We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time - but won't be the last.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number Four

Number Four
4 Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UW, England
01743 366691
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 289 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ironbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“First time - but won't be the last.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Popped in here while shopping in town - it was busy, but we were seated and served really quickly. Staff were friendly and seemed very happy to be working there, which is always a bonus.

The food was excellent, with generous portions and great presentation.

Definitely worth a visit for a quick lunch or a longer stay.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    64
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Friendly staff in a lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Decided to go New Years Eve and arrived around midday. We were seated promptly next to the window, which was little chilly at this time of the year to begin with so perhaps ask to go deeper into the restaurant or upstairs.
We were given our menus and the choice was huge, i really struggled to choose what i wanted because they all sounded lovely. Eventually i choose the Grilled Salmon which was lovely.
The food was excellent and we couldn't fault anything.
We decided to have a pudding too, i had sticky toffee pudding which was really nice!!
The bill came to around £40 which we thought wasn't to much for two course each and a bottle of wine.

Will definitely go back....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manciet, france
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch made the sales bearable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Terrific atmosphere, warm welcome, freshly prepared food that had a lovely taste and very friendly and efficient staff - Will be going again and envy all those that live close by.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Up market lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had lunch here recently after a friend recommended it. We didn't have to book and got a nice table in the window. Food was excellent quality and the atmosphere was relaxed in an up market sort of way! Staff were friendly and efficient. Could not fault the food and prices were very competitive. Will definitely go back. Would love to try the evening menu. A great place to impress visiting friends!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Keeps you coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Have eaten here lots of times. Booking is essential whether visiting in the daytime or the evening (only open Fridays other than at Christmas). Food is always top notch and the service is friendly and relaxed. Have recommended it to all of our friends and taken lots along with us. Best food and best value in Shrewsbury.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number Four also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Number Four? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number Four, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.