We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely the best food, service and setting in Shrewsbury?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lion + Pheasant

Lion + Pheasant
50 Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1XJ, England
01743770345
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lion + Pheasant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 260 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
shropshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Surely the best food, service and setting in Shrewsbury?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Food: 10/10 If a Michelin inspector ever discovers that Ludlow isn't the the only town in Shropshire to serve food, I'm certain that they would award one to the lion and pheasant. I loved the fact that the menu was very much based around fine cuts of meat, it was truly faultless and far, far better than the surrounding restaurants I've eaten at in town.

Service: the service was wonderful, again 10/10. No one gets it right all the time as I asked for a bit of time between my starter and main to finish our wine, finished starter and the main was out 5 minutes later. I explained this to Terri, our waitress, (not only very professional but lovely from start to finish) and she not only apologised, but explained why and offered us a complimentary cocktail. A good place becomes an excellent place not by getting erything right all the time but understanding how to put things right that go wrong. The manager (his name escapes me) was great also, very attentive and friendly and I took him up on his suggestion for the starter, something I don't regret!

Atmosphere: lovely atmosphere, romantic, not pretentious, not stuffy. Asked to be moved from a table that felt a bit draughty, again, tis was no issue at all.

Value: a round of drinks, two large glasses and two medium glasses of wine, starters, mains, dessert, side dishes, dessert wine and two cocktails for £108. Bear in mind this food was excellent.

Overall a 10/10 night, the staff were fantastic, the food was faultless and I was more than happy to pay the bill I was presented with. My only regret is that I didn't have any cash on me to tip, apologies guys. I will definitely be coming back for my next special occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    57
    26
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Almost perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great atmosphere, great food, came here on an anniversary dinner and was not disapointed. Food was quality, slightly let down by staff who didn't seem confident and seemed stressed (even though it was not busy) Would very much recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent food, helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely Easter lunch at this restaurant, the food was simply delicious, prices reasonable and all members of staff extremely polite and helpful. Our main course was chargrilled ribeye steak with Cafe de Paris butter, which was one of the nicest steaks I've had in a long time. Reasonably priced at £16. For pudding we enjoyed orange cake with cream, the presentation rivalled Michelin star restaurants and was very tasty too! Good choices of wine and lovely decor makes it for one of the best restaurants in town

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were a party of 8 friends, last friday, place was really busy, the restaurant is very modern and really nice, service is ok and my food was absolutely Gorgeous, I had a seafood and fish stew, fantastic. The rest of people of the party had very good food too but if you go there and you like fish and seafood order this stew. You will be surprised. Def I will recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Won't come back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Decor is nice, but service was too slow (we were the only people at the bar) and the atmosphere is lacking something (je ne sais quoi). We won't be back, but it might be better if you're eating or if it was busier

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireLad50, General Manager at Lion + Pheasant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
On the evening/weekend this review describes, most of England and Wales received some of the highest snow fall in March in living memory.
We had indeed had many cancellations as our customers decided against risking the heavy snow when travelling. Some were due stay and others from just 20 miles away. We did however manage to do 70% of our normal covers for a saturday.
So that said, I am sorry for the wait at the bar, and I am afraid that all our customers had gone up to dinner (1st floor restaurant) and there was little trade from customers walking in off the freezing cold streets to create the usual atmosphere in the bar.
I hope this makes more sense of this brief review, which as I see it is of little help to any would be customer.
We will continue to try our hardest to offer great food, comfortable hotel rooms and good service.
Regards
L+P team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion + Pheasant also viewed

 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Lion + Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion + Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.