We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good all round, a very nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Lord Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury SY2 6AX , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Swindon, Wilts.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very good all round, a very nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

Although I only stayed one night, having stayed in many UK hotels on business, I found the Lord Hill Hotel to be excellent value. From a pleasant greeting and banter with the fairly new receptionist on check-in, to an efficient check-out the following morning, I was impressed by the attentiveness and pleasaant demeanour of all the staff. We dined in the bar restaurant in the evening and found the quality and variety of food on the menu was excellent and served quickly and efficiently by the staff. My room was at the front of the hotel with a busy main road outside that I thought might be a problem, but the traffic soon died down later on.
The room was warm and spotlessly clean with all the facilities you would expect to find. The bathroom was also nice and clean and functional. The bed was comfortable and attractively presented with drapes over the top. Breakfast the next morning was in the Conservatory restaurant and once again, the staff were attentive and pleasant. A buffet breakfast was provided and you could also order a variety of cooked breakfasts, so I had a Full English which was hot and delivered quickly. I would definately return if ever I am in Shewsbury overnight as this must be one of their better hotels.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    65
    39
    28
    11
See reviews for
41
87
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Our family were accommodated in 4 consecutive rooms in the Lodge. There was only a double bed in the room (we were told it would be king sized), and there was no sofabed, so it was a tight fit for the two of us and our toddler. The Lodge is a strange brick complex at the very rear of the property backing right out onto a major road out of town. The rooms all face the road, while the hallway faces the tranquil car park. There was no way of turning off the heat in our room. We were told that we would have a private area in the bar that could accommodate the whole family for the evening meal (at 6.30). I think it was around 9pm when we were finally served our meal... the children had no room at all to move and they were all put on a separate table (all are aged 2-6). The food was standard, not worth £10.50 for a beef pie. However, my son's fish and chips looked gorgeous and home-made. Because there are 'sound barrier' doors all down the corridors, we were woken up at 4am by some people who let them slam behind them. All in all, I would say it would have been an ok evening in the hotel, if none of us had children, but it was not in any way a great stay. We barely got any sleep at all.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

A shrine to woodchip
Have stayed in more comfortable greenhouses - the room was boiling, despite open window all evening
No proper soap at handbasin, generic dispensers for handbasin and shower both empty
Bathroom very tired - peeling counters and rusty taps
Shower - pressure and volume appalling - took forever to rinse hair
TV on wall on bracket that does not move and not in eye line from bed
TV reception appalling - only has 5 terrestial channels and only 3 in focus
Hairdryer attached on cord through drawer - impossible to use if over 5ft 4 in height and wouldn't dry a feather

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Should have stayed at a holiday inn . I have never meet such incompitant management on all levels. Lack of English staff made ordering food very hard . Reception not helpfull at all . However after a terrible stay the food we received was excellent we thought we were in the wrong hotel that was until the middle aged gent in suit came stomping over hovering for our plates until then we had not seen him all night to attend to our drinks. So we got great food in a terrible hotel with shocking staff who are in contact with customers from manager to low class waiters and receptionists . Hats off to kitchen staff though.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

This hotel served us well enough for one night. The room was a reasonable size, well-furnished, though the bed was past its use-by date. We stayed in the lodge at the back of the main hotel, which looks somewhat like a student hostel, but was quiet enough. Heating was comfortable without being too warm.
An ancient hairdryer was available and the bathroom was somewhat tired, but adequate for the price. Less mobile visitors might wish to avoid this annex on account of the narrow corridor upstairs and very slippery bath.
One of the big pluses is that there is plenty of parking here and it's walking distance to town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Rooms are very cosy, mattress is quite cheap though. Location is good. But! They had an event on which as I write this, all I can hear is the base. At midnight! If an event is on you WON'T get any sleep. And they didn't mention this when booking. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Me and my Husband got married at The Lord Hill Hotel in September and we couldnt have asked for a better day! Nothing was too much hassel for any of the staff with the running of our day.
The Regency Suite (the room we had our wedding reception in) is a very spacious room and accommodated our guests per fectly. The whole decoration and set up of the room was amazing!
Our "Honeymoon Suite" was perfect for me and my bridesmaids to get ready in before hand and as said before nothing was too much hassel for the staff when i was getting myself stressed out!
This hotel has the most professional and friendly staff and every single one of them would do anything to help you and make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
The food was impecable and all my wedding guests commented on the very tasty hog roast and evening buffet.
All in all i would recommend The Lord Hill Hotel for any type of function or special get-a-way!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Hill Hotel

Address: Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury SY2 6AX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Lord Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Hill Shrewsbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.