We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitka Drive | Shrewsbury Business Park, Shrewsbury SY2 6LG, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Shrewsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Room was very clean & ok size wise but had an extra single bed that we hadn't asked for in so made it more cramped. Bed very uncomfortable and sagged towards the middle it didn't feel flat & also quite hard. Woken up by fire alarm first morning which staff were unable to turn off. We went out with it still going off after 15 minutes. Close to the road which you could hear. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment regarding the cleanliness of the room.

Unfortunately as you noticed we did have a fire panel failure in the hotel on that morning and i can confirm that the engineer was called immediately to resolve the issue. All my team at the hotel are fully trained on fire evacuation also how to reset the fire alarm. The fire alarm panel is a touch screen panel and it happened due to the failure of the touch screen. The engineer came on Saturday and put the system back in place but has quoted us to replace the whole panel as its need replacing. These panel are checked regularly by our service provider and this was a one-off incident.

I can only apologies for this and give you my reassurance that the matter is with our property team and they are currently working on a permanent solution.

I am sorry to go on, but felt your comments deserved answering individually. I do hope you take these comments on board as genuine and not purely as lip service. I know you will be using our hotel chain on a regular basis and would like to think you will give us the benefit of doubt, that on the whole your experience here is a great one.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.


Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    153
    46
    17
    9
See reviews for
56
169
24
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The rooms are clean and quite large, beds are excellent and the shower is great.

Although it was a bit weird that a single optical fire alarm in another room (caused by body spray...) woke up the entire floor very early in the morning. No apologies or explanation or staff to help, which is weird in such case. We stood dressed and ready to escape but no one of the staff came. We felt a bit unsafe.

The breakfast was very bad and ruined the experience of a decent hotel. More then half of the offerings were finished well before breakfast service was ended. No eggs, no croissants, only three slices of bread left and all three choices of juice concentrate were finished and only gave water. Plus tables were not clean. When told to the manager (Samir) the answer was that this was normal since 'we have limited service'.

tl;dr: great rooms but avoid the breakfast. And don't use body spray.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all i would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding the cleanliness of the room,bed and the shower.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapses in service during your stay during the breakfast. This is certainly not the standard of service that the team prides it selves on and I do apologies for this inconvenience. I am fully aware of the situation you encountered at breakfast and also with the fire alarm. The fire alarm was caused due to one of the guest smoking in the room and when the duty manager went to the room and questioned the guest his answered it was due to body spray.

The comment regarding limited service was because of breakfast offering as we only offer hot continental breakfast with selection of cold section and beans,scrambled egg & sausages as its our brand standard and not for the service we provide.Our moto of the hotel is to provide 100% guest satisfaction and i can only apologies that we were unable to provide that to you this time.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back if you in the area. I am confident your impression would be positive given the opportunity. Please do let me know when you are traveling next time so I can take care of the reservation details.

Thanking you and assuring you of our best services.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed for one night. The room was booked in advance. On arrival, the reception staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was immaculate and that's coming from someone with a slight OCD obsession with cleanliness. I really was happy with my room and after making my usual checks - was very happy to stay there.
The rooms have aircon which made for a much better night's sleep due to the warmth outside.
We had a couple of drinks at the rather pricey (but 24hr) bar and retired for the evening. The hotel is located in a quiet corner of a business park (non-retail) and we found this to be an added bonus as it was so quiet. We had a lovely kip. The breakfast which is inclusive was fine. I can forgive the lack of bacon as the sausages more than made up for it.
The cleaning staff deserve credit for providing us with a spotless room and we are very happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We chose this hotel due to it's location and fair price which includes breakfast. Well worth con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as you say the hotels.. It was great to read that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay with us.Really happy to see that you found the hotel location quite and really had a good night sleep.I will definitely share your comment with my housekeeping staff.

Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will see you again the next time you are visiting Shrewsbury

Regards,

Samir Sharma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had an excellent night in the top quality bed at your hotel on our journey north. The room was brilliant very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was spotless and you provided higfh quality towels. My only one complaint was that maybe at busy times you need more staff helping at breakfast as most items people had to ask as they had run out. They were provided but may have been better if you didnt need to keep asking. Breakfast quality was excellent.

Room Tip: Excellent rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel.

It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and I hugely appreciate your lovely comments regarding the room ,the bed,the towel,the breakfast and friendly and professional staff. Our team work really hard to give all our guests the best possible experience when they are staying with us, and I am glad you feel they excelled at this.Your comment about extra staff during busy period is taken on board.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed here a few times on business. The staff are very friendly and the food is really nice for a Holiday Inn Express. My only complaint is that it is in a business park and the council won't allow them to put signs up to find it. This is obviously not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, and our staff to be so friendly and helpful.

I am extremely sorry regarding the signage issue and the matter is with the council for it.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as a last minute short break. Excellent location for Shrewsbury, Ironbridge, Wales .......... The hotel was clean, staff were friendly and breakfast was adequate. In the evenings we ate out at local pubs just a 5 minute drive away. This is the first time we have used a Holiday Inn Express and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel.

I am really pleased to that you found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and spacious, and that you enjoyed our great complimentary breakfast.

Yes you are right in saying that our hotel location is ideal for iron bridge and other parts.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards,

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed over for two nightes while visiting the vinyard near by.the hotel was clean and airy.the staff were very pleasent and couldn't do enough for you.the room we were in was spacious, clean and light. The only thing wrong was there was no draws to put things in.having said that there was enough wadrobe space.breakfast there was hot and cold to choose from and you could get free tea, coffee and juice anytime.there is nothing around the hotel so you need a car or take a taxi to town centre

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir20, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am so pleased your recent stay with us was such a good experience, that you enjoyed our hotel , and found all our staff to be so helpful and friendly.

It's great to read that you found us nice & clean - we are in the business of just that. we work hard to ensure we keep this ticking over well.Hope you enjoyed the Wroxeter vineyard as well and yes you are right in saying we only few minutes away from the location.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.


Kind Regards

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Address: Sitka Drive | Shrewsbury Business Park, Shrewsbury SY2 6LG, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Shrewsbury)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its medieval castle and historic black-and-white Tudor buildings, to its museums, restaurants, bars and world-famous Shrewsbury Abbey, the area surrounding the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury hotel beckons visitors with its stunning sights and sounds.Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure, there is much to uncover in this fascinating town and with our modern, comfortable and clean rooms you are sure to find everything you need for an enjoyable visit. Not only is our hotel right in the middle of the Shrewsbury Business Park, many more attractions are either walking distance or a short drive from our front door. You can start your day with a free breakfast before heading towards the nearby town centre that is packed with timber-framed black and white buildings, steep narrow streets and alleyways. In fact, it boasts over 600 listed buildings, including Shrewsbury Castle, now a regimental museum. The historic centre is a shoppers' heaven, featuring designer boutiques, smart malls and an amazing range of independent retailers. Add to that a lively night life and a rich choice of cafés and restaurants.With easy access to Telford and the Midlands, including Telford International Centre, the Hampton by Hilton offers modern amenities in a historic Tudor town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Shrewsbury Hotel Shrewsbury
Purplehotel Hotel Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Purplehotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.