We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic cocktails!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frank - CLOSED

Frank
128 Frankwell, Shrewsbury SY3 8JX, England
+44 (0)1743 354422
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Unique Cocktail Bar and American Diner
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic cocktails!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I visit Franks on a regular basis with friends and especially on Wednesday night for half price cocktails.
A brilliant selection of freshly made cocktails including mojitos, cosmo, long island iced tea, tokyo iced tea, bellinis and Franks unique creations.
The service is great. On Wednesdays often two waitresses floating around the tables, making it really easy to get another drink without leaving your table.
Overall, a great place to chill out with great cocktails and a relaxed atmosphere!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    21
    7
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here a few times now and thought it was time I left a review! The place has a cool, casual industrial theme but with a diner menu, the food is basically exactly what you crave without any pretentiousness. Its all delicious, especially the corn dogs, but surprisingly good value. I'm always too full for dessert as the portions are massive so I usually have a boozy milkshake for pudding. I would recommend that it's worth eating earlier on for a more chilled out atmosphere before it gets busier later on, we always hang around for a few drinks after and the music they play is really great, always suited to the mood and never chart rubbish. Overall a great place for both dinner AND drinks, not many places I could say that about in Shrewsbury.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“5 star burger and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Second visit, but both times food has been superb, had a range of shared starters including the jalapeno poppers, hot wings and the whitebait, all three were awesome and you get a reasonable portion, just don't order if you dont have the appetite for both starters and a main!

Had the pulled pork burger on my last visit, its tasty, well seasoned and an all round great burger, top that with fantastic service from Kate, Dayve and the team, they also have a great range of beers from the cocktail bar, great lively friendly atmosphere all round

Pricing is very reasonable with food well within £20 per head plus drinks.

Possibly the best burger in town!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasure on a Wednesday evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My first review of the new Frank was for drinks only. This time, for a birthday celebration it was food too.
Di-Di picked Wednesday because it was close to her birthday – when we’d been out of town – and also half price cocktails night. We’d enjoyed this offer at the previous Frank on the occasional Monday and knew it is perfectly genuine. Well, nothing has changed; it still is. I can’t resist the gin Martinis – one is never enough and three is too many - and she had Mojitos. They were served at our table and tasted very good.
We looked at the menus downstairs and arranged to eat on the top deck. It was a clear, bright evening and if you enjoy a view of the Welsh bridge you’d like it up there too. Window seats are limited so a reservation is probably advisable.
We ordered a sort of American-style tapas because it was so difficult to choose one thing. That hasn’t happened to us anywhere else, apart from tapas restaurants of course. It’s called the ‘Diner Platter’ on the menu.
Ours included ‘sliders’ [tiny chicken, beef, or pork burgers topped with cheese]; BBQ ribs; whitebait; baked camembert; deep fried Spanish Onion, fries and a fair few other things I can’t remember. We washed it down with a really good Cabernet Sauvignon, which happened to be the cheapest red they had at just under £14 a bottle. We like wine and this was definitely memorable.
We ate an awful lot but couldn’t finish. No problem – in a jiffy it was wrapped, and we had it as a very pleasant cold hors d'oeuvre at home on Thursday night.
Over all a brilliant evening, with the usual level of pleasing service you come to expect at Frank. I think there’ll be many more evenings there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely American grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A group of us recently visited Frank for a friend's birthday. We enjoyed a beer downstairs (excellent choice from Peroni on draught to Brewdog bottled beer) before being lead upstairs to our table. The seating area upstairs was minimalist in decor but perfectly adequate. My friend and I both ordered the Frank Signature Burger and a separate side. The burger was beautiful, 8 oz of beef with cheese and crispy bacon. All of the rest of the group also throughly enjoyed their meals too. Whilst eating our meals the rest of the venue became very busy but this did not impact on our service from the waitress. It did appear though that perhaps the venue could do with more staff as our poor waitress did seem a little stretched trying to accommodate all of the tables. Before we left we all enjoyed a tasty cocktail which were reasonably priced. Overall we had a lovely meal and would definitely return. If you like American grub then you can't go far wrong with Frank.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.