We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful birthday break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fishmore Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fishmore Hall to your Saves list
Fishmore Hall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Corwen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful birthday break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spent two nights at this wonderful hotel, with friendly and attentive staff. The bedroom was spacious and tastefully decorated and plenty of room for our dog to be with us. The 6 course taster menu was interesting and even though the portions were small, it was fulfilling. It allowed us to taste dishes we never normally would have ordered. Excellent breakfast. Highly recommended for a special short break. The location of the hotel is on the outskirt of Ludlow and within 15 minutes walk into town. A very pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    128
    45
    17
    10
See reviews for
43
381
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

You do not need many words to describe Fishmore Hall. Just go and try it yourself, you will not be disappointed.The whole of the hotel is tastefully decorated and is sparkling in cleanliness and the rooms are as clean and spacious.The food is excellent, and yes the food might be a tad expensive, but the chefs are clearly well trained and love their job as the presentation and tastes are fantastic.The staff are very polite and attentive and all appear to be very happy working at the hotel and very keen in what they are doing. Keep up the good work. The proprietor obviously has very high standards and long may it reign!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marches
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

From the moment you arrive the whole feel of this place is of excellence and design. Within a classical country house the owners have created an environment that is modern, relatively minimalist and quietly beautiful and restful. The food and wines are of the finest quality, and with every meal is a wonderdul sense that the entire experience has been designed for excellence, right down to the smallest details. We've often stayed here, and have also used it for a family wedding - and every moment has been an aesthetically delightful experience. We shall certainly go again, and recommend the place fully and without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great stuff, we met friends here for an evening's catch up. Staff were professional and obliging, and even knew how to make a decent Bloody Mary, which is a first north of Watford. Excellent sandwiches for lunch, super breakfast, if a little long time in coming. Beds comfortable, room was clean and newly decorated. Didn't like lift music on a loop in the lounge, or the obtrusive heating there, why not light a fire in that lovely grate?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel just to dine at the restaurant we did not stay the night so cannot review it as a hotel but only as a restaurant.
We opted for the 9 course taster menu - wow! The taster meal is not a cheap night out -(£70 per head, £80 if you want the cheese selection as an extra, and another £40 per head if you want the accompanying wines with each course), but for a special occasion its a real treat. Every course was out of this world, I could not find fault with quality or presentation. Each mouthful was a delight.
Now.........I am going to come across as a bit of an uneducated pleb with my next statement I'm afraid......the portion sizes.....Obviously I appreciate its a taster menu - you get a taste of, not the whole course, but they really were tiny. One scallop and a drizzle of sauce, or venison the size of a 50p piece accompanied with a sliver of parsnip, is a somewhat disappointing when you consider the prices you are paying. Maybe a little less pretension and little more on the plate. Having said this, we thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience - the service was faultless and as previously stated the food was second to none. Unfortunately, we couldn't see the fabulous views as we dined in the evening in January but we will definitely endeavour to return in the summer

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here on a living social deal 5th and 6th December 2012. This was our second stay at Fishmore hall and I was slightly concerned that it may not be as impressive second time round. However, I need not have worried the experience was just as lovely as the first. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite as there was a slight issue the room we had been allocated. It was a real treat to experience this luxurious room, although you wouldn't want to be shy with each other as the bathroom is open plan! This didn't bother us at all but we both felt that we wouldn't have liked this if we were a new couple.

On the first evening we dined in the restaurant from the bar menu and the food was lovely. The cocktails at the hotel are also lovely.

During our stay I decided to treat myself to a couple of spa treatments in the newly built spa cabin. I think this is great idea and a good addition to the hotel. However, the girl that did my treatments wasn't the best and to be honest I don't think I'd bother again. I didn't let it spoil my stay though and we are looking forward to our next trip to Fishmore already!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I booked a deal through KGB which I stupidly let expire. I thought that that would be that, but on contacting the hotel they kindly honoured it.
The hotel is beautiful as are the grounds that it is set in and it is a short walk into Ludlow itself. There was plenty of parking space at the hotel.
We had a room on the first floor to the rear of the hotel, the views were of the car park and the road but this did not bother us as we weren't planning on spending too much time in the room anyhow. The room was spacious and had everything we expected.The bed was super comfortable!
Breakfast was delicious with a lot of choice on the menu, my husband raved about the sausages in his Full English!And the eggs benedict were perfection.
One evening I also had a sandwich through room service- Brie, beetroot and walnut....mouthwatering!
The staff were friendly and efficient, they even provided us with a torch when we were walking back to the hotel at night.
Ludlow is a must-see town, the architecture, castle and market square (where there is a market most days) are delightful and Fishmore Hall is the ideal base.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fishmore Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishmore Hall

Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishmore Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fishmore Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishmore Hall Ludlow
Fishmore Hall Hotel Ludlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishmore Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.