We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, fantastic value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Rupert Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Prince Rupert Hotel to your Saves list
Prince Rupert Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Selby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb location, fantastic value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Only stayed one night in twin room with a colleague. Rm 203. Fabulous service, valet parking from front door of hotel and great breakfast all included in price. Entire building has great character, room had wonderful old beam in it although the character cobwebs could have been swept away!

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    220
    124
    66
    32
See reviews for
70
326
28
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Caerwys, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A very nice hotel in the centre of town.From the moment we arrived to the time we left nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly and helpfull staff,our room was clean and tidy and the cooked breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.It was about 20 years since i was last in shrewsbury and after service like this i wont be leaving it quite so long for my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We decided to stay here as it was very central to go out and about and for the station, as we arrived by train! The rooms were very clean and the staff friendly, we were a group of 6 in 3 twins and as girls 'do' viewed all the rooms to see who had the best! None of us were disappointed and enjoyed the very varied breakfasts. Through out our first day we dropped our shopping off at reception and it was no trouble what so ever for the staff, they were only too pleased to have been of assistance. None of my friends had been to Shrewsbury before and all said they would revisit and definitely use The Prince Rupert again.

Room Tip: Try and stay away from the front as the bin men arrive early!!! However, this is not a complaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager & Director at Prince Rupert Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Great to see that these guests thoroughly enjoyed their group break away at The Prince Rupert and I am thrilled that they would stay again for future visits to Shrewsbury. I would like to thank them for taking the time to post this lovely review of the hotel and look forward to hopefully welcoming them back soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Good hotel in fabulous location,right in the centre of Shrewsbury but in a quiet backwater. The bathroom,bathrobes and jacuzzi bath got top marks from my wife but the 4 poster bed is overrated,too high and too narrow even for a slender man such as myself!
Good breakfast and friendly staff made for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: King James suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager & Director at Prince Rupert Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I am very happy that these guests enjoyed a pleasant stay with us at the hotel and enjoyed the King James I Suite, which was reputedly the private residence of Prince Rupert himself during his time in Shrewsbury.

With regards to this guest's feedback about the 4-poster bed in the suite, as one can imagine it is an antique in itself and therefore befits the historic character of the room. Also at 4"6' wide and 6"3' in length it meets the specifications laid out by the AA for the hotel. Despite this minor point, I am pleased to read that the team offered a friendly service and that our breakfast selection was thoroughly enjoyed. We very much look forward to hopefully welcoming these guests back to The Prince Rupert in the not too distant future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A fabulous hotel in the heart of town. The staff are great, polite and very helpful. We stayed in the Enhanced Room which was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was bright and modern having recently been refurbished. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of food.
The Prince Rupert is a fabulous hotel and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Peter
Redditch, Worcs

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager & Director at Prince Rupert Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
It is brilliant to read that this guest thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us at The Prince Rupert Hotel. It is particularly positive to learn that they liked their recently upgraded bathroom and also enjoyed our breakfast selection - we are all certainly looking forward to welcoming them back to the hotel in the not too distant future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Having enjoyed my stay so much last time I was only too happy to visit the area again on business. On arrival I received a warm welcome from staff and another room upgrade - The Prince Philip Suite; courtesy of Camilla who was extremely helpful and remembered me from my previous stay. Once again I found the room possessed an excellent balance of period features and modern amenities.

Having tried the Royalist last time I decided to give the other in house restaurant Chambers a go. The food was fantastic and lived up to my expectations, once again excellent prices and good portion sizes makes it hard to beat for quality and value for money - I can definitely recommend the steak . The menu itself looked great and I only wish I had the time to have tried a few more of the meals...

All in all another lovely stay at the Prince Rupert; a beautiful hotel with gorgeous period features, brilliant restaurants, and extremely helpful and polite staff - especially Camilla for organising the room upgrade and acting as a local tourist information centre!

Room Tip: Anything you need just ask, the staff there are willing to bend over backwards for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager & Director at Prince Rupert Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
I am thrilled that this guest had a memorable stay with us at The Prince Rupert Hotel and I would like to thank them for their lovely comments. The Prince Philip Suite is indeed one of Shrewsbury's treasures and even featured recently on Michaela Strachan's "Great British Ghosts" television series whilst visiting Shrewsbury.

Above all I am delighted that the team went above and beyond to make this a most enjoyable visit - Justin, our Head Chef, and his team are especially grateful for the superb feedback about the cuisine.

We all look forward to welcoming this guest back to the hotel soon for their third stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Returning to Shrewsbury 40 years after being married there, the team at the Prince Rupert made it a weekend to remember. Perfectly located in the heart of the town this hotel is an ideal base to explore Shrewsbury. The staff are really helpful, and could not do enough for us, the room excellent as was the breakfast. The happy anniversary card in the room when we arrive was a really nice touch and much appreciated. Could I also recommend Chambers Bistro (attached to the hotel). We had a Sunday lunch party for six and the food was just great. I had some delighted family guests.
Well done Prince Rupert we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager & Director at Prince Rupert Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We were truly honoured to have this couple return to us to celebrate their ruby wedding anniversary having been married at The Prince Rupert 40 years prior!

May I take this opportunity to thank them for taking the time to post this lovely review on Trip Advisor - the team here do use the website for feedback, so they will all be delighted to read these positive comments.

We very much hope these guests return to the hotel in the future, even perhaps to celebrate their golden anniversary...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Rupert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Rupert Hotel

Address: Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Rupert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic grade II listed Prince Rupert Hotel is situated in the very heart of medieval Shrewsbury and just a short stroll from the individual shops and many tourist attractions. Surrounded by narrow cobblestone streets and black and white timbered buildings it provides the perfect base to explore beautiful Shrewsbury. A warm and friendly welcome is always provided to all guests with a glass of sherry on arrival. With the heritage of the hotel dating back to the 12th and 15th century, character and charm abound with sloping floors, exposed Tudor beams and a restored Jacobean staircase. Privately owned for many years by Michael & Diane Matthews, the hotel offers a great choice of dining all with a focus on fresh local produce. The Royalist is ideal for a special occasion with an a la carte menu together with a superb wine list. Chambers brasserie is renowned for its traditional British menu at sensible prices and located at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens of St. Alkmunds square, Camellias Tea Rooms offers an extensive menu selection including traditional afternoon tea served on a three tier cake stand. A charming place to relax to the sound of a grand piano. FREE valet parking is provided to the hotel's private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Prince Rupert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Hotel Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Hotel Prince Rupert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Rupert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.