We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay for wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Abbey Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Three Abbey Green to your Saves list
Three Abbey Green
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£10 off room rate
Ranked #14 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Short stay for wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Weekend stay for daughters wedding,great location for the Abbey. Excellent choice of breakfast, owners very helpful and friendly. Stayed in the Elizabeth Bennet room which was a lovely room overlooking a busy square. Would recommend, ideal place to stay for central Bath.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your weekend with us, thank you for taking the time to review. We are lucky that our central location makes us the perfect base for special days at the Abbey, Roman Baths or Guildhall; we have played host to many bridal parties and there's nothing quite like that buzz of expectation in the air! Please pass on our regards once again to the happy couple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    69
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
229
356
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in the Lord Nelson room which is on the first floor. We were fortunate to be permitted to book a single night as usually there is a 2 night minimum booking policy at the weekend (we stayed on a Saturday night). I had noticed the single night available on the booking site, and although it would not allow me to book, I sent a message to the owners and received a phone call almost instantly and the booking was made. We arrived by car around 10.30am and found a parking space in the nearby Southgate Car Park, where we left the car until the following morning. It is an underground car park, which is secure, well lit and even plays piped music! It cost us £13 for 24 hours which I thought was a fair price. Once we got our bearings (and a nice friendly local asked if they could help us find where we needed to go when they noticed us looking at a map) we easily found Abbey Green. Sue showed us to the room which is beautiful. She then took me downstairs to the dining area and she checked us in and ran through everything (she is very organised :-)). The location is perfect for seeing the attractions - everything is in walking distance. The bed in the room is enormous and very comfortable. There is a shower but no bath (not a problem for us) and liquid wash (no shampoo or conditioner - again not a problem for us). The breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked (and very well cooked) and the was a choice of fruit, cereals, yoghurt and preserves. Sue even brought us an extra round of toast without us having to ask. If there are any areas to improve what is already arguably a high end guest house, I would suggest face cloths and either larger bath towels or toweling bath robes. However having said that, I would stay here again in a heartbeat - we were sorry we could only stay the one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
What a lovely detailed review - thank you! It's great to hear such positive comments and constructive suggestions; we are always keen to excel in the service we offer. We provide face cloths on request and the Gilchrist & Soames shower gel we supply is in fact a 'hair and body wash', so it can do double duty as a shampoo - for future reference! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

You couldn't get a better location to explore Bath. We only had one day, so got to see plenty because it was so central. We had the Elinor Dashwood room up in the loft next door in Four Abbey Road. Well worth the climb! Lovely views, clean comfy bed, roomy bathroom with lovely body washes. Great local knowledge and hosts were always on hand. Would love to stay for longer. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us - and that you managed to pack plenty into such a brief visit! Elinor Dashwood is a lovely room with bags of charm, so it's good to hear that you weren't deterred by the stairs. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The map showing the direction from the train station to the inn is very clear. It was within walking distance and took us no more than 10 minutes on foot.
We stayed at the Jane Austen wing adjacent the main building in the Elizabeth Bennet room on the 2nd level overlooking the courtyard with the large tree. the view was very pleasant.
The bathroom was outside the bedroom but since there is only one room on each floor, it posed no privacy issue at all. When we mentioned that the glass partition at the bathtub is not wide enough to prevent water from splashing out to the floor, the Owner immediately acknowledge the problem and gave us extra floor mat.
Sue gave us a detailed introduction of the town with dining recommendations that was very helpful.
Vegetarian gluten free breakfast was arranged for me every morning with cook to order main dishes that was fresh and delicious. My husband especially enjoyed the hot coffee held in the french-press thermist that he is looking to get one. We loved the apples from Sue's garden.
The Owner and staff are attentive, helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely and detailed review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We think it's important that everyone who stays with us eats well, whatever their dietary requirements are - all that sightseeing can work up quite an appetite! Our thermal french-press coffee pots come from an American company called Planetary Design and you can buy one from their website; I hope you will think of your time at Three Abbey Green whenever you use it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Sue, her family and staff went out of their way to be helpful and made our stay a pleasurable one. Alan in particular helped us return the hire car by leading us to the depot in his car and bringing us back to Three Abbey Green as Baths one way systems are very confusing. Nothing was too much trouble and we received very good advice on what to do in Bath. The rooms, breakfast and service from the staff were excellent. We recommend anyone visiting Bath use this establishment as a base.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
It's lovely to hear that we were able to make your stay so enjoyable, thank you for your kind words! When it comes to driving in Bath we're keen to go the extra mile whenever necessary (if you'll pardon the pun!) as it's far from straightforward when you're not familiar with the rather challenging one-way system. We're glad you enjoyed Bath and hope you will stay with us again if you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Three Abbey Green was everything I'd hoped it would be and more. The convenience of the location and its proximity to Bath's treasures can't be overstated. It's truly in the heart of Bath. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable, pretty, and very well priced. Sue, Allan, Nici, and Emma are very kind and repeatedly offered help with hauling heavy bags. They provided vegan breakfast items for my husband and me and allowed us to stow our bags for a few hours past check-out. Yes, the B&B can be tricky to find (by car) and has no lift, but this is not a secret. The staff go out of their way to provide thorough directions and parking instructions. I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: The Asher Suite is enormous and comfortably fits two adults and two children. Or two adults, one chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to meet you both and I'm glad that our breakfasts got the vegan seal of approval - we like to make sure all our guests are well fed! We're honoured to have been part of your honeymoon trip and wish you all the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncannon, PA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Finding Three Abbey Green presented the first challenge; once we found it, we had to double park the car to unload suitcases, as the B&B offer no parking at all. They parking that is available is several blocks away at a premium cost/night. We then had to drag our luggage over cobblestone sidewalks, climb 3 flights of stairs to arrive at our spacious room. Upon arriving in our room, there was an unpleasant smell. We soon discovered when you flushed the toilet, it backed up in the sink. We now know where the smell was coming from. The B&B was centrally located, within walking distance of everything. So if you don't mind the inconveniences of parking and if you don't mind climbing steps, that even includes going down to the basement for breakfast, and location is everything to you...then I could recommend Three Abbey Green.

