We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Somerset Villa
10 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3JX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 187 Bath B&B and Inns
Chicago
1 review
“Friendliest host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Patrick, the host, is so friendly, and eager to make your stay in Bath as pleasant and interesting as possible. His pride in his town is inspiring! We didn't have long enough in Bath as there is lots to see and do, but highly recommend Somerset Villa. The house is beautifully decorated with clean, large rooms, and breakfast is lovely. It is about 20-25 minutes walk from town, but it's a lovely walk through the botanic gardens and up past the Circle if you choose that route.

Room Tip: We had the room with the separate bathroom, which ended up being great as the bathroom is huge and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    38
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
120
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Patrick was very helpful and accommodating. The breakfasts were very nice. We found the rooms to be somewhat dark and gloomy and the bathrooms somewhat cramped. We stayed at the villa 2 nights, but my wife in particular found the bed very hard. Patrick was very concerned and offered us another room or even to find another B&B if we were unhappy, which was very nice of him. The bed in the other suite was a lot more comfortable, but unfortunately the experience did detract from our stay so we could not rate the B&B any higher.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Somerset Villa B&B for 2 nights in early September at the start of a 7 week UK/Ireland and France Holiday.
This is a quality B&B well managed, in a great location only a 30 minute walk to the centre of Bath and all the Bath attractions. We found Patrick to be very welcoming and helpful and just full of useful information. The breakfasts are excellent and the local pub has great dinners at reasonable prices.
The onsite car parking is a little tight but that is to be expected in the middle of bath.
We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in room 3 "Pisa". It was large and very comfortable. Patrick was helpful with tips on sightseeing in and around Bath. Somerset Villa is a quick bus ride into Bath or a very pleasant walk. We would definitely stay at Somerset again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow/Poznan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Last year myself, my husband and my parents went on a tour around the UK and this particular B&B is still so fresh in my memory that I miss it and wish to be back! We stayed 2 nights in Somerset Villa which was one of the best hotels we stayed at. I need to point out that we stayed in some 4* and 5* hotels too during that tour, but this villa offered the best service and best rooms of all! On reserving our stay, Patrick couldn't have been more helpful and we knew this was a good sign that our stay will be pleasant. On arrival, Patrick was already expecting us and we had a lovely welcome. There is a car park at the rear of the villa where it's possible to leave a car. We were shown to our rooms, which were amazing! One of the best rooms we've stayed. Not only were they beautiful, but super clean, fresh and very comfortable. You had everything that you could wish for in a hotel room or even more. Apart from tea/coffee facilities in the room, there was even a hot chocolate and small candies in a jar. This is one of many things and the attention to detail was amazing! Patrick gave us so many tips on Bath, where to go, what to do. For example he mentioned the free Bath tour which was a really great way to explore the city. We also visited the baths/Spa and it is highly recommended. Museum of Roman baths was very interesting and a must to see. From the Villa to the city centre it is about 30-35 mins walk, which is fine, but for my parents was a bit tiring, so sometimes maybe better to take a taxi or a bus. I think taxi was about £5-6.
In the morning, breakfast was superb, lovely cooked English breakfast and apart from that, there was also a selection of cereals, yogurts and we were very impressed with fresh fruit salad that was served. Just great! There wasn't anything that we didn't like or were unhappy with. Everything was just perfect and I hope Villa Somerset will jump into no 1 on trip advisor among B&Bs in Bath as it very much deserves it. Patrick was always the main host, but we also should give much credit to Cathy, his wife, who was working "behind the scenes" and although we haven't spoken to her, we knew she was probably as much responsible for the Villa as Patrick was and we just want to say "Thanks" to both of them for a lovely stay and hospitality. We couldn't recommend enough this B&B and wouldn't stay anywhere else in the future. Before we booked our stay here, we read tripadvisor reviews and we knew it is about 30-35mins. walk to the city centre. However, nowhere else you would be able to find such a high 5* standard for such a god price. Just take a taxi for £5, if walking is an issue and you'll be in the city centre in 5-10 mins. And even considering taxi expense, you're gonna get a bargain here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Elegant room, spacious and clean; delicious breakfast; energetic and very helpful - what else would you expect from a perfect B&B!

Very grateful to Patrick who posted back the glasses we uncarefully left in the room. Will definitely come back in the future if visiting Bath again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here in August. The interior of the B&B is very elegant. The rooms are big and comfortable. Our host, Patrick, is an energetic gentleman. He gave us a lot of tips of Bath. I believe he must love Bath very much! Nice English breakfast. Especially the fresh fruit! We have to had breakfast earlier all the three mornings, and Patrick helped us! Very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: I love room Pisa and room Paris!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Somerset Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Villa

Address: 10 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathy and Patrick McGuire welcome you to Somerset Villa, a Victorian house built in 1897 which still retains much of it's historic character such as original sash windows, working fireplaces, cornices, picture rails and other features of the Victorian age. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Somerset Villa to your Saves list