We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, ok prices, bad wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Siam

Royal Siam
Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UW, England
+44 (0)1743 351188
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 279 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Price range: $20 - $49
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, ok prices, bad wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Went here a few weeks ago and the food was really tasty, and the service was very polite and good. We arrived fairly late on a Monday night and still felt very welcome and didn't feel rushed at all. There were a few other tables occupied, including one, large group of about 10 people, which is a good sign on a Monday. Even though there was only one waiter working we still all got enough attention.

I think this place has definitely improved since some of the reviews on here because I was fairly full after just a main. The mains sizes were fine, and the starters I saw going out to other tables looked a fair size too. The only thing was my husband and I planned to share rice and because of the price I thought it would be big enough to share but it wasn't really. I think they get people in because their mains are big and fairly priced, and they make up the money through the sides and drinks.

The wine wasn't really that good for the price paid. We didn't just have the house wine, we spent a bit of time choosing based on the descriptions of the flavours onthe wine menu, and what arrived didn't really match what I had expected.

Overall, I would return though, I would just drink spirits or beer instead of the wine, and remember to order more sides. The food is really yummy though and I think that's the main thing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Thai food... definitely worth a visit!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Recently visited early doors on Saturday night with my boyfriend.

Be aware there is a few flights of stairs before arriving at the restuarant however do not let this put you off. Although as previously mentioned in other reviews, this could be a problem for some.

Initally there was only us and another couple in the restaurant, however became progressively busier throughout the evening.

Overall, the food was great. We shared several starters (crispy won tons, veg spring rolls and sweetcorn cakes) these were all great and obviously freshly prepared and cooked. For our main meal, we ordered more of the sweetcorn cakes as there were so tasty and shared a thai green curry with chicken and jasmine rice - the curry was packed with chicken.

The atmosphere and service was relaxed, however didn't wait too long to be served or for food or drinks too arrive.

A great Thai restaurant in Shrewsbury and I look forward to my next visit to the Royal Siam!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishman on the Move
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were staying in Shrewsbury overnight and had no recommendations on restaurants and we came across the Royal Siam as we wandered around the centre. It is up lots of stairs but worth it. We were attended by whom I assume was the owner as he did everything from welcome us to take our order and serve the meal. We opted for a set menu as it looked to be good value with some interesting dishes and we were not disappointed. The assorted starter dish was good and the main course was a good mix of chicken, beef and prawn. There was more than enough to eat and we enjoyed it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Really good Thai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I really enjoy our meals here. Very good menu with lots of choices and the crispy pork pouches they have on the starters menu are amazing, a must have if you go here, trust me you will like them! I've always had good meals here, however be ware they like to use coriander in a lot of the dishes. You can ask for it to be left out and they are happy to do so, I'm not a fan so mine are always served without. Good location within downtown and nice views from the windows looking over the high street.
We always get great service here and I return with my boyfriend very often!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went as a party of 7 on a Monday night and I don't believe the restaurant was prepared for us. There were long waits between courses and only a solitary waiter / owner covering the floor. Food was okay but wouldn't rush back. We had the £26.95 banquet - there was plenty of food however because it was only average, there was a lot of waste.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Siam also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Royal Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.