We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitka Drive | Shrewsbury Business Park, Shrewsbury SY2 6LG, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Shrewsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Much Improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious. Positioned on the edge of town it is well placed for access roads although a drive/taxi is necessary for the town centre. The staff have in the past had a reputation for poor service but this seems to have been remedied as all members of staff were friendly and helpful during my visit. The only letdown is the breakfast which is poor for a hotel in this bracket. All round good value though. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review - I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and liked our rooms very much.We as a hotel always devote our time in training our staff and its good to see its paying off.
I am little bit disappointed to hear about your comment on breakfast and just want to say that your comment is taken on board and we will work on it.

Please think of us again when your planning your visit, we always like to go the extra mile to make our guest stay memorable.

Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    167
    58
    18
    10
See reviews for
62
183
25
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Although we only stayed for one night we found this Hotel excellent value. The room and bathroom were very clean and well stocked with towels and toiletries. The buffet breakfast was also very good with several choices. Overall we had a very good stay and would not hesitate to book this hotel again.
The staff were wonderful! Nothing was too much trouble and they were always smiling and cheerful. The hotel is designed well with comfy sofas and areas where you can work.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review, we are so pleased that you had a wonderful overall stay.

We have a genuinely friendly team who want to ensure a great stay for our guests and it is always a boost to us when this is recognized. I will of course share your comments with our team and I’m sure they will be delighted to hear that their assistance was appreciated.

I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. - Many Thanks

Kind Regards
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Check in was quick and efficient, the staff were excellent and very helpful in getting our bearings, and assistance with travel plans. room was modern clean and fresh and the facilities were excellent. Breakfast was just what you needed, fresh and refreshed regularly. Graet beds, and after a couple of good nights sleep, a nice little break. The only gripe i have is the air conditioner/ heater was a bit noisey at night. Overall very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review, we are so pleased that you had a wonderful overall stay.

I am happy to see your comment regarding your room and the breakfast.

We have a genuinely friendly team who want to ensure a great stay for our guests and it is always a boost to us when this is recognized. I will of course share your comments with our team and I’m sure they will be delighted to hear that their assistance was appreciated.
Just to make you aware we are working on our air con units and that will be solved quickly.

I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. - Many Thanks

Kind Regards
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I travel a lot for business and I can say that this one I am absolutely going to remember for sure. To start with, the reservation staff was very good and offered the rate that suited me. Check in was very smooth and the receptionist even offered to carry my luggage to the room. Felt at home with a clean and fresh room. Good to see that everything worked fine especially the shower helped me relax instantly.
The lounge area was busy but i could find a quite corner. I think it was the hotel manager who came and asked me if i wanted anything and that is when I came to know that the hotel has just been taken over by a new management. I ordered curry from the special menu and it was very yummy. It was incredible to see that the staff inspite of being busy asked me for my feedback.
After a peaceful sleep, check out was quick. Breakfast was very fresh and it was expressly served as advertised.
Staff at the hotel are setting great examples for other hotels. This stay has definately made me a Holiday Inn Express fan.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with us and thank you as well for your kind remarks. I will ensure that your lovely comments are shared with my team in the hotel. We take great pride in ensuring that we provide a high standard of accommodation and service at a very competitive price level. Comments such as yours are pleasure to read and I am sure you will give us an opportunity to be of service again very soon.
Warm regards,
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were told by Wendy (on Reception) in a telephone call that the hotel was 2 mins from the park and ride - wrong; its a 5-6min drive and to far to walk to; we were told that the Hotel had a "casual restaurant" - wrong; it is a eating hall. On Friday lunch time when we arrived the tables were dirty and plates looked as though they had been there a while. When checking in we offered our Priority Club card to which the guy on reception looked blank. We asked about taxi's into Town as were told that reception would order this and it would cost £4.80 (Central Cabs); we found out if you book through Comet Cars it costs £4.30. Upon asking about the Town it was down to a workman who was behind the reception to provide us with a Booklet. The staff also need training in the difference between "soft" and "firm" pillows - asked for a firm pillow and was left a soft one - wouldnt have thought it was too difficult. Didnt help we were woke by a crowd of guys returning to the hotel at 4am and making such a noise they must have woke the whole place up. Enough said - wouldnt go back. We therefore spent both nights eating in town and the up side is we found two fabulous restaurants. Come on HIE you can do better than this.... if not, cant wait for the Premier Inn to open in Shrewbury; we visit the lovel town 2-4 times a year. Will never return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear rossi633

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Shrewsbury, UK.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you want a luxury hotel then you would not choose a Holiday Inn Express in the 1st place, so your expectations should be suitably set. Overall, the room was modern and spacious. Wifi was fast enough and free, good amount of space to work and decent size TV. Bar on site as well.
Only bad points were the breakfast (stale croissants and dire coffee amoungst the highlights). Would rather they charged a bit extra for something halfway decent. Contry to some of the other reviews I didn't find the room that clean. Hairs in the bathroom and shower from the previous guest was not an attractive sight. Bed sheets were also marked in places. You are on a business park at the edge of town, however only a few miles away/short drive from town centre, about 1 or 2 miles from the nearest supermarket. Overall, not bad, not amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Pete,

Thank you very much for your feedback post your stay with us recently. My team and I pride ourselves in providing our guests with the highest levels of service and I am really sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion. I assure you that this is not symptomatic of our usual high standards and for that I sincerely apologies. I have taken note of your feedback and have discussed the same with the same with my housekeeping team . Feedback such as yours allows us to improve continuously and I am very grateful to you for giving us an opportunity. With reference to your comments about the breakfast, I have taken it on board and will make sure it is up to our usual standard. I trust that you will visit us soon and allow us to redeem ourselves.

Warm regards,
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We used this hotel before when it was run by another Hotel company. It changed to holiday Inn express recently - still very good value and clean and quiet. When relatives come to stay from overseas we usually put them into this hotel and will continue to do so on this experience. Very good value.

Room Tip: first floor rooms better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharma82, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you as well for your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel. I shall ensure that I pass on your comments to my housekeeping team who works really hard to keep up the usual standard. I trust that we will see you in the hotel again very soon.

Warm regards,
Samir Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury

Address: Sitka Drive | Shrewsbury Business Park, Shrewsbury SY2 6LG, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Shrewsbury)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Shrewsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its medieval castle and historic black-and-white Tudor buildings, to its museums, restaurants, bars and world-famous Shrewsbury Abbey, the area surrounding the Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury hotel beckons visitors with its stunning sights and sounds.Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure, there is much to uncover in this fascinating town and with our modern, comfortable and clean rooms you are sure to find everything you need for an enjoyable visit. Not only is our hotel right in the middle of the Shrewsbury Business Park, many more attractions are either walking distance or a short drive from our front door. You can start your day with a free breakfast before heading towards the nearby town centre that is packed with timber-framed black and white buildings, steep narrow streets and alleyways. In fact, it boasts over 600 listed buildings, including Shrewsbury Castle, now a regimental museum. The historic centre is a shoppers' heaven, featuring designer boutiques, smart malls and an amazing range of independent retailers. Add to that a lively night life and a rich choice of cafés and restaurants.With easy access to Telford and the Midlands, including Telford International Centre, the Hampton by Hilton offers modern amenities in a historic Tudor town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Shrewsbury Hotel Shrewsbury
Purplehotel Hotel Shrewsbury
Shrewsbury Purplehotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.