We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome after a scenic tour!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Rupert Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Prince Rupert Hotel to your Saves list
Prince Rupert Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Slough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Warm welcome after a scenic tour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lovely welcome on arrival but being in the heart of the old part of the town was a little tricky to locate. Really friendly staff and rooms are perfectly adequate. It is a little tired but very clean and full of character. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order which is a nice touch. Would certainly stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    205
    114
    61
    30
See reviews for
64
304
25
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night. But we will definitely return. The hotel is very old but in a great location. As it was my birthday, we were given a suite and they even left a birthday card for me. Such a lovely, personal touch. The room was at the top of the hotel, a fair walk up lots of steps and as I have no sense of direction, got lost trying to find our way downstairs but that just added to the charm. The staff were all lovely, fantastic service. We had a meal at the hotel restaurant, again we could not fault it if we tried. We will definitely go back fora longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night and had a very positive experience.The staff were all delightful and the evening meal was just FABULOUS.The food was really tasty, beautifully served and I felt very welcomed by the lovely staff. Highly recommend the haddock for breakfast, delicious.Yes the rooms on the third floor were hot but lets not complain about the lovely weather at the moment most of the time it,s freezing.I would certainly return here, a great venue to explore the lovely town of Shrewsbury

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nice Hotel but parking to check in is a real problem. Rooms ok as had a single, went with a golfing party and stayed two nights. The food was not the best I have had. We where moved on the Saturday night to the pub which is part of the hotel for dinner, the service was slow and the food poor. Would go again with the lads but not with the wife, would be looking for better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Nice hotel ,great central location to everything Shrewsbury as to offer.Very friendly staff,Not the biggest room in the world, but everything we wanted.Liked the way your car is parked for you was not charged for car parking unless this was in the price of the room.
Just a little disappointed with breakfast,did not like the sausage on the full English.But if that's my only complaint can't be bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

First the positives: friendly staff, central location, they park your car!
However, the room was unbearable hot, probably the hottest hotel room I have ever been in.The tiny window didn't offer any relief, and the noise outside woke us up in the early hours. Two other couples had the same problem and reverted to technics such as: running a cold shower to cool the room and hanging a damp towel near a window. We requested a fan twice, but nothing turned up.
Friends staying at other hotels and B&B in the town did not have the same problem.
The shower was rubbish as the wall holder was broken, so you had to hold it. Not what I would expect for the price.
All in all very disappointing, maybe be better in winter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have just returned from weekend stay and unfortunately have left very disappointed!

Arrived to be greeted by friendly efficient staff and then up to my room - allocated small double on the 3rd floor which had been upgraded which was very nice, however the shower if you can call it a shower was a trickle of water completely ineffectual I was offered option of another room and the shower was the same! Eventually I moved to a non updated single in the old part of the building - no bath but shower worked, the toilet was stained and unpleasant!It had no hair dryer was hot and very tired looking

The staff did try and help, with the allocation of rooms but the hotel was full. The location right in the centre of town is wonderful having a room at the back of the hotel helped reduce the noise from the numerous bars and restaurants

The breakfast was not particularly good one slice bacon one sausage and a hard fried egg lots of toast if you asked for it - selection of juices and some very old cheeses

Would I stay again - probably not !

The only redeeming factor is its location and parking

Room Tip: Avoid 304 and 9 twin at front on level 3 good shower, but noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Rupert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Rupert Hotel

Address: Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Rupert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic grade II listed Prince Rupert Hotel is situated in the very heart of medieval Shrewsbury and just a short stroll from the individual shops and many tourist attractions. Surrounded by narrow cobblestone streets and black and white timbered buildings it provides the perfect base to explore beautiful Shrewsbury. A warm and friendly welcome is always provided to all guests with a glass of sherry on arrival. With the heritage of the hotel dating back to the 12th and 15th century, character and charm abound with sloping floors, exposed Tudor beams and a restored Jacobean staircase. Privately owned for many years by Michael & Diane Matthews, the hotel offers a great choice of dining all with a focus on fresh local produce. The Royalist is ideal for a special occasion with an a la carte menu together with a superb wine list. Chambers brasserie is renowned for its traditional British menu at sensible prices and located at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens of St. Alkmunds square, Camellias Tea Rooms offers an extensive menu selection including traditional afternoon tea served on a three tier cake stand. A charming place to relax to the sound of a grand piano. FREE valet parking is provided to the hotel's private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Prince Rupert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Hotel Prince Rupert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Rupert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.