We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aragons Restaurant

Aragons Restaurant
5 Church Street, Ludlow, England
01584 873282
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 69 Restaurants in Ludlow
Cuisines: British, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Cuisine BRITISH Local Produce. Handmade Pizzas. Pasta Dishes. Homemade Soups. Great Breakfasts & Bagels. Waitress service.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I came here on a weekend break with my mother. We visited Ludlow for the day and after looking round a few places, decided that Aragon's looked nice enough. We were given a nice table with comfortable seating and ordered quickly. I chose the brie and cranberry panini and enjoyed it immensely - the brie was perfectly creamy and oozing out of the sides, and there was the right amount of cranberry to balance out the brie. It came with tortilla chips, which i thought was a nice touch, and a simple salad - though there were far too many pieces of red onion in it and I ended up taking the huge chunks out. Having said that, everything else was pleasant and the toilet especially pleased me, with its appealing decor and retro hand dryer. Overall, a very worthwhile visit and I would definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    53
    15
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“lovely english cooked breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

lovely restaurant location in the center of Ludlows historic town. All food locally sourced, very tasty would recommend the cooked breakfast to anyone.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“surprised by the reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

if i had to sum up our experience in one word it would be 'meh'.
we visited back in June and i've only just got round to leaving a review, mainly in balance to the glowing remarks left up to this point.
we went in for lunch and sat with the wind howling in through the door until a table further back left, why a member of staff didn't close the inner door when half the room was clearly sat with jackets on is beyond me.
the staff were pleasant and efficient, clearly running around as fast as possible.
the food however was distinctly 'meh'. i ordered the steak pie, and looked forward to it, whilst my other half eagerly awaited the steak sandwich. we were both disappointed. my pie was homemade , but was clearly reheated (ish) by microwave, leaving the pastry soggy and the tepid filling mediocre. presentation was reminiscent of schooldinners with overcooked peas and bought in chips. my other halfs steak sandwich was averagely cooked and presented with old browning lettuce.
it was priced right for a daytime cafe, restaurant is a title it doesn't acheive in any sense. shame as it has serious potential, just needs attention to detail.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Excellent, fast and efficient service and the food was good and well prepared. We called in for lunch having not been in there for a long time and realised that we had been missing somewhere good to go for lunch when we are in town. Well worth a visit for lunch. It was not over priced which can be an issue in Ludlow

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Visited Ludlow today,and was looking for somewhere for sunday lunch. We were not disappointed at all the beef was just melt in your mouth, and plenty of it. We had to wait a little while for a table but was certainly well worth it, would most definitely return here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aragons Restaurant also viewed

Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Aragons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aragons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.