We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Thai!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Siam

Royal Siam
Butcher Row, Shrewsbury SY1 1UW, England
+44 (0)1743 351188
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 260 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $49
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Really good Thai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I really enjoy our meals here. Very good menu with lots of choices and the crispy pork pouches they have on the starters menu are amazing, a must have if you go here, trust me you will like them! I've always had good meals here, however be ware they like to use coriander in a lot of the dishes. You can ask for it to be left out and they are happy to do so, I'm not a fan so mine are always served without. Good location within downtown and nice views from the windows looking over the high street.
We always get great service here and I return with my boyfriend very often!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went as a party of 7 on a Monday night and I don't believe the restaurant was prepared for us. There were long waits between courses and only a solitary waiter / owner covering the floor. Food was okay but wouldn't rush back. We had the £26.95 banquet - there was plenty of food however because it was only average, there was a lot of waste.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Some good food but not everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We found Royal Siam a good place to eat, but not very special compared to other Thai restaurants. We had a set menu with sweet and sour beef and green curry chicken. We liked it and the price was good as well, but we were not especially enthusiastic about it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Great food funny staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Luck would have it that our children 16 and 18 had been walking around town and spotted this resturaunt while we were at Shrewsbury food fest otherwise we would probably not have found it.
Hidden away up several flights of stairs (awkward for some) our welcome was very warm and even though Shrewsbury was packed on Saturday for the food fest they managed to find us a table in their busy resturaunt .
Thai waitress who served us was immaculate in traditional Thai dress and also extremely funny which put our teens very at ease.
We had a set menu for four which had a good mixture of traditional things the starters with the four sauce dips were to die for and the mains were all fresh and lovely looking our two teens could not get enough of the yellow Thai curry.
The sweet was warm bananas in coconut milk which we all loved.
Toilets were clean and the resturaunt has a 5 star rating for hygiene so all in all a nice night out.
This resturaunt is not the cheapest around but as the old saying goes you get what you pay for would definatly visit again if in Shrewsbury

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visiting shrewbury so need somewhere to eat out, so turn up on saturday evening. We had friendly and warm welcome. After few minutes they taken drinks order, and few more minutes we good set menu. Good value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Siam also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Royal Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.