We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Post Office

The Old Post Office
1 Milk Street, Shrewsbury, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 258 restaurants in Shrewsbury
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

What a wonderful place, after a weekend away we decided to stop in Shrewsbury for a meal. From the moment we walked in until we left we had a lovely time. Nothing was to much trouble and we would like to say a big 'THANK YOU' to Sean the barman for his wonderful hospitality (although no blackberry charger !!!). There was eight of us in total eating, we all chose the roast of the day and vegetarian menu where the food was served with 100% attention to detail. If you fancy a goodnight or daytime meal visit The Old Post Office as you will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    20
    22
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

good service with a smile enjoyed a good pint. Staff friendly and we liked the old world atmosphere

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good, honest pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

We visited on a quiet Thursday afternoon to be met by a very pleasant, helpful barmaid who carried our drinks to the table for us as we had luggage to carry. My husband had the steak and ale pie and i had the roast of the day (turkey) both dishes were delicious, home made and excellent value for money

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

Visited the opo on a Thursday afternoon to be met with a very cheerfull and very pretty barmaid, food is really tasty and fresh,prices are very reasonable. All in all nice bar,food and staff.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

A welcome break on a cold day's Christmas shopping. Two main meals for £10 was good value and the range of beers heartening. While post people seemed to prefer to eat in the restaurant section, I found the bar area had more atmosphere and the only complaint would be the shortage of tables for two (a couple doesn't always want to underoccupy a large table). We'll be back in the Spring!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Post Office also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The Old Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Post Office, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.