We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of history imaginatively presented” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Attingham Park

Attingham Park
Shrewsbury SY4 4TP , England
01743 708162
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 30 Attractions in Shrewsbury
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century home contains one of the most complete surviving collections of Regency style.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lots of history imaginatively presented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am a regular visitor to Attingham Park. The house is really imaginatively presented. There's always lots of different events on. It's great for kids. The cafes are good (service is slow at weekends) The walks are lovely. Can't recommend it enough.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    161
    25
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire England great britain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“snowdrops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A lovely sunny sunday half term week ,cold but worth the visit !! an abbundance of snowdrops ,the house was closed due to repair work ,threre were cars queuing to get on car park but it was all organized ,so we didnt have to waight long ,sugest sturdy shoes ,as ground was muddy in places ,
need a dry day to visit ,snowdrops will not be at there best now ,still worth avisit when house opened again

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant insight into history and the National Trust”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Used our year pass to visit Attingham Hall booked two interesting tours that they run. Interesting refurbishment tour of the glass roof above the picture gallery and also 'spit & polish' how they look after the items and hall. Karilyn was excellent and very knowledgeable. Will go back again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best day out in a long time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Fabulous visit. Best of all was the Victorian walled gardens that are being beautifully restored. We had access to every part of it, including the heated greenhouses. The staff were delightful and willing to explain what they were doing. We even sat beside a lovely log burning stove in a bothy done out in Edwardian style and were able to read gardening books to our hearts' content. Also went on a snowdrop walk, which was beautiful.

Only one downside. It was heaving with people and we couldn't get anything to eat unless we were willing to queue up for ages. Avoid lunch times, if you are hungry and don't like waiting!
Having said that, it was one of the best NT trips we have ever had. The grounds and the house are so extensive that we didn't have time to see a lof of the place. We most definitely will want to go back again in the future.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely walk - dog was exhausted!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Was a bit worried as saw number cars queuing to get on the car park - yet the grounds are big enough to get lost in and find a quite area - our dog had a great time running around.
We went to the cafe for tea, jacket potatoes and cake.

It was freezing - I do understand that dogs are not allowed in the cafe, but it would be great if there was an dog friendly area or somewhere you could get a takeaway coffee - the food was good - but it had only been outside a few moments and it was cold.

As a National Trust member I will be returning - as with other local National Trust parks - a dog friendly cafe or takeaway tea would be appreciated.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Attingham Park also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Attingham Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Attingham Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.