We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WELL WORTH A VISIT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantina Cafe

Cantina Cafe
2 Golden Cross Passage, Shrewsbury, England
01743 344929
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 258 restaurants in Shrewsbury
Price range: $19 - $29
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“WELL WORTH A VISIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Unpretentious, good food made up from good ingredients cooked simply which does not detract from the food. Good service and a very relaxing and happy atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    70
    21
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic! !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I am a regular customer at the pantry for lunch and I love the daily specials...by far the cheapest quality lunch in town! I have always been aware that it transforms into a tex-mex restaurant at night but I haven't eaten there before. I decided to give it a go on friday night and it exceeded all of my expectations! To start with, I have to point out that the service was exceptional and the cocktails were perfect! I love cocktails and its rare to have such attention to detail...by far the best cocktails in the town and I think the best ive had outside of London! To eat I had the pulled pork....it was food heaven and although the portions were very generous, I had to eat it all! I was very impressed and they have definately got it right on every aspect. I will definitely be returning and its now my lunchtime hideout for yummy food as well as my go to restaurant at night!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hunger busting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Had been looking at the menu for a while, finally got the chance to experience for myself, doubled up on a pulled pork sandwich, was warned it was a lot....and wasn't disappointed...! Service was friendly, my daughters steak and prawn fajita was great! Must come back for a cocktail and more of the marvellous food on offer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pulled pork heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a cracking meal here.
We sat on the bar stools where the food is cooked and watched our meal been prepared in front of us whilst talking to the 2 guys in the kitchen. The biggest burgers I have ever seen freshly made in front of us and a pulled pork bap that would feed a family of four.
Will definitely be eating here again.
Great food great service and really friendly staff

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“first time eating mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

first time i had actually eaten in a mexican restaurant couldn't say how authentic it was but the food was fabulous, i took the chilli sauce challenge and won!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Cafe also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Cantina Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantina Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.