We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice pizzas!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marches

The Marches
12 Castle Street, Ludlow SY8 1AT, England
01584 872012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 69 Restaurants in Ludlow
Cuisines: English, Pizza, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Cheshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice pizzas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Never been to ludlow before and had our first lunch here, we both ordered pizza which were cooked on view in the large pizza oven. Pizzas were great. Need to get some Merlot in though the red wine wasn't the best. Overall though good choice and we will return. A family was eating next to use and their meal looked good too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarches, Owner at The Marches, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
we're glad you enjoyed your pizzas, shame you didn't appreciate the wine as well, you don't mention which you opted for, personally i always recommend the malbec to merlot drinkers, it offers a fruitier, more rounded wine, i find merlot can be unnoffensive but generally unmemorable unless it's at the higher end of the list, which is why we do keep a reserve of Velvet Devil merlot in, but at £30 a bottle most merlot drinkers shy away from it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    35
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Food definitely overpriced for the standard that it is. Overall the building was nice. And some of the staff really do try

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarches, Owner at The Marches, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
you're right the staff do try, some of the customers can be very trying too...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Would certainly eat here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Attractive decor; firm, comfortable seats at right height for eating. Interesting dishes, e.g. fish cakes with pesto sauce. Very different pizza toppings ! Can highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarches, Owner at The Marches, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
glad you enjoyed it, hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vogtsburg im Kaiserstuhl, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

During a one-day visit to Ludlow we were attracted to the Marches by the chalk board outside bearing a fun statement (which we now can't recall!). The restaurant was very busy and there was a jolly atmosphere. We were fortunate that a couple were just vacating a table near the bar. The table was cleared very quickly and a friendly waitress brought the menu, returned later (we were still deliberating) and came back a little later to take our orders. We did not have to wait long for our food (leek and cheese tartlets and a pheasant dish). The food was excellent (my wife particularly enjoyed the chips) and the portions generous. We had an delicious, strong espresso coffee to round off our meal.

An enjoyable experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarches, Owner at The Marches, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
we're glad you enjoyed your lunch, and appreciate the succinct review, shame about the 100 word minimum, no such requirement for our responses...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pizzas are amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The pizza's here are very very good and lots of choices of toppings which I like. I recommend a few ales and a thai beef option.

The pub is in a great location right in the centre of Ludlow which is a lovely place too. I went on a Thursday where they have live music, and even dancing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarches, Owner at The Marches, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
you can't go wrong with good ale and good pizza, and we strive to make sure we offer both to the highest standards, hopefully we'll see you back this way for more dancing soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marches also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to The Marches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.