We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shrewsbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn
Save
You added Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Frankwell, Shrewsbury SY3 8JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 52 Shrewsbury B&B and Inns
sthelens
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very pleasent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed one night and we were very happy with our room which was clean and tidy, the drinks in the bar were very cheap and the food which was 2 for £8 was excellent value for money it was also only a short walk into the town centre. It may not be 5* accomodation but it offers great value for money also the parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
27
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Rooms clean & tidy friendly staff within walking distance of town the bar closed at about 11:30/12 so no noise which is always good,so a pleasant night sleep to be had for the money very good.breakfast good freshly cooked

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My mum and I stayed at the Inn on 30th November for 2 nights.
We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we walked into the Inn. We found all the staff to be very friendly.
Our room was spotless.
We ate at the Inn on both nights. The food was excellent, served piping hot and as a vegetarian I found there to be a very good choice. We ate the English Breakfast on both mornings and it again was excellent..
We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you own a dog(s) and they are well behaved then the Ye Old Bucks Head will work for you. The attitude toward dog owners, and attention to doggy details is exceptional. The pub is split into three areas, one being specifically for animals and the layout works well. Your Dog is welcome in the specific dinning area and there is access to a Dog Friendly Beer garden. Animals apart the Pub itself is clean, very friendly, well stock with real ales, and the usual casks. Bar food is available "all day" from an extensive menu however my food experience was not great, the food was OK but that's all I can say. Our party consisted of eight persons and a consensus on the food was OK, but as we had two dogs (one quite large) our opinions have taken in the whole package so from that perspective the place was very good.

So all in all the Ye Old Bucks Head is a good pub to visit if you have a need to bring your dogs inside with you; the management will endeavour to make your stay enjoyable. If you are looking for an atmospheric period pub there may be better options in town. Nevertheless you should not be put off from giving the Ye Old a try the management are every ready to make their patrons at ease.

Tip : The pub has a private car park but it can be tricky to get into due to the courtyard style.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle under Lyme
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here after a visit to Theatre Severn - comfortable room, very good value for money evening meal, lovely breakfast good value at £5 - very good real ale. Will definitely stay again when in Shrewsbury. Very friendly pub dog.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights whilst attending the Shrewsbury Beer Festival. Shared a twin room which was a little bit worn but nice and clean, not a lot of storage space for clothes although enough for a two night stay. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.The room was very quiet even though it was next to the pub car park. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I ate here on the evening of the Blenheim dog show in Shrewsbury. I had called a couple of days before to make sure that they really were dog-friendly.
WOW! We walked in with our 2 small pooches, ordered drinks and were given a handful of dog biscuits. Whilst doggies munched on those I sampled the excellent real ale on tap and ordered our meals. They arrived in short order and were quite superb, plus the landlord himself brought a bowl of water for his doggy guests, who, like any well trained dogs lay restfully at our feet.
I guess what I'm trying to put across here, is that we were in a strange town, with 2 dogs, and looking for somewhere inviting, friendly and good to eat.....and we found it.
Our return is certain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn

Address: Frankwell, Shrewsbury SY3 8JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewsbury
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bucks Head Hotel Shrewsbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Bucks Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.