We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caters for vegans!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirage Mezze at Shrewsbury Market Hall

Mirage Mezze at Shrewsbury Market Hall
Claremont Street/Shoplatch | Units 27/28, Shrewsbury Market Hall, Shrewsbury, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 258 restaurants in Shrewsbury
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Recently opened January 2011 and located in the busy Market Hall in Shrewsbury, one of several cafe/restaurants in this building, serving traditional Mediterranean and African mezze
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Caters for vegans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We dropped by this lunchtime to sample some of the vegan delights that were on offer as recommended by Mamapie (opposite who also provide delicious vegan cakes). We ordered aubergine dip with pomegranate and flat bread for starters, followed by vegan moussaka and rice. Really enjoyed it. Tasty, healthy and good value for money. The staff were very pleasant and the closeness and coziness of the stalls surrounding this eatery made for a very friendly atmosphere. We will definitely visit again. Always reassuring to know that food establishments are making an effort to cater for the needs of vegans as well as vegetarians alike :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    51
    13
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“mezze in Shrewsbury market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Mirage mezze buzzes in the atmosphere of a lively market setting, complimented by the excellent quality and variety of the stalls around it. its romantic Middle eastern decor gives added zest to the lovely food. We shared a mezze platter served with warm flatbread: perfect!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely relaxed lunch here today, a selection of vine leaves, spinach pastries, vegetable moussaka with delicious pilaf, all washed down with the best tea in town from gorgeous tea pots. Very nice, great value, warm, friendly service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always fab, don't be put off by the low prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A really lovely cafe that occupies a corner of Shrewsbury market hall. Run by a family who take pride and care in their food, which is always excellent and very different to the food you'll find elsewhere. The wraps are excellent and the rice is the best! Service is slow but always with a smile.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little family-run place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A hidden gem! We stumbled across this place in the market. I'd actually arranged to meet for my mum's birthday lunch elsewhere but we changed plans when we found this place serving middle eastern food. Great atmosphere, great food, great value, smiles and great service. I will definitely be back especially with my 3 vegan daughters who often find it hard to find places to eat out. There seemed much on the menu for them as well as your average meat eater.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirage Mezze at Shrewsbury Market Hall also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Mirage Mezze at Shrewsbury Market Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirage Mezze at Shrewsbury Market Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.