We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service & Gorgeous Room...Definitely Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Malthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Malthouse to your Saves list
The Malthouse
The Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & Gorgeous Room...Definitely Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Just got back from a stay at the Malthouse in the 'Penthouse' & it was gorgeous. Spiral staircase up to a stunning master bedroom. Views over the River were lovely. Also an amazing open plan Living Area / dining room & gorgeous fitted kitchen. Two Bathrooms & a twin room & all individually decorated. I believe it has not long been taken over & all the rooms are gradually being upgraded. Ours was stunning & well worth it.
The food was something to write home about...breakfast lovely & Sunday lunch was well worth it.
We have many weekends away & this matched the Radisson Quality, but more friendly as all the staff were all lovely & helpful. Yes they do have live music (Saturdays only I believe, but don't quote me on that) but they do stop playing by a certain time & it is a very popular place to go in Ironbridge going on how busy it was, but an excellent atmosphere.
We always use Trip Advisor & thought it was about time we wrote a review that is honest. I will continue now to write more in the future.....
Would definitely be staying again & good luck to the new owners...you’re on a winner already.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    43
    24
    22
    23
See reviews for
24
98
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PERTON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Waited 55 minutes for food with no explaination whatsoever.When politely asked about the delay food arrived within 30 seconds !! When it did arrive it was awful .When I told the manager/owner about this she was rude and impolite with her considered reply as if it was my fault.No wonder we British don't complain if we get treated like second class citizens. If food / service is poor we must not be silent as we are the customers with genuine rights.If anyone out there knows where I can take this further please contact me by e-mail: madmonk51@hotmail.com.Avoid this so called pub at all costs and spread this news please.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

Stumbled upon this town as we explored around England. Very nice place with an "olde tyme" feel. The pubs were very nice too, tasty local ales to try. We got a room in the Wharfage Cottage (Malt House), cant complain about the room in any way, again had old town house feel to it and was clean. The only thing to note though as another reviewer wrote, at the weekend this place gets very busy. We stayed over on a Saturday night and it definitely not a place for somebody wanting to get a quiet early night. There was a live band playing downstairs and the pub was very busy and up in the room the furniture was vibrating with the sound from below, you could hear the band word for word from the room. This didn't really bother us as we were a bit merry from the local brews and wouldn't be going to bed until later anyways but anybody with kids might want to try somewhere else

  • Liked — Bed was ultra comfy
  • Disliked — Get ready for the noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

My wife and I cannot fault the food provided here. The dinners and breakfasts are very good.
We stayed in the 'Red' room and had booked for 3 nights from the Thursday. The first night we had live music up until 11pm so has a night later than anticipated, but the Friday was terrible. Loud music and voices along with banging doors. The music went on until just after midnight but the noise went on for longer.
We decided to book out the following morning as further music was planned for the Saturday night, no way could we tolerate that.
I urge extreme caution with this B+B as no one will get a quiet evening until well after midnight.
I will NEVER return there again!

  • Liked — The food and price
  • Disliked — Terrible noise until late into the evening
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

Stayed for one night at The Malthouse based on its recommendation in the Good Pub Guide. And then almost cancelled based on the reviews here! But we stuck with it and were glad we did.

Maybe the management has taken notice of the comments below regarding breakfasts, because our experience was entirely different. A full cooked breakfast was served in our room at no extra cost, along with juices and granary toast. It was all well cooked and well presented and we didn't need to eat for the rest of the day. Full marks.

The room (we stayed in the White Room) was contemporary without losing its countryside charm. It was lovely and warm with a comfy bed and, again, the bad reviews seem to have been acted on because the TV worked perfectly and had a freeview box, so there was crystal clear reception and a good choice of channels. Bathroom was clean and modern with a good bath/ shower.

However, the big problem with the Malthouse remains the thin walls and the noise from the pub. Of course, you expect some noise being above a pub, but it genuinely seemed like the live band was in the room with us. While it didn't really affect our enjoyment of the hotel (after all we could always have been less boring and gone down to watch the band!), it's not a place to go if you're looking for a peaceful weekend away in the country (don't be fooled by the description of 'jazz night' either - it was a bog-standard pub covers band, and about as jazzy as my rear end).

And speaking of my rear end (please don't read on if squeamish about bodily functions), I was romantically awoken by my wife in the small hours with an elbow to the ribs, and the instruction to 'stop farting'. After my protests of innocence, it became clear that the sound effects were coming from the man in the next room, on the toilet. Like the band, he might as well have been in the room with us. I apologise if this seems like too much information, but the point is that, as previous reviewers have noted, the walls really are paper-thin.

However... a little noise wasn't enough to spoil a pleasant weekend in a comfortable pub, in lovely surroundings. It was great value at £65 for the room and we would probably go back. Ironbridge is well worth a visit if you've never been.

  • Liked — Great pub - decent ales on tap and the bar meals are a cut above
  • Disliked — Hearing the bloke next door passing his own bar meal in the small hours
  • Tips/Secrets — Find out if there's a live band on if you like peace and quiet
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
481 helpful votes 481 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2006

Chose to stay for 2 nights after seeing the hotel on the website.

We stayed in the room- I think the red room- it was just at the top of the stairs. It was 11pm on a Friday night and so we expected the pub to be noisy. However we didn't expect the room to feel so smoky (my eyes were very sore) or the walls to be so thin. Some of the electrical points in the room also didn't work and the TV reception was very dodgy.

On the plus side the bathroom was a good size as was the room.

Breakfast in the morning was disappointing on the first morning with only white sliced bread available. The cooked breakfast though was quite tasty. We had dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday and it was very average and quite pricey for what it was.

Frankly for £65 per night it wasn't up to standard and we were most disappointed. We won't return.

However we did have a nice meal at the White Hart just down the road.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2006

Only stayed for one night so will be brief

Stayed in the yellow room - which was a nice room but noisy. Thankfully Match of the Day was on til late so was watching that anyway. Oh yes .... trying to watch it.. aerial in one hand beer in the other - they don't get too much in the way of tv reception down there !!

Had a lovely meal in the restaurant albeit a bit pricey. Bar was lively and band good.

Would stay again at a push (knowing what to expect) but not a hotel for anyone wanting an early night or a quiet stay.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Malthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malthouse

Address: The Wharfage, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly business where we treat customers how we like to be treated, you may not always like our design but you will always remember us. No matter your age, everyone is young at heart really and loves to have fun and thats what we are all about. We have many different Rooms and Suites including a Penthouse. we have Live Bands every Friday and Saturday night and food served all day until 10pm everyday. We look forward to seeing you and making New friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Malthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malthouse Hotel Ironbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.