We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bull Hotel

Bull Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bull Hotel
Save
You added Bull Hotel to your Saves list
14 The Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 49 Ludlow B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Does what it says on the tin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Superb location, the staff were welcoming & it had a friendly atmosphere. It our first trip to Ludlow - for a pre-Christmas break. It's a lovely market town & a real foodie place with a great choice of restaurants. On the Saturday night we ate early & returned to The Bull for the live music - it was a great move as the band, although only a three piece, were absolutely great & could knock out a superb noise! It might not be everybodys cup of tea but my husband & I loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    8
    6
    13
See reviews for
7
32
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

visited the bull hotel and it was like walking into a film where everyone stops and stares at you
only popped in for a quick beer in the afternoon as i had never been here before and there were people in the courtyard shouting at each other. i noticed a bag of white powder on the floor and told the owners about it and they turned a blind eye and this was at 4 in the afternoon so its not like it was a friday night but still! i got told it was a nice relaxing atmosphere!

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a weekend visit to Ludlow, at £70 per night. On arrival we were shown to our en-suite room which was basic but clean and well presented. It had tea making facilities, TV and a bath/shower and overlooked the car parking/smoking area. The room did have a strange odour of nicotine that may have been either from the cigarette smoke from down below or maybe it used to be a smoking room.
Previous reviews are correct regarding the teenagers in the pub, on the friday evening we spent the first part of the night in a few of the other pubs in Ludlow and also ate in The Golden Moments indian restaurant (which was very nice food). We reteurned to The Bull at about 9.30 and decided to finish the evening with a couple of drinks before going up to the room.
The place seemed to suddenly fill up with quite a few young lads (and a few girls) who were borderline underage and very 'tipsy'. Two of the boys decided it would be fun to have a play fight and started jumping about wrestling each other, then almost sent a table full of beer filled glasses over. This went on for a few minutes until the landlady suddenly appeared from behind the bar which seemed to stun all the teenagers into dead silence, which reminded me of a bunch of rowdy schoolchildren when the headmistress walks into the classroom.
When we returned to our room we didnt hear any fighting outside like other reviewers but you can hear the thump from the juke box music, although it didnt keep us awake.
I enjoyed the breakfast which was a full english fry up (Fried Egg, Bacon, 2 (real) Sausages, mushrooms, beans and fresh tomato's), tea or coffee plus help yourself to toast, cereals and orange juice.
The following evening we found a really nice little restaurant called The Parkway which i would definately recommend, and was a little reluctant to return to the Bull, but in the end decided to 'risk it' and found it had a live band playing and was full of older punters. The landlady was clearly preventing any of the youngsters from entering the pub as she stood by the door like a bouncer. The evening was much more enjoyable and went off without any trouble.
I have to say if we returned to Ludlow we would not book here again unless the pub can sort out the problems with the underage revellers, but even then i think we would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

It was Thursday the 10th October and our first time ever to visit Ludlow, there was a sudden change in the weather and it was bitter cold. Was looking for somewhere to eat and decided on the Bull Hotel, so glad we did, there was a lovely log fire burning - very welcoming indeed. The staff were also very welcoming and polite. For the meal, my husband had the steak and I had the lamb, we were a little apprehensive as to what the food might be like as so often what you're served has no resemblance to what's described on the menu. We needn't have worried though as both meals were absolutely superb - you could not fault anything! If we find ourselves in that neck of the woods again we shall certainly dine in the Bull - wouldn't even consider trying anywhere else. Compliments to the chef for a beautiful meal!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford,England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Popped into the Bull for lunch as from the outside looks great and is one of the oldest in the Town in fact we nearly stayed here (but for the reviews - thank you Trip Advisor reviewers for saving us. The place was grubby and unkept the small menu gave a selection of light bites and mains all reasonably priced and the beer was great but that is where it ends really I asked the barman if I could have a cheese and onion sandwich on brown bread only to be told that if it was not a sandwich on the menu then it was not available and he dare not ask the chef as he is also apparently the owner and 'he gets very funny if you ask him for something not on the menu'. I settled for a ham which came on white bread despite my request (dare not ask for a few chips. The wife had roasted vegetables on a Panini which was more of a burger bun but at least she got the vegetables (which is more than could be said for the party of four at the next table whose meal was served without the menu stated accompaniment). Think this place is due a visit from turnaround expert Gordon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here with two old friends and booked the family room to save money. I made a last minute decision to travel by train having read some reviews on the car park. Glad I did. My friends were not so fortunate - they arrived by Car and Motorbike. Read on.
On arrival we were shown to our room in which the third bed was a sofa bed but had been provided without sheets and the person showing the room did not know how to operate it. They said somebody would come up and make the bed shortly. This was 1:30pm. The bedding was not actually provided until sometime after 8 that evening despite two reminders.
The room was however clean.
Around 5:30 pm my friends were also asked to remove their vehicles from the car park because a band was playing there that night. Unfortunately, my friends had been drinking and did not wish to break the law. After some discussion they were allowed to leave their vehicles as parked because the band was now going to be playing indoors! It is crazy to advertise residents parking and then withdraw it after you have booked in.
At about 7:30 we decided to go out for a bite to eat. We returned to the Inn at around 11:00. It was very noisy - as expected - but there was also a number of very drunk teenagers - which was a bit unsavory. We had a drink in the bar because there was no point going to bed due to the noise. However by midnight we had had enough so retired upstairs. Unfortunately the music and noise did not die down until about 2:30 Sunday morning.
We arrived for breakfast the next morning to find that they had set our table for two rather than three but this was resolved quite quickly. There was plently of choice for breakfast including a full English, cereals etc. The staff were happy to cater to my vegetarian requirements.
We spent a pleasant day around Ludlow and returned to the hotel about 9:00pm.
I was quite surprised that it seemed even more lively than Saturday night. We decided to go to our room - which overlooked the car park. At about 10:00pm a fight broke out in the car park between drunken teenage girls, with the boys egging them on. Glasses were smashed - lots of shouting. This went on for at least 30 minutes with no staff in site. After more glasses were smashed the landlord arrived but did very little. He carried on serving these drunk kids and seemed more concerned about the glasses - even though there was a lot of agression / shouting and swearing. About 30 minutes later the fighting started again and this time the landlord insisted the drunks went indoors and carried on serving them - amazing.
When at closing time most people went home, we had to suffer to listen to two drunken lads shouting in the car park until well after 1pm - with no staff in site.
The next day after a good breakfast we left to find broken glass all round our vehicles - which we had to clear ourselves before we left. Luckily there was no actual damage.
I don't mind a bit of noise and like a drink myself but I expect a landlord to keep order - this did not happen. I expect him to make sure everything quietens down at closing time and this did not happen either. It is even more important when you have paying guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at the Bull for Ludlow food festival. Our room was exactly as pictured on the website; really clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely; choice of 3 cereal, Full English; bacon, sausage, tomato, mushrooms, egg,beans and as much toast as you like; fruit juice and a pot of tea of coffee.
The website also advertises that the venue is an inn in the middle of Ludlow that provides live entertainment, so yes there was music personally I enjoyed it, and I can't understand why people expect a thriving town pub to be quiet, it surely wouldn't be a sign of a health establishment if it was.
We will be returning for next years food festival.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel

Address: 14 The Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.