We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great birthday treat for my mum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Rupert Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Prince Rupert Hotel to your Saves list
Prince Rupert Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great birthday treat for my mum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I took my mother to this "quaint" hotel for a surprise stay for her 84th birthday, and chose a suite as an extra treat, and she loved it! Although the furniture is a little "worn" in places it adds to the character of the place - if you want a trendy, "clinical", modern hotel then book one (& I'll bet you find one or two "niggles" in all of those too!) Yes it's a bit of a rambling place, but remember its age, and beware that the lift can't reach all the floors - again an age of the building thing, but it might be important if you have mobility problems. However, I guess if you warn the hotel at the time of booking they will help you choose the right room to meet your needs.

Breakfast, and the evening meal we had in Chambers were excellent and the staff throughout were wonderful - they treated mum as if she were the Queen! They checked she would be able to cope with the stairs to our suite and did everything they could to make her birthday a special one.

All in all, we were both delighted with my choice of this hotel and I'm now hoping someone might decide to take me back for my birthday!!

Room Tip: See comments above about the lift not reaching all parts of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    205
    114
    61
    30
See reviews for
64
303
25
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed, with 3 children, a couple of nights in one of the family rooms. An extra bed was supplied so all 5 of us could fit in one room together - appreciated.

Absolutely exhausted by the final approach. After a long journey (including sat nav) a few extra signs to convince the driver you really are going to find the hotel if you drive up what appears to be a cobbled footpath and then leave your car blocking the way while you unload etc etc, would be reassuring. Some advance warning to drivers e.g. on the website would also be kind.

The staff were all really great - all very helpful and some great characters as well. Check in was fine, car was parked for me no problem. Very polite and efficient breakfast service. I have the feeling it's the loyal staff that keep this show on the road.....

The room was a bit of a surprise in terms of cramped-ness, quality of decor, only 2 cups and saucers etc for a family of 5, a kettle that was 2 years past its PAT test date (and took as long to boil). However, all this was made up for by the value for money (around £30/person per night including breakfast). The major concern above all was that the bedroom window could not be secured and led straight onto a flat roof and fire escape. So all valuable had to be carried around.

Wifi was not included in the room rate - this always leaves me feeling a little extorted.

Breakfast was excellent - a cold buffet with choices of various cooked breakfast - really good and again lovely efficient staff.

Over all a good experience. Very interesting old place and a good base from which to explore.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room - and check that the window catches shut and can be secured! Also, unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We booked the Prince Rupert for their closeness to the town centre which was very good - we stayed in the Prince Rupert Suite which was their top priced room.
We arrived around 5:30pm - given the location o the hotel parking was away from the hotel and a valet was there to park your car - I decided along with another guest to park our own cars so we followed the valet to the car park - due to the valet being the same guy who showed you to your rooms my wife had to sit and wait in the reception for our return which from our arrival was around 20-30 mins.
Finding your room again was very difficult - it is a very confusing hotel and rooms not well signposted - my wife got lost on more than one occassion.
The room (suite) given it was top wack was very average - I used the phone to call the housmaid to ask for an iron and wine glasses (which i though should have been standard) however after trying on several occassions to get through there was no answer - i decided to walk down to reception to ask for them there - anyway half way there I met the valet/porter - generally everything - and asked him for the items - which he brought within 20 mins.
For a top priced room I would have expected an iron, wine glasses as standard - maybe a fridge - the bathroom was ok - the sink was a bit unusual as the mirror was actually behind you which again was a little confusing - the bath had the chain missing from the plug which I know may be a little picky however if I was running a top hotel I would pay attention to detail - surely when the rooms are cleaned this should be picked up reported and fixed.
Breakfast was average - didn't like the sausage and i noticed other guests waiting for food - we had to ask for milk for our tea because the waitress forgot it - he hotel seemed from start to finish to have little staff.
Nice location was ok for one night wouldnt go back again - not worth top money.

Room Tip: Find another hotel as this was ok but well overpriced for what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night and that was enough. I appreciate this is a very old building but it does not excuse the dank musty smell and damp patches in the corner of ceilings. We had an 'enhanced' bathroom which was ok, but the room itself was in need of updating.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

A nice old hotel in a great central location. The rooms are what you would expect in such a historic building so I would not be too critical about modernisation etc. The breakfast was good the bar was nice and the service was good. Although it is hidden away on a narrow road the staff will take your car away for you and park it at the Bull Hotel a couple of minutes away. Make sure that you give reception early warning if you need to use your car as it has to be fetched from the parking site! If you are looking for a nice restaurant - The Peach Tree (on the left just over the bridge to the East) will not disappoint - good food at reasonable prices!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

staff very rude, room smelt horrible, the breakfast was cold and the breakfast staff was really bad. the hotel is old and the rooms in the photo's are not the rooms they give you!! vile hotel! please consider other hotels you can do so much better!! i would never stay again!!

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times, but not recently. The first room we were offered, a Mansion House Suite, was not acceptable. The low beams made the room dangerous in the dark, and the lighting in the bathroom was so poor I couldn't see to take a shower. However, a request to Reception soon transferred us to another room, with a four poster bed. Well, it was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, and I slept appallingly. Breakfast was disappointing, with tinned mandarin orange segments and tinned grapefruit - shocking! The room was so disappointing we checked out a day early, exhausted. This hotel used to be lovely, but has definitely seen better days, it really needs a full refurbishment. However, on a positive note, the staff are lovely and very helpful - give them a hotel to be proud of!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Rupert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Rupert Hotel

Address: Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Rupert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic grade II listed Prince Rupert Hotel is situated in the very heart of medieval Shrewsbury and just a short stroll from the individual shops and many tourist attractions. Surrounded by narrow cobblestone streets and black and white timbered buildings it provides the perfect base to explore beautiful Shrewsbury. A warm and friendly welcome is always provided to all guests with a glass of sherry on arrival. With the heritage of the hotel dating back to the 12th and 15th century, character and charm abound with sloping floors, exposed Tudor beams and a restored Jacobean staircase. Privately owned for many years by Michael & Diane Matthews, the hotel offers a great choice of dining all with a focus on fresh local produce. The Royalist is ideal for a special occasion with an a la carte menu together with a superb wine list. Chambers brasserie is renowned for its traditional British menu at sensible prices and located at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens of St. Alkmunds square, Camellias Tea Rooms offers an extensive menu selection including traditional afternoon tea served on a three tier cake stand. A charming place to relax to the sound of a grand piano. FREE valet parking is provided to the hotel's private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Prince Rupert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Hotel Prince Rupert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Rupert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.