Room Tip: A front room is the only room that gives you a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiciJones, Owner at Three Abbey Green, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I think it would be fair to say that although our central location is fantastic and our listed Georgian home is full of original charm, a few travellers may not find our bed and breakfast ideal for their needs.

Having re-read our website I realise that it is not clear about a couple of issues that have affected your stay. I have added more information about driving in Bath and made the information clearer to access on our website. I have also clarified the floor each room is on.

If you are coming to Bath by car (which we advise against if you are staying with us), we can be difficult to find as the streets are hard to navigate and Sat. Nav. technology does not work well in central Bath. We do our very best to help all guests who do have problems and we are only a phone call away for advice or rescue. Please do use our knowledge of our local area.

Our beautiful location in an ancient square does mean walking across cobbled streets and old pennant pavements - part of the attraction of coming to see us here we think. This also applies to our home. Parts of it are 17th century, so we do have stairs up and down to our various floors. This is now clearly described on the home page of our website.

The age and location of our bed and breakfast also mean we have no parking. It would be wonderful if we did, but it is not a possibility. The up side of this is, if you are looking for that wonderful old world charm, we have it in bucket loads.

The plumbing issue was resolved immediately and we are very sorry that this happened during your stay. Sadly, plumbing does occasionally need attention and it doesn't always go wrong at the most convenient of times.

We hope this has addressed your concerns and helped to clarify some issues that are pertinent to travellers staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Abbey Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Abbey Green

Address: 3 Abbey Green, Bath BA1 1NW , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Abbey Green 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Abbey Green is a Four Star Gold Award guest house, hidden away in a quiet cobbled square in the heart of central Bath. A stone's throw from the Abbey and Roman Baths, everything you could wish to see is on your doorstep. A leisurely walk to the Royal Crescent and King's Circus takes in an eclectic mix of boutique, independent and big-name shops, street performers and stunning Georgian architecture along the way. And when you get there, don't forget to visit the Assembly Rooms - ladies, no visit would be complete without trying on a corset and crinoline at the Fashion Museum. Whether you're here to relax at the Thermae Bath Spa, take in a little culture at the Theatre Royal, or shout yourself hoarse in support of your team at the Bath Rugby ground, Three Abbey Green is ideally situated for everything Bath has to offer.A Grade 2 listed building, parts of which date back to 1689, the main house has seven rooms (including two large suites ideal for families or groups), each with its own character and unique charm. Period features such as original fireplaces and wood panelled walls fit comfortably with tasteful contemporary furnishings. Greet the morning with an award winning breakfast, packed full of local produce. Don't worry if you have dietary needs - we can meet them all, given a little notice! As part of our commitment to expanding upon the service we currently provide, we are extending our award-winning bed and breakfast, Three Abbey Green, into the beautiful Georgian maisonette next door (which was once Four Abbey Green apartment). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Abbey Green
Three Abbey Green Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Abbey Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.