We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate quintessential English experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The County Hotel to your Saves list
The County Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18-19 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
New York & Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The ultimate quintessential English experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

For the THE ULTIMATE English hotel experience YOU MUST stay in the County Hotel in Bath. Recommended by my friends in America for the most welcoming hospitality and renowned English breakfast I was not disappointed.

My bedroom was gorgeous - it is evident that only the finest materials will do when it comes to delivering a classic English stay. The limited number of rooms means every guest in the hotel is treated as an individual - you will be on first name terms with staff from reception to the bar. And what a fantastic bar - a great whisky selection. And if you are lucky enough to catch the Head Barman ask him for one of his exclusive County Cocktails!

This hotel is only five minute walk away from Bath City Centre and I will be recommending it to family and friends. I hear some of the rooms have a spa too - that'll be for next time!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    57
    20
    13
    2
See reviews for
9
108
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

We stayed here for three nights in a County Room at the rear of the hotel looking on to The Abbey. The room was not vast but was well appointed and very clean. Excellent towels and bathrobes. The breakfast was first-class and the staff friendly and most helpful. Evening meals are not available but Bath centre is only a few minutes walk with a wide range of restaurants. We would suggest the rear rooms for preference as the Hotel is on a fairly busy road. We would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — very clean and the hotel close to town centre.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

I wish that we'd paid more attention to the negative reviews on trip advisor, we had a disappointing, annoying stay.

Our twin room was cramped, looking onto a noisy road, with maybe a couple of feet between the end of the beds and the wall, the bathroom equally small. But the beds seemed comfy so we swallowed our disappointment and looked forward to the famous hospitality we had read about.

Then we got a phone call saying breakfast the next morning (Saturday) would only be served from 8am till 8.45am because they had a function on. (Usually it's served till 9.45am)

We were put out - not least as we'd paid £150 for bed and breakfast. They absolutely refused to budge and said that the function took precedent and we could 'always go back to bed after breakfast' if we wanted a lie-in (that's a quote) So we made it down for the brief window. We had several people clearing around us as we ate in what is a small-ish dining room, so eager were they to get ready for the 'function'. They tried to take my partner's plate away when he had about three quarters of his breakfast still on it.

We took our coffee to the reading room to escape the bustle and saw a young couple arrive down for breakfast at 0900. Noone had alerted them to the change; the guy actually said, 'it says in the book breakfast is till 0945' and the receptionist said 'no, it's till 0845 - you've missed it.' And off they went, unfed and visibly disappointed.

Another couple then arrived for breakfast - they were turned away but went back for a second try and were finally allowed to go in and have some food as the staff got ready for the 'function.'

When we left at 11am the visitor's book was no longer on the table where it had been on our arrival, ready for comments.

I'd like to add that I am not someone who usually finds fault or has unrealistic expectations. I consider £150 a lot of money, but that's besides the point. We came away feeling thoroughly ripped off/offended, less by the size of the room, than the 'like it or lump it' attitude we saw displayed.

I'd taken my partner to Bath for his birthday present - at least the city didn't disappoint.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at the County Hotel. We booked a standard double room looking onto the bowling green, It was a lovely room with all facilities. The Hotel is immaculately clean. We did not go into the bar area. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The dining room was very nice with plenty to choose for breakfast.

We would definitely return as this Hotel is only 10 mins walk from the centre of Bath, and it also has parking facilities. It is a very comfortable hotel with everything you would need for a weekend away.

We loved Bath. We would recommend lunch at Le Flamma, and for a special occasion The Olive Tree Restaurant. Also hot chocolate at the Chocolate Shop opp. the Roman Baths.

We had a lovely weekend and could only complain about the weather on Sunday.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Not serving evening meals
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2006

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the County Hotel and I can honestly say that it is one of the friendliest hotels we have ever stayed in. From the moment that we phoned the hotel to book our room (a small standard double) we were very impressed with the level of service. Upon checking in, the receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful, showing us to our room and checking that it was suitable for our needs before leaving us to unpack. Throughout our stay the 2 receptionists that we had the pleasure to deal with were absolutely lovely, always wanting to know how our day had been and checking that we were happy with everything. As it turned out, we did not have any problems with our room but I have no doubt that if we had, it would have been sorted promptly and with great courtesy.
The room itself was small but not as small as we thought it might be. It had everything we needed, a bedside table each, dressing table, good sized wardrobe, a newly fitted bathroom (shower only but a reasonably sized one), enough floor space for it not to feel cramped and most importantly a lovely view of Bath Abbey. The room felt very clean and was very well decorated. A small standard double was all we needed for our 2 night stay however a larger room may be better if you are planning to stay in the hotel for longer than this.
The only part of our stay that we felt ever so slightly let down by was the cooked breakfasts. We had read on the hotel's website that they have won awards for their breakfasts but we did not really understand why as we have had better. This was not a problem though as there was a good sized cold buffet which included very tasty luxury items like smoked salmon, local ham and cheeses.
The location of the hotel is brilliant- we walked into the city each day and evening and got there within 5 minutes. Walking back late at night after a meal out, we felt 100% safe. Although the hotel is situated on a main road, this road was very quiet so noise was not a problem. In any case, I believe most bedrooms are at the back of the hotel facing the playing fields behind.
Overall, we had an extremely enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to stay there next year when we visit the Christmas markets for the third time.

  • Liked — The service and the decor
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — small standard double is all you need for a weekend break and is great value for Bath
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

We stayed in the County Hotel for 2 nights and were impressed with this hotel. The staff were attentive and friendly, especially the receptionist, the night porter and the bar staff. They were also extremely knowledgeable when asked about Bath and provided us with maps and dining guides.

We were charged £120 per night for a standard double, which I found to be in line with other hotel charges in Bath. We thought this to be reasonable, as the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel also provided problem-free parking, with a space for every room. This was very useful, as parking is often a problem when staying in a city centre hotel, and the usual solution is to park in a nearby car park (which can be pricey!).

The breakfast was good and offered a lot of choice. The lack of an evening dining facility isn't really a problem in Bath, as it offers so many great restaurants within very close walking distance.

I would go back & stay in this hotel.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

Bath. The County Hotel. An OK Hotel but overpriced.
Date 1st and 2nd September 2006
Reviewer. David & Barbara Melling. Wirral UK.

We have just arrived home after a weekend in Bath staying at the County Hotel. We chose this Hotel because of its rave reviews on the Hotels website. On arrival we found the Hotel to be in an ideal situation, yes it was a 10minute walk from the city centre and the veiws from the Hotel are superb. However the rave reveiws do not compare with the reality.

We had booked a £180 per night 4 poster room. The room was clean and it did have a spa bath. However the room was very small and lacking in character. The bathroom was very basically fitted out , you expect more for £180 per night. The Hotel does not offer a dining facility and the bar would appear to serve as the local pub and is in need of some TLC. The Hotel does offer a breakfast service and again we found it to be very dissapointing, cold cooked food and a poor continental breakfast buffet. Again you would expect more.

In summary this is an OK Hotel but somewhat overpriced. You do expect far more from a Hotel at £180 per night. The web site does not build a true picture of this hoel.

  • Liked — close to city
  • Disliked — very overpriced
  • Tips/Secrets — four poster rooms not what you would expect
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: 18-19 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The County Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.