We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Marys Church

St Marys Church
St Mary's Street, Dogpole, Shrewsbury SY1 1EF, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 30 Attractions in Shrewsbury
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stunning church with interesting history and beautiful Tudor ceiling. Friendly & helpful guide opened up another area when she realised we were interested in the stained glass.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very attractive church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a beautiful old church, with spectacular stained glass windows, and a tall elegant spire.
There was a flower festival on the day we visited, with some beautiful displays.We really enjoyed our visit,

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Breathtaking!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Visited this church on 3rd October and was overwhelmed by the sheer beauty of it. The stained glass windows are truly beautiful and make sure you look at the ceiling using the mirror provided. You get a better view of it and also it gives you the chance to appreciate all the workmanship that has gone in to it. Whilst I was there a group of ladies were putting arrangements together for a Festival of Flowers. I was absolutely inspired by their efforts and I was only sorry that I wouldn't be in Shrewsbury for the actual event. The organist was playing during my visit and he had me enthralled by his choice of music. A wonderful church and I truly recommend that you pay it a visit next time you are in Shrewsbury. I will certainly go back again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Truly is breathtaking.Wonderful gentleman stayed on to show us around this awe inspiring building.The stained glass is totally totally gorgeous.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stained Medieval Stained glass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a lovely church with some wonderful stained glass from European churches. Coffee shop not open that often. In care of the Churches Conservation Trust. Must visit in the centre of town.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Marys Church also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to St Marys Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Marys Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.