We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Lovely Old Town of Ludlow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dinham Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dinham Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Dinham Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   By The Castle | Dinham, Ludlow SY8 1EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Essex. England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Lovely Old Town of Ludlow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed in the cottage which is in the gardens of the hotel. The room was lovely, beautifully furnished and with lovely bedding .We had our own little private garden...pity the weather wasn't warm enough to sit outside and use it. The staff were very pleasant, and at breakfast there was a good choice of food and good service. The only thing lacking was there was no atmosphere, perhaps a little background music may have helped.

Room Tip: We stayed in garden room which was very private and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    83
    41
    33
    26
See reviews for
27
167
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed for three nights over Spring food festival. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Both breakfast and evening meal excellent. The staff were very polite and friendly. The location great. I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Garden rooms very pretty but annoying if raining
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

First time we have stayed here but have to say that it was a great experience. Ideal location. Room was excellent. Both breakfast and the evening meal were excellent. Service was excellent. What more can you say!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West mids
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A beautiful hotel full of character. The rooms are nice and cosy and the staff are helpful and polite. Food is of a good standard although the menu is slightly limited. Overall a pleasant stay in ludlow once again, will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent two nights over the Easter weekend. Lovely views out across the valley. Room was comfortable and clean. Hotel is situated in a great location right at the top of the hill opposite the castle (but a bit removed from the market so noise wasn't a problem). Breakfast was to a good standard. We chose not to eat dinner there as there is so much choice in Ludlow. Cheerful staff and a fair price. Would go back. One tip: we booked late and were only able to get a "king size" bed which was two twins put together and dressed as a king. Was a bit bothersome sleeping closely with my better half. I would be clear on the bed type before I booked again.

Room Tip: See above about beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Have stayed here on a number of occasions. Hotel has plenty of character. The staff were friendly and efficient. We always enjoy the breakfast. The evening meals although tasty and very well presented with a reasonable choice, but at a fixed price of £39.50 plus £3.50 for coffee per person was a little expensive. On top of that was a fixed 10% Service charge. If you add on the house wine which was good but not cheap at £19.50 a bottle then it becomes an expensive night.

I have to say that some may quite happily pay that price and regard it as good value. It's all down to personal observations and choice. The food was very good.

We would happily stay at Dinham again but probably dine out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the main building at the hotel with friends for two nights with dinner B&B. Having lived in Ludlow over 30 years ago we knew the town well and where the hotel was located. Our room overlooked the garden, it was clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful, service was very good. It is in a good location for visiting the town. The rooms were well decorated and the open fire in the lounge very welcome. The food was lovely, although we were a little disappointed that the dinner menu was exactly the same on the second night, however when the food arrived some of the courses seemed to have been changed slightly.
My only real complaints are the temperature of rooms and the showers. On returning from a cold wet day at Ludlow races what you want is a hot shower and a warm room. The shower was only a warm trickle and the radiators in our room were cold. At 6.45pm they were still cold, when I rang reception they were apologetic and said the heating did not come on until 6.30pm.,(which I found amazing considering how cold it was) but it should be on. I was offered an electric fan heater and told that the boiler could be temperamental. The radiators were not on again until the following morning and then only slightly warm, Our friends also found the rooms cool and problems with cold shower. The dining room on both nights was also a little chilly as we were sat in the conservatory part.
Despite being an old building it is unacceptable that the heating is either not reliable or unable to cope with heating the rooms to a reasonable temperature in cold weather. I would probably stay there again, but perhaps in the summer!

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room in the main building and our friends were on the 2nd floor, given the proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dinham Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinham Hall Hotel

Address: By The Castle | Dinham, Ludlow SY8 1EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dinham Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgeous Georgian Property, overlooking Ludlow Market Square and Medieval Castle, with secluded gardens and private car park. All rooms with Antiques, stylish and eclectic, charming reception room withlog fire, and excellent Brasseri Style Dining Room with proper dining with carefully selected wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dinham Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinham Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.