Green, again and again. We hope that you will be among that number – we’d love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a great time here. It's perfectly located a block from the Abbey and the Roman Bath, two blocks from the Thermae Bath Spa. The owners are wonderful and friendly and really make you feel at home. Sue provided a great suggestion for dinner and things to do, and she helpfully explained which restaurants would take the "Big Ben" discount card many downtown businesses honor (we probably saved 15-20 pounds just with that card!). The breakfast was delicious. I'd highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do our best to make Three Abbey Green a 'home away from home' for all our guests, whether you stay for a night, or a week, or even longer - and we're always pleased when new guests tell us we were recommended by friends and family. The best advertising we could ask for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Abbey Green
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Abbey Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.