We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albright Hussey Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albright Hussey Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ellesmere A 528 | Broadoak, Shrewsbury SY4 3AF , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Lee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a little gem !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed at the Hussey Manor Hotel for one night, wish it could have been more. The room & bathroom was extremity well decorated and good sized. Lovely comfortable bed and pretty views. Stayed for evening meal, which was very good. Perfect for a quiet short break (couples etc).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    51
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
31
89
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
199 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
365 helpful votes 365 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This must once have a been the most beautiful manor house! The old building is stunning outside and the garden and moat are absolutely charming. I loved the swans and pottering around on the lawn. However, it's a shame that they are building a recycling works a couple of fields away. This and the pylons do spoil an otherwise lovely countryside view.

Generally, I was otherwise disappointed.

The hideous 1990's room block looks terrible and as others have said, it's deeply disappointing. The room decor is bizarre. The rooms are small and the bathrooms badly appointed but the whole hotel looks like a low end bric-a-brac shop with too much stock. There is stuff everywhere! The pub carpets are foul and the windowless bar and lounge is claustrophobic and appallingly decorated.

Dinner was adequate. It was basic pub grub with re-heated veg and overdone, processed beef and the restaurant stuffy and airless. Thank goodness there was an extensive wine list! Breakfast was adequate. There is no gym or spa.

On a plus point, the wifi is good and the staff friendly - if a little overbearing.

I get the feeling that this hotel suits older, traditional and less experienced travellers best. I don't recommend it and wouldn't return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Took a while to find it as my sat nav didn’t like the location. Upon leaving the road and following the lane down to the building you’re greeted by a wonderful old English building, which upon leaving the car and walking up to the reception area is even better with the garden and water area with bird life.
The building is split into two the historic and modern I stayed in both.
The modern is decorated well and had good views over the abundant farm land which was great as they were preparing the ground. The bed was comfortable and amenities such as bath/shower etc as expected. The room in the old building was very atmospheric, wood beams, lead windows, four poster`, furniture etc. The bath room was great very floral. The view was over the garden and water feature . Bar was small but fits in well with the building and restaurant well decorated with two main areas and smaller alcoves. Evening meals were good Calves liver, steaks etc (though would have liked a steak knife) Cheese board wonderful and a good selection of red wines
There is a very enthusiastic manager who really helps make the place along with the other very attentive staff.
The walk from the hotel to the nearby church and battle grounds was really relaxing and if you push a little further on there’s a coffee shop and farm shop with livestock all worth a look.
The whole old place ouses old country England in the times around the Tudors.

Room Tip: Just for the feel of the place stay in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I booked to stay in this hotel because I wanted a special hotel preferably with historic content, lovely peaceful surroundings, tasteful and with a fantastic restaurant with good service and friendly professional staff. I was not disappointed, from the beautiful exterior, gardens and moat with the black swans to the classically opulent decor and sitting rooms ( a lovely bar to sit and have a drink). Our room was no 12 and overlooked the entrance to the building . It was a good size room with a large bathroom (the toilet was a bit old and the bottom of the bath a bit worn, but it was very clean and did not bother me ) the bed was very comfortable and we had a very peaceful sleep. The views from the window were nice.. The food was of a very high standard. Malcolm the manager and his staff are a credit to this tasteful hotel. For very special occasions the suites are a must as I had a peek at one of them. We stayed in March but would like to return in summer time as it would be lovely to sit in the gardens and have a drink after dinner. If you have class and taste stay here, if you do not stay at the Travelodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I could not fault the wondrous setting of this beautiful period building on the northern outskirts of Shrewsbury. Romantic, dreamy, and delightful. The dining and reception rooms are truly gorgeous, and everything is beautifully presented. The staff are friendly and warm.

Howevever, after being promised fantastic views of the Shropshire countryside (which are there, I assure you!) I was allocated Room 25 which is at the end of what feels like an annexe, although I'm assured it is very much part of the hotel. The room was very nice, would have been a bit tight for two, but the point is that from the window the view was over the car park. Cars were parked within inches of my only window and the countryside was pretty much obscured. The walls were the constituency of cardboard and I could hear everything from the room next door, in fact was awakened at 6.30am by loud sounds from the bathroom ..... which were not pleasant.
I was assured that there were 'truly lovely' rooms elsewhere in this 'annexe', as I was checking out, which didn't make up for my lack of sleep due to the noises from the adjoining room. Plus horrible lumpy pillows. It really felt as though I were in a cheap boarding house.
This was a shame as the evening had been delightful, lovely restaurant, good food, and excellent service. Unfortunately I discovered that my glasses of Sauvignon Blanc were charged at £10.50 each. Outrageous! Being told prices were displayed on the wine list was not good enough. Residents do not sign for drinks and I suggest that when you go to the bar and ask for a glass of white wine you ask to be advised of the exceedingly high prices and few choices. Shame. I do hate to be exploited.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main hotel on an upper floor. The walls should be thicker and the view pretti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibworth Harcourt, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

On arrival to this hotel the reception girl was very polite and helpful,the room was spotless and well decorated. The restaurant was excellent the food was so tasty and all the waiters were very good at there job. Then the trouble started we were woken up at 3.15 am by the sound of a water cistern constantly filling up from the room next door.this totally spoilt our night.breakfast was buffet style which was ok. We would have got a better nights sleep at the travelodge down the rd at a lot cheaper price!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Albrighton Hussey Manor Hotel is a beautiful old building set in gorgeous gardens, definitely worthy of a special occasion. We had a standard room for which we paid £95 a night, a fair amount for this part of the country. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was fantastic, and the added extras (free mineral water, home-made biscuits) were the icing on the cake. The restaurant was pricy, but we were not disappointed; the wine selection and cheese board alone are worth going for! Breakfast was equally well-received.
The only concern we had was the slightly over-bearing hotel management. The front of house and restaurant staff were all delightful, however:
There were several stern notices in full view of the paying customer saying things like "DON'T serve drinks until you've added them to the bill, I will be checking!"
We politely requested a late check out, to which the receptionist was extremely apologetic, explaining that she would have to charge us extra if we wanted to keep the room for an extra hour. Never before have we stayed in a place who would not offer you complimentary late check-out if the room was free! Sadly, this seems to indicate that the management prioritise making money over great customer service.
This minor issue slightly soured an otherwise lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albright Hussey Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albright Hussey Manor Hotel

Address: Ellesmere A 528 | Broadoak, Shrewsbury SY4 3AF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albright Hussey Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive over the bridge spanning the original Tudor moat, up to the doors of our family owned and managed Albright Hussey Manor Hotel where you will receive a very warm welcome. Set in over four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, our grade 2 listed, classic country house is one of only two hotels in Shrewsbury to be awarded four AA stars. Dating back to circa 1524, the hotel encompasses a wealth of history whilst offering the highest standards of comfort, cuisine and service. Our 26 superbly appointed bedrooms are all individually designed and our Moat Room Restaurant has an enviable reputation for some of the finest dining in Shropshire.Our aim is to ensure your visit to the beautiful county of Shropshire is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albright Hussey Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albright Hussey Manor Shrewsbury
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel Shrewsbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albright Hussey Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.