We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont let this attraction disappear!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acton Scott Historic Working Farm

Acton Scott Historic Working Farm
Wenlock Lodge, Acton Scott | Church Stretton, Ludlow SY6 6QH, England
44-1694-781306
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 25 things to do in Ludlow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular working farm and museum that features practical demonstrations of historic farming methods using traditional skills and period horse-drawn machines.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“Dont let this attraction disappear!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Spent an very pleasant afternoon here with the grandchildren and it was the fantastic staff that made the day for them. A lovely lady made a corn dolly with each of them taking time to explain things as they went along. The piglets were sweet and the shire horses huge but we were able to stroke them quite safetly. When we visited there was a smelters convention taking place which may sound boring but was really interesting seeing hoe the furnaces were made etc.This place is owned by Shropshire Museum Service and we were told that funding may be withdrawn which would be a shame. It does need some investment and some areas need improving..it would be a shame to let this place go as it has alot of things going for it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    15
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun on the Farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We loved "Victorian Farm" - we have the DVD, and the Christmas DVD, and the book . . . so we had to visit when we were in the area. What a beautiful place this is ! The aged trees and the calm are my strongest memories. The staff were very friendly and we found this much freer than the average working museum - you can go in and out of places and up and down stairs without feeling that people are watching you all the time, about to tell you off ! My son particularly loved the roadbuilder's and shepherd's huts. I rather fell for the Tamworth piglets ! We didn't use the cafe but it looked lovely, and very sensibly there are toilets as you go into the building (a handsome black-and-white schoolhouse), so you don't feel obliged to buy food because your child needs the loo ! Although the paths stretch for some distance they are well-maintained and we saw several wheelchair-using visitors negotiating the farm without difficulty. Reasonably priced and well worth a visit if you like animals or enjoy history.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good and different half day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Obviously a great place for kids - but us adults will find plenty of interest too. Everything from charcoal burning to very cute piglets with mum, working horses, bee hive viewer, old machinery, animals and poultry everywhere. Tea room in the old school house complete with scrounging hens if you eat outside! Friendly and helpful staff who look the part. Glad we went.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Definitely one for the children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Having been enthralled by the "Victorian Farm" programme, we decided to visit the farm. It was interesting to a degree but it is really meant as a day out for children. The was very little mention of the BBC programme at the farm I had expected to see more.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papendrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An entertaining & educational attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

It was good to come back here after 15 years. We could see that there have been some expanding work done.
Seeing all the animals was lovely. We could see a smith, do not call him blacksmith, changing the shoes of an horse.

I would have loved it if there are more demonstrations, but we joined rather early.

It's a great day out.

We did have our lunch in the old school house. It's not a bad place to have your lunch.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acton Scott Historic Working Farm also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Acton Scott Historic Working Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acton Scott Historic Working Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.