We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ludlow in the Snow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Overton Grange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Overton Grange Hotel to your Saves list
Overton Grange Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Hereford Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ludlow in the Snow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were met on a wet winter day by a lovely chap on reception who couldnt have done more for us. The evening meal and service were excellent. We would have no hestiation to recommend this to anyone. Stayed for 1 night (Rm 7) It was comfortable, clean and warm.
We find it difficult to find any negative comments.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    61
    29
    21
    16
See reviews for
13
139
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at Overton Grange for two nights. It was, on the whole, an enjoyable stay. The staff were excellent, friendly, efficient and pleasant. We had dinner there on the first evening and it was excellent. The food was very imaginative and tasted delicious. However, we were disappointed with our room. When we arrived at about 4pm, it was freezing and we could not get the radiators to work so we used a fan heater which did help a bit. The next morning we used the 'power' shower which had no power and the water was lukewarm. We asked if we could change our room and the staff were very good about this. Our new room was much nicer, warmer and had a lovely view but my husband could hardly sleep because the bed was so uncomfortable. Please use this as constructive criticism. Staff, food and building great. Showers in Rooms 21 and 22 could be better. Heating in Room 21 needs to on a lot longer in cold weather. The bed in Room 21 was great but not in 22. I think a little bit of work on these matters could make a good hotel into an excellent one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We have now addressed all these matters, and we hope to welcome you again at Overton Grange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

i stayed at overton grange hotel for one night while on a cycle touring holiday. the cost for bed and breakfast was £160. i arrived late, after dark, so it was too late to sample the restaurant. i left soon after breakfast.the room in itself was fine, and the girl on reception was helpful enough. however my stay was ruined by the rock hard bed. impossible to get comfortable.clearly an old knackered mattress, not what you expect at £160 per night. felt like sleeping on the floor.have had better comfort on the euston-glasgow sleeper. premier inns make a point of a good nights sleep with very comfortable beds,which is what you get, and at a third of the cost. charging £160 for this is a disgrace.

Room Tip: bring a blow up mattress just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We were not made aware of the situation and we would have been delighted to offer you an alternative room, although, we never received any complaint about the new bedding (perhaps, a bad back due to cycling!!!) We look forward to welcoming you again at Overton Grange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have just spent a night at the Overton Grange, Ludlow. Our room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was a good size, some reviewers said they were small. The tea & coffee in the room was fair trade which was brilliant. We had this break as a gift and the degustation menu was included, the food - 7 courses - was a delight and the service was faultless. We used the sauna which was lovely ( no extra charge for towels as someone said) but the pool was a bit too cool for us. If you want a special treat I can really recommend this dining experience.

Room Tip: We had room No 21, very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Once again, a great thank you for all the team, we are so proud of our food!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxed007
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I recently booked a stay in Overton Grange for 2 nights, which unfortunately we had to cancel due to circumstances beyond our control. When we cancelled the booking, in excess of a week prior to our stay, we were informed that the £50 deposit would not be refunded. The booking was made over the phone, and there was no mention of cancellation policy over the phone. We asked to speak to the manager on this matter and were told he was not available but would ring us back. He never rang back. The following day we contacted the hotel again and expalined that we were not contacted on the matter, and were told again the deposit was not refundable. We asked to speak to the manager. The manager's tone and manner was irate, which began to become abusive as he continued to raise his voice on the phone, and refused to refund the deposit. He hung up the phone when we informed him that his customer relation skills were poor and the pratcise of retaining the deposit under the circumstances was very poor customer relations. Im sure he will make some flippant comment on here stating we were informed by email of the cancellation policy, but this does not excuse his terrible customer relation skills and awful phone etiquette. I really do fear for the owner of this hotel, if this is how it is managed. Avoid this hotel at all costs if you like to be treated in a curteous manner by the managemant and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that your circumstances may have altered but however,, the terms and conditions of reservation, together with cancellation policy are clearly stated at the time of reservation, on line booking web page, and confirmed by email with all reservations. The Management adopts a very professional manner in customer dealing, but does not respond to confrontational or abusive behavior, and in this instance, to verbal threat of vindictive review. F Metzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here a week or so ago, however did not eat because we wanted to head into Ludlow to a local Indian we'd heard about. On arrival, the staff were delightful and pleasant and the views breathtaking, the hotel was beautiful. We were taken to our room which was a little bit of a shock. For the price we paid for the room it should really have been £50 not what we paid. The bedroom was worn, cobwebs on the ceiling above, awful wallpaper and lamp shades that didn't match. A lovely surprise was the bathroom which appeared brand new however, the shower was half way down the wall so you could only wash half your body unless you sat down in the bath. I found that a little odd, where was the overhead shower? This shower was like a secondary rinse around shower. Other than the bedroom, service at breakfast was perfect, and the breakfast itself was delicious. I would return but I'd want to know that the room was clean free of cobwebs and a proper shower. It did have seemingly brand new double glazed windows and our view over the car park at the front and the views stunning.

Room Tip: Ask if they have total refurbished bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing break at the Overton Grange Hotel. The whole experience was superb – the setting, extremely charming and helpful staff and the cuisine is near Michelin star standard without the pretentiousness. Our bedroom was just the right size for us and had everything you need for comfortable stay. The breakfast was very pleasant and the portions were just the right size. We heard some people commenting on the (freezing) temperature of the swimming pool. Therefore, we decided to try it just from the curiosity and I am very happy that we did. The swimming pool is clean, inviting and provides great environment for relaxation and as for the temperature – it’s perfect once you start swimming (I think that’s what you suppose to do in a swimming pool). We will definitely return to Overton Grange.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Overton Grange. We take great care in ensuring that all our Guests have a memorable experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Overton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Hotel

Address: Old Hereford Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Overton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overton Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.