We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food shame about one member of staff not working” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ASK Italian - Bath

ASK Italian - Bath
2 Royal York Hotel | Broad Street, Bath BA1 2EH, England
+44 1225 789997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Based in the Royal York Hotel in the centre of Bath, we've created a restaurant with a distinctive new look inspired by modern Italian design. And with the help of our expert friends, including awarding-winning chef Theo Randall, we've created a menu that features a range of simple, classic Italian food and an all Italian wine list.
South
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice food shame about one member of staff not working”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went for a celebration meal here. The food, wine and service was great. It was just a shame that a member of staff had to finish her shift and have a group of friends who dominated the space where we were seated. They had no consideration for anyone else and the member of staff on the table was the loudest and rudest of them all. Some tables around asked to be moved, we just are quickly and left. Sad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    63
    36
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have eaten at other Ask restaurants and the Bath venue did not disappoint.

The menu was varied, and the food we both had was extremely appetising and tasty with good portions.

Service was prompt and efficient, and the atmosphere quite pleasant.

Altogether an enjoyable evening and meal and would go back.

Worth a visit

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ask is always very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have dined at Ask in many restaurants in England and always enjoyed the good. Ask in Bath was very good. The waiter was very helpful and could not do enough for us. I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant in Bath to anyone who enjoys Italion food. The next time we are in Bath we will definitely dine at Ask

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Re: Birthday meal with my wife.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Disappointed that ASK still do not accept the Taste Card on a Saturday, but otherwise an excellent meal. Also best to get a table on a Saturday without a resevation around 5pm to avoid the early evening rush. Service is always a lot faster around 5pm and the staff are able to spend more time with you. Food was excellent, and this ASK is certainly the best ASK Italian outside of London.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't be afraid to ASK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I've eaten at a few ASKs around the country, but never gotten around to visiting the one in my own city until yesterday. I like the chain - plenty of choice on the menu, with frequent changes and imaginative specials. It tends to slightly outperform Pizza Express (which I also like by the way) in my opinion.

The food was a little more expensive than I remembered, but the food was great, so I couldn't complain. I chose the classic insalata caprese. A little too much rocket, but fresh and tasty and gorgeous. The arancini balls across the table were delicious too.

Mains of a lobster and prawn egg pasta dish and a flatbread with strips of rump steak were both equally beautiful and just a joy to look at, smell, and taste.

Weirdly, my orange and almond tart did not arrive warm as advertised, which was a little disappointing, but otherwise the guys in the kitchen and the frighteningly overworked front of house pair (our server was a particularly fun lady) coped admirably, and exceeded expectations.

Absolutely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK Italian - Bath also viewed

 
Bath, Somerset
 

Been to ASK Italian - Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASK Italian - Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.