We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, not so nice room!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Lord Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury SY2 6AX , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice location, not so nice room!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night for work. I booked due to pricing, location and reviews which unfortunately I can't agree with.

Upon arrival I checked in, was told that my room was located at the lodge facility at the back of the carpark. Receptionist was very cold and not welcoming, I had no conversation whatsoever.

The room was old decor, bathroom was unclean, TV kept freezing, and the radiator clicked all night!
Turn the radiator off due to the room being boiling!
Skirting, (boxed in piping), has been ripped up with nails poking out!

Only positive review I can give is that the room was relatively cheap and the hotel was easy to find, lots of car park spaces.

Would not recommend for holiday break or family. It is bearable for business trip!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    65
    39
    28
    11
See reviews for
41
87
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My mum booked for the family to have a family meal (10 ) having sunday lunch. The hotel was busy on arrival and we went and told them we where there. We bought drinks at the bar and sat and waited, eventually we were handed some menus and they came and took our order. 2 mins later the table was ready. The host was happy to watch as we struggled to carry drinks coats, bags kiddies bits and just stood and watched. I asked where we could hang our coats and he pointed to the rack! He then watched me hang 10 coats up! Anyway we got seated in the lovely conservatory. The round table was snug for 10 but the food was really very good, the waiting staff were good. Food was hot and plentiful.
We sat back in the lounge for coffee and the children where quickly told to not play, by a member of staff,even though the hotel at this point was nearer empty and they were also just walking round having a look!
Went and asked for the bill and settled up and left quickly.
So great food and very comfy, but they let themselves down with the hosting, friendliness and general finesse. I would recommend it for good food and value for money, but u wouldn't rush back to gain good customer service! However it is a 3 star not a 4 star!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights on a weekend break and decided to pay a little extra for the Wrekin Suite which we found extremely comfortable. The hotel is well maintained and wecoming and all staff made a real effort to meet our every need in a friendly way. The food both at breakfast and evenings in the bar was of a good quality. The abundant free on site parking made it easy for a trip out to the Ironbridge area (about 20 minutes drive and highly recommended) It was a little further walking distance to the town centre (15 -20 mins) than we expected but not a great problem or an unpleasant walk. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and we will certainly book again.

Room Tip: Book a suite if cost not too much more at the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in June. The hotel was really nice with the front end recently refurbished by the looks of. We stayed in the annex at the rear the room was ok looks as if they're starting to work on this area also. Staff were friendly and very helpful, breakfast was alright seemed to be different each morning different chefs I suppose. Nice wander into the town centre plenty of car parking spaces and the bar was was open for late nights drinks if required.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I only stayed one night in this hotel whilst travelling through the UK and I did not pre-book. On arrival I got a great large room for great value. The staff were friendly and the breakfast very good. They do have a restaurant but I ate out. In general a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed in a refurbished room in main hotel- very clean,comfortable bed and nice bathroom.Our main requirement however is a good nights sleep which was spoilt by noise from kitchen directly below our room which started around 5am. Delivery vehicles also arrived around 6 and could not get back to sleep. Breakfast was good,served at our table by attentive staff.Would be wary about staying on a Saturday night if not attending a wedding function here !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry england
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here in order to explore this wonderful part of England and were not disappointed .The room was spotless . Breakfasts had an excellent choice and the evening meals one in the bar and one in the restaurant were very good too. All the staff were at all times polite and helpful and generous with their local advice with nothing too much trouble for them a lovely relaxing 2 night break which helped to enhance our enjoyment of this absolute gem of a town. We also visited Chester which is only 1 hour away by car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Hill Hotel

Address: Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury SY2 6AX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Lord Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Hill Shrewsbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.