We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parish Church of St Laurence

Parish Church of St Laurence
2 College Street, Ludlow SY8 1AN, England
01584 872073
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
UK
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a beautiful church, with plenty of information for visitors. There is a nice shop and plenty to see, and there is a lot of history associated with this church - Prince Arthur, the brother of Henry VIII honeymooned nearby with his wife Catharine of Aragon shortly before he died, and his heart was interred here and a two day funeral held. The architecture is interesting and there is plenty to see. A visit highly recommended if you are in Ludlow

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    63
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Fantastic Norman church, open and welcoming and the orchestra were practising when we visited so we sat and listened to the uplifting music

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cathedral of the Marches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stunning windows and a beautiful interior. Worth a visit for the windows alone. The church opens at ten am and is situated right in the centre of the town. One of the loveliest churches I have seen.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A beautiful church with friendly, helpful and knowledgeable guides who gave local knowledge about restaurants and cafes nearby, as well as the market.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A gem, but a little out of the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We spotted the church at the back of some shops, but it is well worth a visit.
The church's history date back over 500 years and has developed into a fine example of Norman/early English architecture. There is a sence of ease within the church which you don’t get in every religious building sadly. I am no great lover of churches but in St. Laurence’s one has to admire the skill of the builders and wonder how it was done without our modern building methods.
If you are a fan of churches then this one is a must.
I read on the churches website that it is known as the ‘Cathedral of the Marches' and I could belive this as it really is a magnificent building and a visit is recomended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parish Church of St Laurence also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Parish Church of St Laurence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parish Church of St Laurence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.