We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hole in the Wall

Hole in the Wall
1 Shoplatch, Shrewsbury, SY1 1HF, Shrewsbury, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 260 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A proper local pub in Shrewsbury, where you'll find great value food and drink, regular entertainment and a friendly atmosphere.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and i visited this pub just to get out of the cold at probabley one of its busiest times of the day. We went for a coffee but when we saw the meals come out we decided to stop for lunch and we are so glad we did the service was fast and friendly and the food was excellent, washed down with a couple of pints. Well worth a visit great atmospher, we are taking our friends there this weekend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This pub looks lovely on the photos on here! It's not I'm afraid. It was good about 10 years ago, for evening drinks and a dance but its lost it now. Food is not good, microwaved rubbish. All I see when I walk passed here (often as I live in town) are the staff outside the pub smoking (which is unprofessional, doesn't look good and do they all wash their hands...?! I actually watched one female staff member go straight back behind the bar and continue her bar work! Yuck! Toilets are always unkept too! Shame, could do so much better.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A little gem in the heart of Shrewsbury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is very rare you find a pub that serves decent food, has a homely atmosphere and offers value for money. From grills to breakfasts. Mojitos to lattes, The Hole In The Wall has it covered. I have found the staff polite and attentive. Nothing is too much trouble. I would recommend to family and friends. Quality pub steeped with history. Would visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Not A Good Pub...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This pub has been in Shrewsbury for many years and has seen its fair share of changes. Unfortunately these days its not so good, and the food they serve is cheap and nasty. 99% of it is pinged in the microwave and all of the draught products are kegged which means you are restricted to chemicals in your pint...
This is really a venue pub for the evenings during the weekends and not a place I would recommend anyone to even consider attending to be honest.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Breakfast heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Got off the bus in market square and not being from shrewsbury didn't know where to grab breakfast before heading to shrewsbury beer festival.
My brother-in-law spotted this lovely old pub offering food.
No wider than my lounge it was like a tardis inside huge isn't the word.
Both of us went straight for the big breakfast and when it arrived we were not disappointed.
Hot with spicey sausage hash browns two eggs bacon black pudding you name it, it was on the plate all washed down with coffee.
We were happy lads.
Would go again if in the area only downside to the pub don't think toilets had been cleaned since the night before

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hole in the Wall also viewed

 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Hole in the Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hole in the Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.